$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

2 stars
1231 S. Nevada Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
58 reviews
Classic

Very positive and enjoyed the stay. Will book again when in the Springs. See full review

  • Michael Patrick
  • Apr 12, 2014
Great Value

The Howard Johnson is very clean. It is also a great value! See full review

  • Baby Bubbles
  • Apr 29, 2014
Take the family on an exciting trip to this Howard Johnson Express Inn Colorado Springs conveniently located off Interstate 25 near sporting events and concerts at the World Arena, and the U.S. Olympic Training Center. See exotic animals at the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, or play a round at the Broadmoor Golf Club. Colorado Springs Air Force Academy and Fort Carson Military Base are just minutes away. Spend some time in the great outdoors at Seven Falls, Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, and Cave of the Winds. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, complimentary newspaper, and complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Relax at the heated outdoor pool, and enjoy the convenience of the 2-hour front desk and complimentary outdoor parking. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Smoke-free rooms are also available.

Hotel Map

38.8166 -104.8218
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • World Arena: 2.4 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 12.1 mi
  • Falcon Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Clune Arena: 14 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
indiana
Aug 23, 2009

Didn't meet star rating Orbitz gave.

Concerned when first pulling in to the property because of the location of the hotel. Although, the parking lot was well lighted. The property has not been maintained to standards Orbitz rated it for - that's an Orbitz problem in my view. Arrived about 10p and the desk clerk was friendly and very efficient. Room not dirty but had a "heavy use" feel and smell. I would not recommend because it was lacking in the 3 criteria I seek: safe, clean, and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Thornton, CO
Aug 3, 2008

The rooms are filthy!!

The hotel room was awful. I hadn't been in the room for 5 minutes and there was a knock at the door, as I started to walk to the door a staff member just came right in! There was holes in the curtains, dirt everywhere, and the first time I sat on the bed a bug crawled across my lap! The bathtub still had dirt it in, didn't seem like they had even made an attempt to clean it. I almost got shocked by the outlet that was behind the bed because it was broken and pushed into the wall. In the middle of the night the headboard fell on my head because it is only hanging on a small piece of wood on the wall. The matress was hard as a rock, but I guess you expect them to be uncomfortable in a hotel. Overall I would not stay there again, nor recommend it to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cheyenne Mtn. zoo, Seven Falls and Garden of the Gods were all close.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kskern
Jacksonville, Fl
Sep 18, 2012

Questionable

Somehow I managed to pick the worst neighborhood in all of Colorado Springs. This Hojos is situated between the interstate and a train track. Come to think of it, I never heard the train so that's a positive. The homless folks crawling out from under the bridge every time I was outside was a little disturbing. Since we were only there for one night it was OK, and was located near downtown, but I would not have chosen it if I had realized where it was. We made the reservation literally less than an hour before we stopped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pilot latino
Colorado Springs, CO
May 28, 2014

This Hotel Need to be Closed ... period!

This hotel is not only horrible for location but it is just super, crazy dirty. Bathrooms are so dirty, I just left the hotel as soon as I saw that. My room was non-smoking and it smelled like an old smoke pit. The health department would have a hard time keeping this establishment open ... put it that way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richardson
Sep 17, 2008

Very disappointed.

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. Rooms were filthy...had terrible odor...continental breakfast was a total joke.I took a facecloth and had to wipe down the table myself...the cloth was black with dirt. Horrible experience...would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas
Oct 8, 2009

Just sleep

The employees were friendly. Hard to access if you were not on the same side of divided highway. Comfortable room to just sleep but the bathroom conditions were bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 6, 2008

Very Very Dissatisfied

The Howard Johnson was not a very well keep up place in the maintenance end. When you take a show the water dosn't drain it is missing wall paper. When you watch tv in bed you could not have the light on because behind the bed they had the light, clock all plug into right behind the headbroad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The highway was close to the hotel. There was not eating place around the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
seattle washington
Aug 9, 2010

The Good and the Bad of this hotel.

The staff was fair,the hotel was just old and in need of updating.The parking was very small and hard to get in and out of partly because Of a very large truck/18 wheeler parked in the already small lot.The room smelled bad maybe a old smell and a/c did not work to well.The little free breakfast deal was not to good.But for the price I guess it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Staunton Va, 24401
Nov 2, 2010

The Unsatisified

Depends which one. My brother boarded the plane and it broke down. He was bussed up to Dulles and missed the connecting plane. He had to pay for the hotel room and missed a day with his daughter in Colorado. Then the had to pay for the room in Colorado that he didn't stay at. Very bad experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
indiana
Aug 23, 2009

Didn't meet star rating Orbitz gave.

Concerned when first pulling in to the property because of the location of the hotel. Although, the parking lot was well lighted. The property has not been maintained to standards Orbitz rated it for - that's an Orbitz problem in my view. Arrived about 10p and the desk clerk was friendly and very efficient. Room not dirty but had a "heavy use" feel and smell. I would not recommend because it was lacking in the 3 criteria I seek: safe, clean, and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top