$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

2 stars
1231 S. Nevada Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
47 reviews
Classic

Very positive and enjoyed the stay. Will book again when in the Springs. See full review

  • Michael Patrick
  • Apr 12, 2014
Great Value

The Howard Johnson is very clean. It is also a great value! See full review

  • Baby Bubbles
  • Apr 29, 2014
Take the family on an exciting trip to this Howard Johnson Express Inn Colorado Springs conveniently located off Interstate 25 near sporting events and concerts at the World Arena, and the U.S. Olympic Training Center. See exotic animals at the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, or play a round at the Broadmoor Golf Club. Colorado Springs Air Force Academy and Fort Carson Military Base are just minutes away. Spend some time in the great outdoors at Seven Falls, Garden of the Gods, Pikes Peak, and Cave of the Winds. Start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, complimentary newspaper, and complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day. Relax at the heated outdoor pool, and enjoy the convenience of the 2-hour front desk and complimentary outdoor parking. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Smoke-free rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • World Arena: 2.4 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 12.1 mi
  • Falcon Stadium: 12.5 mi
  • Clune Arena: 14 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
2.8
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pookie Bear
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Sep 13, 2011

Great View and friendly staff

It was a great night rest! The location was great, just off of Hwy 25. The breakfast was good too. The view was awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is an older building, but they more than made up for it. It you like downtown walking you are just a couple of blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manitou Springs: Heart of Jerusalem Cafe' - yum! The shopping was great there! Do drive to The Garden of the Gods park too, in Co. Springs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
raingal
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 16, 2014

Oh My!

Broken heater/AC, filthy pool, shower that hardly works. Description said mini fridge and microwave in room.... Neither of those were there. If I had somewhere else to stay while in Colorado Springs, I would have left my first night there!!! NOT recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Spyderkat
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 2, 2014

Think Twice About Staying Here

My siblings and I were attending our family reunion in Colorado Springs. We just wanted clean, inexpensive rooms to sleep and bathe because we would be spending most of our time with our family. What we got were a few cockroaches, and bed bugs that bit my brother. We did not see the the bugs until our last day or we would have left. Need I say any more? Howard Johnson needs to check out this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Alone
Business
BV, CO
Aug 24, 2014

Perfect for a one night stay

The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ordinary but good. I would stay here again. Good place for business stay. The internet was slow hooking up but once on it worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
al kay
Business
olympia, wa
Aug 4, 2014

not good

The room was not comfortably clean. It was non smoking yet I can smell the smoke reeking through the walls from the next rooms. Room service never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aerobella
Business
Apopka,FL
Jul 31, 2014

Four day Adventure

The service at the hotel was good when I checked in and out .But they only had one towel for two people in the room .It was a average place for the cheap rate .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pilot latino
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
May 28, 2014

This Hotel Need to be Closed ... period!

This hotel is not only horrible for location but it is just super, crazy dirty. Bathrooms are so dirty, I just left the hotel as soon as I saw that. My room was non-smoking and it smelled like an old smoke pit. The health department would have a hard time keeping this establishment open ... put it that way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baby Bubbles
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Apr 29, 2014

Great Value

The Howard Johnson is very clean. It is also a great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Il Vicino great pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baby Bubbles
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Apr 26, 2014

I wish they had a desktop

My stay was great. Good location, breakfast, very clean. I only I wish they had a desktop with Internet for guest use. The Internet has become a necessity, nowadays! That is how I booked my room and that how most of my questions are answered! Ricardo Dominguez

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus that goes downtown is within walking distance. Downtown you may find anything you wish! RD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael Patrick
Business
Ordway,Co
Apr 12, 2014

Classic

Very positive and enjoyed the stay. Will book again when in the Springs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to store and restaurant..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrMeNotU
Business
Colorado
Apr 4, 2014

You get what you pay for

I've stayed here a few times and have had mixed results. I've stayed in their best suite, business room, and regular room. The regular room didn't even have soap or shampoo. Had I not had my own it'd could have been bad times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top