$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
105 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
Not bad for the price

With the discount we paid, it was a great deal. We had a king size bed and stayed one night. See full review

  • cnstech1
  • Sep 28, 2013
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Hotel Map

38.9525 -104.8012
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
eagle river alaska
Jul 26, 2010

the pool is the size of a bath tub

the rooms were very dirty and the mold was in the bathroom, the air condition leaked and there were no other rooms to move us to and they did not offer to come and fix it and during are stay they never fixed it and we did not get a roll away like we ordered and no extra towels the food at breakfast was frozen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mckinney, TX
Jul 27, 2008

Not worth it

I was checked into a room that had been used. There were dirty towles, no toilet paper, dirty tub, dirty sheets, used coffee maker, full trash. No one had cleaned this room. I notified the front desk. I was told no one would be in toclean for another hour and ahalf. I ad just gotton in after 15 hours of drving. I was all moved in and very tired. i was offered another room. I was to tired to pack up and move. I told the desk to get me the clean towels and sheets and I would do it myself. I also cleaned my own tub and toilet. This is the most discusting place I have ever stayed. I will never go back. The breakfast was awful lookin but I never had any becasue there were so many people shuved into the little room that I could not even get in to get any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sophie's Best Friend
Huntsville, AL
May 20, 2012

HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT & SAFETY ISSUES

Immediately after our check-in, we proceeded to go to our rooms. Upon exiting the elevator on our floor, the elevator door suddenly and forcefully shot out striking my wife on the side of her head and eye causing a concussion. When we attempted to report the accident to management, we were informed that the manager was off for the next 3 days and they would have her "call us." She NEVER called! We reported the incident to Howard Johnson's corporate offices with the result of "We're sorry about the incident but our hotels are franchised out and you will have to take up the problem with them." On Monday when the manager did come back in, we asked if she had received the report of the accident and her response was "I was sick myself and didn't feel like fooling with anybody else's problem!" We asked about the medical bill and she became irate. We asked to speak with the owner of the hotel and was told that he would contact us....NEVER HAPPENED! In the midst of attempting to discuss the elevator malfunction (which she stated they fixed the night immediately following the accident), she (the manager) became irate and told us we were to "LEAVE THE HOTEL IMMEDIATELY!" There was never once even an apology or any concern shown at all for my wife's health issue. No one ever even asked if she was ok. We DID leave the hotel at once since it was such an unpleasant experience that physically ruined my wife's once yearly visit with our only child! We will NEVER EVEN CONSIDER staying at a Howard Johnson Hotel again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emmy B
Fort Collins, CO
Aug 10, 2011

Decent stay for the price

The dead bolt on the door wouldn't lock, there were stain all over the walls, other than that the room feeling a bit grungy it was a decent stay considering the price. Probably wouldn't stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Jul 18, 2009

Good place for a fair price

The Hotel was good overall but the breakfast in the morning was bad. Instead of offerng some decent eggs you only get boiled eggs that seem to be 2-3 days old. Also the dining area is small and gets crowded during weekends and you have to wait long in line. Rooms were clean and overall OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joanne, Group Organizer
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 18, 2010

Served the Purpose

We used this hotel while attending a 50th Birthday Party. Being on a budget, we sought a reasonably priced hotel near the north end of town, and this one fit the bill and served the purpose. The bathroom was very clean and looked renovated. However, the rest of the room could certainly use some updating. It was mediocre at best. The bed was ok, but the pillows too hard. I was glad to see there was a coffee pot in the room, as well as a refrigerator. The maid also did a fine job of cleaning the room. The complimentary breakfast was nothing to speak of and we passed on it all together. When we called the front dest for some information, we were informed that we were welcome to come and use their computer to find what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Garden of the Gods. It's a beautiful place to enjoy for walking, hiking, or just driving thru.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Sep 22, 2009

Just a place to

I guess we didn't expect much when we chose this place to stay. After all, it was a HoJos and they keep on top of things. We weren't worried. Doesn't each location have to pass inspection? We didn't expect the Ritz, but we also didn't expect it to be so run down. The furniture was outdated and the room did not have a clean feeling. Had to question whether it was a smoking room or not as we chose a non-smoking. It needed an airing out. Had to cover the chair with a towel as it was full of hairs. We were in town from NJ for a funeral, so the location was excellent but that's about all that was. I realize the breakfast was a Continental one, but the coffee was terrible and as I don't eat bakery items, the fruit could have been of better quality. In fact there were rotten spots on the oranges. Had to ask for tissues in the room as there were none.............enough said. It's true.....You do get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a very convenient location

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Navrep
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 24, 2013

Business Trip

I arrived at this hotel late on a cold Colorado night. All of the rooms have only outside entrances so after taking an elevator to the 5th floor, I had to exit the building and walk down a long outside walkway to my room. Not fun on such a cold night! The sheets were worn and nubby and the recliner chair was broken. There were stains on the carpet. The soap was of such poor quality that as soon as I got it wet, it crumbled. Granted, this was a cheap room rate, but for Howard Johnsons, I expected more. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

"The Egg and I" had the best waffle and egg breakfast at a a very good price and excellent service. I had never eaten there but would definitely search out this restaurant when I return to Colorado Springs.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sunflowr
Wichita, Kansas
Jul 27, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Besides being noisy and some areas were dirty, it was a nice place. There was a great view of Pikes Peak from the front of the hotel, but on our side we could not see the mountains. However, during the night, the fire alarm went off around 4:00 a.m., getting us up in a panic. It was a false alarm, but a very scary experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cloud910
kansas
Aug 13, 2014

good view

the carpet was old and wrinkled.the shower was nasty. breakfast was good, staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search