$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
107 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 107
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stupid Survey
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2012

Wedding trip

Will never stay at a HoJo again. The staff was rude. I had a prepaid hotel room, and they threatned to give my room away if I didn't make it from the wedding celebration before midnight, even though I told they I may be there after midnight. The bed was uncomfortable. The sheets thin as rice paper. Old television. Not worth what I paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland CA
Aug 25, 2010

Terrible Hotel

[...] booked me for a smoking room despite the fact I asked for non smoking. I have tried to contact [...] for assistance in getting my money back and this is what I got. Rude desk person finally gave me a non smoking room but with broken box springs and sagging mattress. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sorry I Stayed 2013
Business
New Jersey
Nov 24, 2013

Disappointing and not as advertised

The location was good and a few of the staff were friendly, but the room and its amenities weren't at all as advertised. I had terrible internet connection, which staff described as "spotty" from the start. Make that inconvenient and un-usable. I had to give up a remote writing job to a co-worker because I couldn't work with the IT issues involved in the poor internet connection. I was so busy with the purpose of my trip that I didn't have time to look for another hotel, so I went without internet... and TV. The TV remote wasn't working and it was too much trouble to keep getting up to change channels. I asked for someone to come take a look but they never did. The telephone in the room wasn't working, and while they promised it would be fixed, it never was. Two of the lights on the walls were also in need of repair. At one point, the box that contains the wall heating unit fell off, and I saw that the air filters had probably never been changed. They were filthy. But every day the housekeepers did a nice job of cleaning the room. I want to give credit where credit is due.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emmy B
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Aug 10, 2011

Decent stay for the price

The dead bolt on the door wouldn't lock, there were stain all over the walls, other than that the room feeling a bit grungy it was a decent stay considering the price. Probably wouldn't stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eric Zzz
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 25, 2014

Ok for the price

Non smoking Room smells like ashtray.. Close to highway i25..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
funnyman
Business
C/S Colorado
Sep 8, 2013

Alone Time

It was a very nice and affordable stay. Would recommend this hotel to others and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relaxes
Business
Illinois
Jan 27, 2014

Great location

This is a hidden gem. Located near all your needs and in a good area. Small and limited breakfast but for the price it was nice that they had one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Aug 2, 2011

Good Price; Excellent Location

Years ago, this hotel used to be part of the Red Roof Inn chain. It's slightly rundown, but still a good deal for the money. I previously lived in Colorado Springs and used to work near this area, so I knew what to expect. Contrary to some reviewers, I had no problems with the staff. Be advised that a microwave is available only for an additional fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several eateries, supermarket, plus an indoor shopping mall are all located nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Findlay, OH
Jun 16, 2011

Great location for the price

The hotel was clean although it was a little older. I just slept there so it suited me fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Focus on the Family Institute

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prairiegirl44
Business
Colorado
Aug 1, 2011

Average

This is an average motel stay compared to most. There is not any special, so if you are needing to stay for price, then stay here. However, make sure to ask for a for a room on the West side of the motel so you have a view of the mountains. It will make your stay more enjoyable:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top