$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
View map of 8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
555sjh
Business
Grand Junction, CO
Jan 16, 2013

Fun time for two

The room was clean and in fairly good condition. The tub was not. It was pitted and patched with pieces breaking off in the water. The light over the sink was very dim, which made shaving and applying makeup quite a challenge. However, the rest of the room was more than adequate. It was a good room for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some excellent restaurants very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D cowboys
Business
Shelbyville, Illinois
Jul 2, 2013

Good price

This motel is a little dated. The rooms seem clean. One problem that we found was that the breakfast area was too small to accommodate all of the patrons. The breakfast was satisfactory with pastries, waffles, fruit, and cereal. There are several eating places near the motel for the other daily meals. The motel is located central to several tourist areas like The Garden of the Gods and the Air force Academy. The mountains provide breathtaking scenery everyday. We would stay in this motel again for the price that we paid..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many tourist attractions and eating establishments are nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
funnyman
Business
C/S Colorado
Sep 8, 2013

Alone Time

It was a very nice and affordable stay. Would recommend this hotel to others and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relaxes
Business
Illinois
Jan 27, 2014

Great location

This is a hidden gem. Located near all your needs and in a good area. Small and limited breakfast but for the price it was nice that they had one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
day laborer
Business
67005
Aug 8, 2010

Good location

Not a large hotel with nice accom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Loveland, Colorado
Aug 23, 2011

Older, but okay for a deal

We went to this hotel as a family for a weekend trip. It is older, so don't go expecting too much and you won't be disappointed. Most things were superficial, bathroom was old and door didn't close all the way, old furniture and mattress etc. Our room was clean though and had basic ammenities. FYI pool is very small, pictures are misleading, so don't plan on that being a major attraction to your kids. Our stay here was okay, but I don't think we would stay again... but then again, it was the cheapest for what we were looking for. I guess you get what you pay for with this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is in North Colorado Springs which puts you closer to all the Pikes Peak, North Pole, Manitou Cliff Dwelling attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Aug 2, 2011

Good Price; Excellent Location

Years ago, this hotel used to be part of the Red Roof Inn chain. It's slightly rundown, but still a good deal for the money. I previously lived in Colorado Springs and used to work near this area, so I knew what to expect. Contrary to some reviewers, I had no problems with the staff. Be advised that a microwave is available only for an additional fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several eateries, supermarket, plus an indoor shopping mall are all located nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelbirds
Business
Texas
Mar 19, 2010

nice hotel

nice and quiet.. in great location for what we wanted to do. Rooms were nice and clean with fridge but no microwave. We had safe in rooms but no code to make use of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Findlay, OH
Jun 16, 2011

Great location for the price

The hotel was clean although it was a little older. I just slept there so it suited me fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Focus on the Family Institute

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, Kansas
Aug 20, 2009

Weekend Getaway

The room was ok - not special, but ok. The worst thing was the pillows, they were very hard and lumpy so we went to the store and bought some. The rooms were clean, but needed updating and repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top