$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
107 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renewable Gordy
Hankins, NY
Oct 9, 2012

Very pleasant experience

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice. The location was beautiful. And the breakfast was great - not lavish, but delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ca16774
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Worst hotel in town

Sheets were from the 80's, towels had holes in them, non smoking room that was smoking room many times before, room heater ran for 10hrs without raising the temp above 65 deg, bed was hard, pillows were flat and very old, wi-fi didn't work in my room, had to go to hallway for it to work, Do not go here, the hotel is very dated for the area it is in, not worth the money. Again do not stay here!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sophie's Best Friend
Business
Huntsville, AL
May 20, 2012

HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT & SAFETY ISSUES

Immediately after our check-in, we proceeded to go to our rooms. Upon exiting the elevator on our floor, the elevator door suddenly and forcefully shot out striking my wife on the side of her head and eye causing a concussion. When we attempted to report the accident to management, we were informed that the manager was off for the next 3 days and they would have her "call us." She NEVER called! We reported the incident to Howard Johnson's corporate offices with the result of "We're sorry about the incident but our hotels are franchised out and you will have to take up the problem with them." On Monday when the manager did come back in, we asked if she had received the report of the accident and her response was "I was sick myself and didn't feel like fooling with anybody else's problem!" We asked about the medical bill and she became irate. We asked to speak with the owner of the hotel and was told that he would contact us....NEVER HAPPENED! In the midst of attempting to discuss the elevator malfunction (which she stated they fixed the night immediately following the accident), she (the manager) became irate and told us we were to "LEAVE THE HOTEL IMMEDIATELY!" There was never once even an apology or any concern shown at all for my wife's health issue. No one ever even asked if she was ok. We DID leave the hotel at once since it was such an unpleasant experience that physically ruined my wife's once yearly visit with our only child! We will NEVER EVEN CONSIDER staying at a Howard Johnson Hotel again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stut
Business
Petaluma, Ca.
May 31, 2012

Ridiculous Experience

After 45 minutes of GPS and MapQuest guided searching we could not find the motel. I called the front desk, explained where I was and was told that because the street names were recently changed I was not going to find the location using GPS or MapQuest. So I asked for directions from my location and the front desk person said she didn't know. we finally found the motel and I asked to speak to a manager about the address situation. I was told there was no manager until Monday (it was Sat.). I asked to speak to the person in charge and was told no one was in charge. I responded that I had never heard of such a thing and the front desk person said that she was alone and she guessed that meant she was in charge. I travel frequently and have never had such a ridiculous experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stupid Survey
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2012

Wedding trip

Will never stay at a HoJo again. The staff was rude. I had a prepaid hotel room, and they threatned to give my room away if I didn't make it from the wedding celebration before midnight, even though I told they I may be there after midnight. The bed was uncomfortable. The sheets thin as rice paper. Old television. Not worth what I paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
per mom
Business
Colorado Springs co
Apr 21, 2014

Could be better

Not a average hotel. Rooms are normal size. Mini fridge NO microwave. Rooms aren't that clean. I dropped something behind the bed. Saw quite alot of trash. The shower had someone else's bar of soap still in it. The free breakfast isn't worth it. The apple and orange juice is just straight syrup. They dont/ mix it right. Not much of a choice. Wouldn't stay here again. Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaumont, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Shame on Howard Johnson!

I was in town with my wife for my nieces' wedding. [...] I saw the photos and was misled by them. Our room smelled. My wife found mascara on the pillows. The chairs were old and stained. The furniture was very dated. There were mold stains on the cieling of the bathroom. The towels were frayed along the edges. The mini fridge also had a foul odor. Overall, this was a terrible experience. we didn't have time to look for another room in town, otherwise we would have done so immediately. [...] As a child, i remember traveling with my family and my parents would seek out either a howard johnson hotel or a holiday inn. These names were a comfort after a long road trip. My, how times have changed. Shame on Howard Johnson Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Midwestern tourist
Business
Pardeeville,WI
Jun 24, 2010

Worst hotel experience of my life

Worst experience of my life. The front desk clerk was rude and dishonest. She stated I could speak with a manager, when I said "yes please" she said "he's sick." I then stated that I felt lied to and she said "I didn't say when you could speak to a manager." There were hidden deposit charges [...]. The room itself smelled and the plug-ins didn't work. There was an open cocoon on the bathroom wall, and a dead moth by the toilet. Speaking of the toilet, it didn't flush. The walls were paper thin and all we could hear were people fighting and bottles breaking. Underneath the air conditioning was a mouse hole. DO NOT STAY HERE if you have ANY OTHER OPTIONS....even if it is your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
devilish
Business
Dothan, AL, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family

This is the worst hotel in the United States. The rooms are nasty and smelly. We gave up our last night there because it was so uncomfortable. Everything in the room needs to be updated. They still have the boxed TV's and the bathroom is so small, you can't enjoy the nasty shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mckinney, TX
Jul 27, 2008

Not worth it

I was checked into a room that had been used. There were dirty towles, no toilet paper, dirty tub, dirty sheets, used coffee maker, full trash. No one had cleaned this room. I notified the front desk. I was told no one would be in toclean for another hour and ahalf. I ad just gotton in after 15 hours of drving. I was all moved in and very tired. i was offered another room. I was to tired to pack up and move. I told the desk to get me the clean towels and sheets and I would do it myself. I also cleaned my own tub and toilet. This is the most discusting place I have ever stayed. I will never go back. The breakfast was awful lookin but I never had any becasue there were so many people shuved into the little room that I could not even get in to get any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Very poor quality and very rude staff.

Staff was very rude, recliner was filthy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top