$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
165 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
Not bad for the price

With the discount we paid, it was a great deal. We had a king size bed and stayed one night. See full review

  • cnstech1
  • Sep 28, 2013
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9525 -104.8012
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Very poor quality and very rude staff.

Staff was very rude, recliner was filthy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
devilish
Dothan, AL, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family

This is the worst hotel in the United States. The rooms are nasty and smelly. We gave up our last night there because it was so uncomfortable. Everything in the room needs to be updated. They still have the boxed TV's and the bathroom is so small, you can't enjoy the nasty shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland CA
Aug 25, 2010

Terrible Hotel

[...] booked me for a smoking room despite the fact I asked for non smoking. I have tried to contact [...] for assistance in getting my money back and this is what I got. Rude desk person finally gave me a non smoking room but with broken box springs and sagging mattress. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
eagle river alaska
Jul 26, 2010

the pool is the size of a bath tub

the rooms were very dirty and the mold was in the bathroom, the air condition leaked and there were no other rooms to move us to and they did not offer to come and fix it and during are stay they never fixed it and we did not get a roll away like we ordered and no extra towels the food at breakfast was frozen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
per mom
Business
Colorado Springs co
Apr 21, 2014

Could be better

Not a average hotel. Rooms are normal size. Mini fridge NO microwave. Rooms aren't that clean. I dropped something behind the bed. Saw quite alot of trash. The shower had someone else's bar of soap still in it. The free breakfast isn't worth it. The apple and orange juice is just straight syrup. They dont/ mix it right. Not much of a choice. Wouldn't stay here again. Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stupid Survey
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2012

Wedding trip

Will never stay at a HoJo again. The staff was rude. I had a prepaid hotel room, and they threatned to give my room away if I didn't make it from the wedding celebration before midnight, even though I told they I may be there after midnight. The bed was uncomfortable. The sheets thin as rice paper. Old television. Not worth what I paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stut
Petaluma, Ca.
May 31, 2012

Ridiculous Experience

After 45 minutes of GPS and MapQuest guided searching we could not find the motel. I called the front desk, explained where I was and was told that because the street names were recently changed I was not going to find the location using GPS or MapQuest. So I asked for directions from my location and the front desk person said she didn't know. we finally found the motel and I asked to speak to a manager about the address situation. I was told there was no manager until Monday (it was Sat.). I asked to speak to the person in charge and was told no one was in charge. I responded that I had never heard of such a thing and the front desk person said that she was alone and she guessed that meant she was in charge. I travel frequently and have never had such a ridiculous experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Very poor quality and very rude staff.

Staff was very rude, recliner was filthy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
eagle river alaska
Jul 26, 2010

the pool is the size of a bath tub

the rooms were very dirty and the mold was in the bathroom, the air condition leaked and there were no other rooms to move us to and they did not offer to come and fix it and during are stay they never fixed it and we did not get a roll away like we ordered and no extra towels the food at breakfast was frozen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mckinney, TX
Jul 27, 2008

Not worth it

I was checked into a room that had been used. There were dirty towles, no toilet paper, dirty tub, dirty sheets, used coffee maker, full trash. No one had cleaned this room. I notified the front desk. I was told no one would be in toclean for another hour and ahalf. I ad just gotton in after 15 hours of drving. I was all moved in and very tired. i was offered another room. I was to tired to pack up and move. I told the desk to get me the clean towels and sheets and I would do it myself. I also cleaned my own tub and toilet. This is the most discusting place I have ever stayed. I will never go back. The breakfast was awful lookin but I never had any becasue there were so many people shuved into the little room that I could not even get in to get any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top