$32 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

2 stars
301 West MAIN St, CORTEZ, CO 81321
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
14 reviews
Good value

We got there a little late and had no problem getting our room. We had to leave early in the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 14, 2009
Very good for the price you pay

It was not fancy but very clean and that is the most important factor for us. It was a big surprise... See full review

  • J & C, the Happy Couple!
  • Jun 16, 2009
National 9 Inn Sand Canyon is conveniently located in downtown Cortez. It is locally owned and operated, and is one of the "Best Kept Secrets" for price and comfort with all the amenities you will need. We are within a few minutes walking distance to the shops, restaurants and city parks where you can enjoy many special events. We are the gateway to Mesa Verde National Park, The Four Corners National Monument and many other archeological sites. You also can enjoy our great fishing, hiking, mountain biking and golf. We encourage you to make us your home base for exploring all the magnificent attractions the Four Corners region has to offer. Experience the spirt of the Four Corners area as you sit back, relax and enjoy good food and drink right next door in our fine Italian restaurant. Nearby Airports* Cortez Municipal - 3 1/2 miles* Durango Airport - 50 miles

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed National 9 Inn Sand Canyon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

National 9 Inn Sand Canyon Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
STD RM 1 KING-Standard guest room with king bed. Accommodations includes cable TV. Free local Phone calls and AC. We also have nonsmoking rooms. We offer a guest laundry and everything else you may need in the office. City.Courtyard or Mountain View.
Standard
STD RM 1 QUEEN - Standard guest room w/queen bed cable TV w/remote control phone and air conditioning. On request coffee maker hairdryer iron/ ironing board microwave fridge and stove. City Courtyard or Mountain View.
Standard
Std Rm 2 Queen-Our accommodations include cable TV. AC. We offer a guest laundry. On request coffee maker. Hairdryer. Iron/board. Microwave. Refrigerator. Stove and full bathroom. City/Courtyard or Mountain View. Plus sofa bed.
Suite
Suite 2 Queen-With 2 queen beds. Includes cable TV w/remote control. Free local telephone calls and air conditioning. We also have nonsmoking rooms. We offer a guest laundry and everything else you may need in the office. City/Courtyard or Mountain View.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Mesa Verde National Park: 9.7 mi

Dining

Nero s
Nero s 5pm to 10pm Casual dress Italian/American Next door- west On-site
Dry Dock
Dry Dock 4pm to 10pm Casual dress American Mexican Across street/east
Golden Corral
Golden Corral 10am to 10pm Casual dress Buffet 1 1/2 mile east

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.4
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
2.8
Value:
3.2

21% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mom money
Business
utah
Nov 29, 2014

ok for a place to sleep

The staff was friendly and warm. The room was freezing, dirty, old and loud. Expected though because of the super low price. Great place if you just need to lay your head for a few hours

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fonty
Business
Perth
Aug 20, 2014

Stay in Cortez

We were apprehensive reading the reviews to book this hotel but as we are on a budget thought we would give it a go. We were impressed with the service, facilities. It is nothing fancy but it had a good fridge, microwave, king bed, air conditioning and a good sized room. The water was hot and everything was clean. It had a pool but it was cold. Enjoyed our stay here in Cortez National 9 Inn Sand Canyon. Close to Mesa Verde National Park which was our reason for stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Good stay for Mesa Verde National Park - about 10 miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
winewizardess
Business
cortez, colorado
Jul 26, 2014

winewizardess

manager on duty had bad attitude, call it downright rude. random man with his own key walked into our room with no prior warning, and for no reason. building/grounds major ugly, a simple sweeping, let alone paint job would have gone a long way. carpet inside room so filthy, you couldn't tell it's color. room's interior could use MAJOR refurb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NM Trails
Business
New Mexico
Jul 4, 2014

I do not recommend this motel

The motel is old and poorly maintained. I could not access the internet (could not obtain an IP address). The air conditioner did not sufficiently cool the room. The carpet was stained, the ceiling had been poorly patched, there was mold in the caulk around the tub. The bed was comfortable and the staff was helpful but difficult to understand his English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Urszula Polish Woman
Business
Plainfield, Illinois
Jun 15, 2014

Nasty motel

The motel was filthy. There was no good working TV , no remote control, no ice. Everything was old and dirty. Plastic containers for bread and bagels were dirty. I had to wash a knife before I ate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kingman cares
Business
kingman az.
Aug 3, 2013

traveling thru

old smelly poor room never stayed we walked out after going into the room. very run down poor quality not even a one star from us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

look in the room before you pay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
flag mom
Business
flagstaff, Az
Aug 19, 2012

cheap digs

Small, clean, older hotel- great price- parking was tight. Just ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

casino south of town was fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn Hills, MI
Jun 5, 2011

Not good for Family people

Not at all good for family. Room is bad. Chairs were not good to sit. Over all it was very bad. I immediately booked another motel (Super 8) which is far far best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mrconkerd
Business
california
May 17, 2011

Hotel in Poor shape

The hotel is pretty much an over charging dump. Granted, I have seen worse- but the going rate for this hotel should be $25 not $44. I ended up staying in a motel 8 just up the road for only $16 more. The room at the National 9 Inn was fairly clean looking, although it had water spots all over the walls and carpet along with numerous stains. The ceilings were peeling and the bathroom was in poor shape. The worse part about the over-priced room however, was the smell. Cat pee? I'll never know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superchunk
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Jun 21, 2010

Better than it looks from the outside

On a road trip, we wanted a cheap place to stay. Pulling into the lot, we cursed our thriftiness -- the place looks like a dump from the outside. We were happy to find that the room was (mostly) clean on the inside and spacious. Still, this is a classic example of a 1.5 star motel. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top