$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
107 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 107
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaumont, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Shame on Howard Johnson!

I was in town with my wife for my nieces' wedding. [...] I saw the photos and was misled by them. Our room smelled. My wife found mascara on the pillows. The chairs were old and stained. The furniture was very dated. There were mold stains on the cieling of the bathroom. The towels were frayed along the edges. The mini fridge also had a foul odor. Overall, this was a terrible experience. we didn't have time to look for another room in town, otherwise we would have done so immediately. [...] As a child, i remember traveling with my family and my parents would seek out either a howard johnson hotel or a holiday inn. These names were a comfort after a long road trip. My, how times have changed. Shame on Howard Johnson Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Midwestern tourist
Business
Pardeeville,WI
Jun 24, 2010

Worst hotel experience of my life

Worst experience of my life. The front desk clerk was rude and dishonest. She stated I could speak with a manager, when I said "yes please" she said "he's sick." I then stated that I felt lied to and she said "I didn't say when you could speak to a manager." There were hidden deposit charges [...]. The room itself smelled and the plug-ins didn't work. There was an open cocoon on the bathroom wall, and a dead moth by the toilet. Speaking of the toilet, it didn't flush. The walls were paper thin and all we could hear were people fighting and bottles breaking. Underneath the air conditioning was a mouse hole. DO NOT STAY HERE if you have ANY OTHER OPTIONS....even if it is your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Very poor quality and very rude staff.

Staff was very rude, recliner was filthy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jspostles
Business
MKE
Oct 9, 2011

Needed a place to sleep for one night

Friendly staff, but kind of a dump. Room in bad shape. Furniture worn and cheap, bathroom needs attention, and towels are thinner and frayed and look worse than the rags I use for cleaning at home. Price was $29 - haven't seen anything this low in a decade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
teaminater
Business
boston, na
Jul 25, 2012

old but okay

good location. rooms are old and in need of update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
InlovewithColorado
Business
Santa Fe, Texas
Sep 19, 2012

Not so good

In a VERY loud and high traffic area. Room was on top corner next to the street. Room was not so clean. Was not pleased with stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 18, 2009

Good place for a fair price

The Hotel was good overall but the breakfast in the morning was bad. Instead of offerng some decent eggs you only get boiled eggs that seem to be 2-3 days old. Also the dining area is small and gets crowded during weekends and you have to wait long in line. Rooms were clean and overall OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Ut.
Jul 14, 2009

Not what it looks like!

We had booked this room for three nights. Bad Choice! We had a king size bed that had a cheese cloth cover which we guess was the sheet. Over that was a felt like material which was a blanket. Very short and would not come up to our necks. We spent most of the night trying to get some covers. The wireless internet never did work. Very weak signal. Only a few cable TV stations and no local TV. The breakfast was hard biscuts, sticky gravy, hard boiled eggs and dry cereal. They only had one toaster with two slots and you had to wait for many others to use it first. The eating area is very small and we had to stand to eat. We were on a three week vacation and this was the worst motel on the trip. Never again at a Howard Johnson motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a few fast food eating places but nothing that would make you get excited about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 10, 2011

Satisfactory at best

Conference and pleasure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never More
Business
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Never charged for using safe before!

When checking in I was asked for a credit card imprint for "incidentals". I asked what this might cover and was told it was all outlined in the contract--1 signature and about 5 initials required. Categories were: damage-OK, phone calls-OK, not returning the key-OK and then $1.50 unless we specifically told staff at checkout we didn't use the safe-never encountered that one before. Towels were thin and all had holes, sheets were so worn they were transparent and the single blanket was stiff and therefore removed from the bed. Complex layout requires exit to exterior room entrance from the central building for most rooms. There are some interior access rooms but in the minority. This design seems a questionable choice for Colorado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top