$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

2 stars
View map of 1231 S. Nevada Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
2.9
Value:
3.3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Textravel
Business
Texas
Aug 17, 2013

Comfortable and Clean

Close to I-24 for Pikes Peak and Garden of the Gods. Reading other reviews Review sent in Sept 2012 did not match the location, such as close to train tracks and homeless people. The hotel did show that some were workers living in the hotel. All were quiet and did not make stay unpleasant. Plenty of hot and cold water for shower, towel supply good. Room very clean, staff very helpful for things like more towels. Rooms don't seem to be sized for more than two people or animals. If you are looking for nothing fancy and only staying for one or two days would recommend, otherwise would advise before recommending

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food is within walking distance, otherwise will have to go down two or three exits off freeway. Lots of dining off Bijou rd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phoenix Young Couple
Business
Phoenix
May 29, 2013

No Cleanliness and horrible location

No value for money at all, surroundings are bad. Room is ok, but very poor amenities. Very unclean, a definite no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pike's Peak, Garden of the Gods and Rockys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kskern
Business
Jacksonville, Fl
Sep 18, 2012

Questionable

Somehow I managed to pick the worst neighborhood in all of Colorado Springs. This Hojos is situated between the interstate and a train track. Come to think of it, I never heard the train so that's a positive. The homless folks crawling out from under the bridge every time I was outside was a little disturbing. Since we were only there for one night it was OK, and was located near downtown, but I would not have chosen it if I had realized where it was. We made the reservation literally less than an hour before we stopped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob J.
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Sep 4, 2012

You get what you pay for

clean, hot water , quiet, easy to get in and out to interstate, bad breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotel cleaner
Business
Florida
Aug 9, 2012

Not happy

I was supposed to have a king size bed..I didn't . There was hair in tub drain. There was also a wet spot on the floor in between the beds,stepped in at and my sock got soaked. I usta clean hotel rooms for Hampton inn and I just felt that it could have been nice.the blankets also smelled like cig smoke. I didn't say anything due to the fact that I flew all day and got in late and I just ate and went to bed.woke up early and left..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Nanna
Business
Southwest Florida
Apr 23, 2012

I would refer them to others!!!!

This location was X-celent for my needs. IT IS an Older Hotel and could use some TLC here and there. ALL THE STAFF was more than happy to make me comfortable. I needed to find a well known computer business to take care of a problem I had with my laptop, they looked-up and called 2 different locations to make sure where they were and if they had a tech on duty that could solve my problem, then gave me perfect directions to the Mall. I will use this Hotel again when I go back to the Springs Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAVE L S
Business
FOUNTAIN VALLEY CA
Oct 2, 2011

MOTEL REVIEW

THE HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS INN WAS CLEAN, NOTHING FANCY. IT WAS A GOOD VALUE FOR ITS PURPOSE WHICH WAS TO SHOWER AND SLEEP. THE STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMODATING AND FRIENDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAVE L S
Business
FOUNTAIN VALLEY CA
Oct 2, 2011

MOTEL REVIEW

THE HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS INN WAS CLEAN, NOTHING FANCY. IT WAS A GOOD VALUE FOR ITS PURPOSE WHICH WAS TO SHOWER AND SLEEP. THE STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMODATING AND FRIENDLY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pookie Bear
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Sep 13, 2011

Great View and friendly staff

It was a great night rest! The location was great, just off of Hwy 25. The breakfast was good too. The view was awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is an older building, but they more than made up for it. It you like downtown walking you are just a couple of blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manitou Springs: Heart of Jerusalem Cafe' - yum! The shopping was great there! Do drive to The Garden of the Gods park too, in Co. Springs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kansas man
Business
wathena
Aug 2, 2011

husband & wife getaway

My wife and i went whitewater rafting for the second time and had a blast.We thought the room was very good for the money,and the location for what we planned worked well for us.Not a problem with anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Garden of the gods was fabulus,and free. This an amazing place to spend a half day trip with the family for sure.Don't miss this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top