$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
165 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
Not bad for the price

With the discount we paid, it was a great deal. We had a king size bed and stayed one night. See full review

  • cnstech1
  • Sep 28, 2013
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9525 -104.8012
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jul 10, 2011

Satisfactory at best

Conference and pleasure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never More
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Never charged for using safe before!

When checking in I was asked for a credit card imprint for "incidentals". I asked what this might cover and was told it was all outlined in the contract--1 signature and about 5 initials required. Categories were: damage-OK, phone calls-OK, not returning the key-OK and then $1.50 unless we specifically told staff at checkout we didn't use the safe-never encountered that one before. Towels were thin and all had holes, sheets were so worn they were transparent and the single blanket was stiff and therefore removed from the bed. Complex layout requires exit to exterior room entrance from the central building for most rooms. There are some interior access rooms but in the minority. This design seems a questionable choice for Colorado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flee
Long Island, New York, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Annual Parent's weekend to Air Force Academy

The hotel is a great location for visiting the Air Force Academy and other Colorado Spring Attractions, but th owners need to invest some more money into new linens and updating the property. I would love to stay here again next year if they get rid of the smoking rooms and get new mattresses and bed linens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
InlovewithColorado
Santa Fe, Texas
Sep 19, 2012

Not so good

In a VERY loud and high traffic area. Room was on top corner next to the street. Room was not so clean. Was not pleased with stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Ut.
Jul 14, 2009

Not what it looks like!

We had booked this room for three nights. Bad Choice! We had a king size bed that had a cheese cloth cover which we guess was the sheet. Over that was a felt like material which was a blanket. Very short and would not come up to our necks. We spent most of the night trying to get some covers. The wireless internet never did work. Very weak signal. Only a few cable TV stations and no local TV. The breakfast was hard biscuts, sticky gravy, hard boiled eggs and dry cereal. They only had one toaster with two slots and you had to wait for many others to use it first. The eating area is very small and we had to stand to eat. We were on a three week vacation and this was the worst motel on the trip. Never again at a Howard Johnson motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a few fast food eating places but nothing that would make you get excited about.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super joe
oregon
Aug 10, 2010

Poor customer service

The counter person when we first arrived was very unfriendly and short with us. The rooms were dirty, the chairs were disgusting, the sink leaked. The next day the counter person, who was a different person was also very unfriendly. We would choose to never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wal-mart is close.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flee
Long Island, New York, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Annual Parent's weekend to Air Force Academy

The hotel is a great location for visiting the Air Force Academy and other Colorado Spring Attractions, but th owners need to invest some more money into new linens and updating the property. I would love to stay here again next year if they get rid of the smoking rooms and get new mattresses and bed linens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Sep 22, 2009

Just a place to

I guess we didn't expect much when we chose this place to stay. After all, it was a HoJos and they keep on top of things. We weren't worried. Doesn't each location have to pass inspection? We didn't expect the Ritz, but we also didn't expect it to be so run down. The furniture was outdated and the room did not have a clean feeling. Had to question whether it was a smoking room or not as we chose a non-smoking. It needed an airing out. Had to cover the chair with a towel as it was full of hairs. We were in town from NJ for a funeral, so the location was excellent but that's about all that was. I realize the breakfast was a Continental one, but the coffee was terrible and as I don't eat bakery items, the fruit could have been of better quality. In fact there were rotten spots on the oranges. Had to ask for tissues in the room as there were none.............enough said. It's true.....You do get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a very convenient location

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emmy B
Fort Collins, CO
Aug 10, 2011

Decent stay for the price

The dead bolt on the door wouldn't lock, there were stain all over the walls, other than that the room feeling a bit grungy it was a decent stay considering the price. Probably wouldn't stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
teaminater
boston, na
Jul 25, 2012

old but okay

good location. rooms are old and in need of update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top