$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 2, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

2 stars
1231 S. Nevada Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
47 reviews
Classic

Very positive and enjoyed the stay. Will book again when in the Springs. See full review

  • Michael Patrick
  • Apr 12, 2014
Great Value

The Howard Johnson is very clean. It is also a great value! See full review

  • Baby Bubbles
  • Apr 29, 2014
Take the family on an exciting trip to this Howard Johnson Express Inn Colorado Springs conveniently located off Interstate 25 near sporting events and concerts at the World Arena, and the U.S. Olympic Training Center. See exotic animals at the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, or play a round at the Broadmoor Golf Club. Colorado Springs Air Force Academy and Fort Carson Military Base are just minutes away. Spend some time in the great outdoors at Seven Falls, Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, and Cave of the Winds. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, complimentary newspaper, and complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Relax at the heated outdoor pool, and enjoy the convenience of the 2-hour front desk and complimentary outdoor parking. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Smoke-free rooms are also available.

Hotel Map

38.8166 -104.8218
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • World Arena: 2.4 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 12.1 mi
  • Falcon Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Clune Arena: 14 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
2.8
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kskern
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
Sep 18, 2012

Questionable

Somehow I managed to pick the worst neighborhood in all of Colorado Springs. This Hojos is situated between the interstate and a train track. Come to think of it, I never heard the train so that's a positive. The homless folks crawling out from under the bridge every time I was outside was a little disturbing. Since we were only there for one night it was OK, and was located near downtown, but I would not have chosen it if I had realized where it was. We made the reservation literally less than an hour before we stopped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob J.
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Sep 4, 2012

You get what you pay for

clean, hot water , quiet, easy to get in and out to interstate, bad breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotel cleaner
Business
Florida
Aug 9, 2012

Not happy

I was supposed to have a king size bed..I didn't . There was hair in tub drain. There was also a wet spot on the floor in between the beds,stepped in at and my sock got soaked. I usta clean hotel rooms for Hampton inn and I just felt that it could have been nice.the blankets also smelled like cig smoke. I didn't say anything due to the fact that I flew all day and got in late and I just ate and went to bed.woke up early and left..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Nanna
Business
Southwest Florida
Apr 23, 2012

I would refer them to others!!!!

This location was X-celent for my needs. IT IS an Older Hotel and could use some TLC here and there. ALL THE STAFF was more than happy to make me comfortable. I needed to find a well known computer business to take care of a problem I had with my laptop, they looked-up and called 2 different locations to make sure where they were and if they had a tech on duty that could solve my problem, then gave me perfect directions to the Mall. I will use this Hotel again when I go back to the Springs Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAVE L S
Business
FOUNTAIN VALLEY CA
Oct 2, 2011

MOTEL REVIEW

THE HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS INN WAS CLEAN, NOTHING FANCY. IT WAS A GOOD VALUE FOR ITS PURPOSE WHICH WAS TO SHOWER AND SLEEP. THE STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMODATING AND FRIENDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pookie Bear
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Sep 13, 2011

Great View and friendly staff

It was a great night rest! The location was great, just off of Hwy 25. The breakfast was good too. The view was awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is an older building, but they more than made up for it. It you like downtown walking you are just a couple of blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manitou Springs: Heart of Jerusalem Cafe' - yum! The shopping was great there! Do drive to The Garden of the Gods park too, in Co. Springs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kansas man
Business
wathena
Aug 2, 2011

husband & wife getaway

My wife and i went whitewater rafting for the second time and had a blast.We thought the room was very good for the money,and the location for what we planned worked well for us.Not a problem with anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Garden of the gods was fabulus,and free. This an amazing place to spend a half day trip with the family for sure.Don't miss this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Jun 8, 2011

Something from an Elmore Leonard novel

Awful place. Dirty, sticky counters, musty smell, non-working TV in first room, non-working TV remote in the second room, Guests in several rooms who kept going out to the common balcony at all hours of the night to have their cell phone calls outside their rooms. Just gave the feeling that some sort of drug deal or sting operation was going on somewhere in this motel. I spend 75-100 nights per year in hotels year-in, year-out, and this was one of my worst experiences ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
May 29, 2011

Decent Stay, Fantastic Service

The hotel itself isn't as eye pleasing as other hotels in the area. The hotel did offer free breakfast in the form donuts, cereal, coffee, etc. However, the customer service was great and all questions were answered with enthusiasm. The location itself is close enough to all of the local fare in " the springs". Most places are only 30-45 minutes away. I recommend hitting up this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SJ, CA
Feb 27, 2011

A dump

A total dump.Heat didn't work; toilet overflowed; although a non-smoking room, linens wreaked of stale smoke.Avoid unless desperate. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Can't even walk to downtown -- only fast food restaurants around. It sucked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top