Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
View map of 8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vygilantee
Business
Utah, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Nice view

Nice and clean. I would go back. The view of Pikes Peak was something to behold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Great access to the Air Force Academy

We were in Colorado Springs for the parent's weekend at the Air Force Academy. It was a busy time and we didn't spend much time in our room. It has been a very long time since I have stayed in a hotel with only full-sized beds. After years of sleeping in a king at home, it took some getting used to. Thankfully, we were very tired as the days were jam-packed. Our room was clean and freshened each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Academy Drive is just a block away and is the main street. There are many, many eating places within just a very short drive.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
topeka, ks
Jun 29, 2010

Fine Family Fun

The rooms were just right for our families needs. My only complaint is that the hair dryer in one of our rooms did not work. The rooms were clean and we were happy to have a fridge. I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the traveling Dad
Business
Cheyenne, WY
Aug 3, 2010

Great View Great Price

The lobby could use some updating but the room itself was great. My family and I stayed in the Colorado Springs area and had a great view of the mountains from our room. The pool is small only 5 feet deep other than that we had no complaints. The inclusion of a safe and refrigerator in room was a nice touch. Great quality for a great price we will stay again the next time we are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to visit Cave of the Winds and Garden of the Gods when in the Colorado Springs area both of these attractions are a short driving distance from this hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bksmfs
Business
fair oaks, Ca
Sep 30, 2011

Great value

basic but what a price. Great for a cheap overnight stay in good location on the 25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bertha
Business
Maine
Aug 28, 2011

Very Good Value

This room was one of the most inexpensive available in Colorado Springs, but surprisingly, it was very clean with up-to-date amenities. Easy access to I-25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 5, 2009

Nice Place

Very nice stay, good breakfast, friendly conversation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dwgustaf
Business
Longmont, CO
Jul 25, 2009

Just used for a place to sleep

I just used the motel as more of a place to sleep at night as I was mostly out and about sight-seeing during the day. Overall the experience was good and the clerks were friendly. The only down part of the whole trip was that someone set off the fire alarm at about 4:40 in the morning, but I don't believe it was the fault of hotel staff. I believe one of the guests accidentally set off the alarm. Other than that I would still consider going back to this motel again if I'm in the area again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wal-Mart, restaurants and a gas station are about 1/4-1/5 mile away. Mall is about 2-3 blocks away, but still fairly close.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeJN
Business
Castle Rock, CO, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Great for price

It was a good, comfortable room for the price. No frills, but that's what I'm looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Nov 23, 2008

Nice place to stay

I have stay at the HJ hotel at lesat 20x the peole are friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

be sure to use the YMCA Pass

Back to menu Return to top