$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
View map of 8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jspostles
Business
MKE
Oct 9, 2011

Needed a place to sleep for one night

Friendly staff, but kind of a dump. Room in bad shape. Furniture worn and cheap, bathroom needs attention, and towels are thinner and frayed and look worse than the rags I use for cleaning at home. Price was $29 - haven't seen anything this low in a decade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
teaminater
Business
boston, na
Jul 25, 2012

old but okay

good location. rooms are old and in need of update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
InlovewithColorado
Business
Santa Fe, Texas
Sep 19, 2012

Not so good

In a VERY loud and high traffic area. Room was on top corner next to the street. Room was not so clean. Was not pleased with stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Navrep
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 24, 2013

Business Trip

I arrived at this hotel late on a cold Colorado night. All of the rooms have only outside entrances so after taking an elevator to the 5th floor, I had to exit the building and walk down a long outside walkway to my room. Not fun on such a cold night! The sheets were worn and nubby and the recliner chair was broken. There were stains on the carpet. The soap was of such poor quality that as soon as I got it wet, it crumbled. Granted, this was a cheap room rate, but for Howard Johnsons, I expected more. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

"The Egg and I" had the best waffle and egg breakfast at a a very good price and excellent service. I had never eaten there but would definitely search out this restaurant when I return to Colorado Springs.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Authentic Chell
Business
Billings Montana
Oct 28, 2013

not impresses

When I got there they were out of ice I had no refrigerator in my room that it said i was suppose to have. the staff was very rude. They were nice at first until I had a problem. when i explained i requested a non smoking room they said that is the room that was booked and its suppose to be non smoking even though it smelled like smoking. Then after pulling teeth I got them to put a refrigerator in my room. the bath siding was falling off in the bath and the heater kept shutting off. I realize it was suppose to be a cheap hotel stay but my back still hurts two days later from how hard the bed and pillows where. The last night i slept on the floor and that was better than the bed. Be aware you hear everything from the rooms surrounding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sorry I Stayed 2013
Business
New Jersey
Nov 24, 2013

Disappointing and not as advertised

The location was good and a few of the staff were friendly, but the room and its amenities weren't at all as advertised. I had terrible internet connection, which staff described as "spotty" from the start. Make that inconvenient and un-usable. I had to give up a remote writing job to a co-worker because I couldn't work with the IT issues involved in the poor internet connection. I was so busy with the purpose of my trip that I didn't have time to look for another hotel, so I went without internet... and TV. The TV remote wasn't working and it was too much trouble to keep getting up to change channels. I asked for someone to come take a look but they never did. The telephone in the room wasn't working, and while they promised it would be fixed, it never was. Two of the lights on the walls were also in need of repair. At one point, the box that contains the wall heating unit fell off, and I saw that the air filters had probably never been changed. They were filthy. But every day the housekeepers did a nice job of cleaning the room. I want to give credit where credit is due.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super joe
Business
oregon
Aug 10, 2010

Poor customer service

The counter person when we first arrived was very unfriendly and short with us. The rooms were dirty, the chairs were disgusting, the sink leaked. The next day the counter person, who was a different person was also very unfriendly. We would choose to never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wal-mart is close.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joanne, Group Organizer
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 18, 2010

Served the Purpose

We used this hotel while attending a 50th Birthday Party. Being on a budget, we sought a reasonably priced hotel near the north end of town, and this one fit the bill and served the purpose. The bathroom was very clean and looked renovated. However, the rest of the room could certainly use some updating. It was mediocre at best. The bed was ok, but the pillows too hard. I was glad to see there was a coffee pot in the room, as well as a refrigerator. The maid also did a fine job of cleaning the room. The complimentary breakfast was nothing to speak of and we passed on it all together. When we called the front dest for some information, we were informed that we were welcome to come and use their computer to find what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Garden of the Gods. It's a beautiful place to enjoy for walking, hiking, or just driving thru.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alamosa, CO
Jul 13, 2009

Okay

I've stayed here quite a bit given the location it's in. The place is starting to go down-hill and is in need of renovations. I also usualy get a better deal and don't think it was worth the inflated price I payed due to summer season. We made three reservations for various people. Two reservations were there, but my husband's wasn't. The front-desk person was not very friendly or accomdating about it. My husband was tired from driving and meetings all day. We had the to find the email confirmation to show the front-desk. Not sure if it was the hotels or orbitz fault for the lost reservation. It finally got worked out. As for the hotel, the bed is hard and the pillows are flimsy. I also didn't care for the continental breakfast. I like the size of the room and the location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 22, 2009

Just a place to

I guess we didn't expect much when we chose this place to stay. After all, it was a HoJos and they keep on top of things. We weren't worried. Doesn't each location have to pass inspection? We didn't expect the Ritz, but we also didn't expect it to be so run down. The furniture was outdated and the room did not have a clean feeling. Had to question whether it was a smoking room or not as we chose a non-smoking. It needed an airing out. Had to cover the chair with a towel as it was full of hairs. We were in town from NJ for a funeral, so the location was excellent but that's about all that was. I realize the breakfast was a Continental one, but the coffee was terrible and as I don't eat bakery items, the fruit could have been of better quality. In fact there were rotten spots on the oranges. Had to ask for tissues in the room as there were none.............enough said. It's true.....You do get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a very convenient location

Back to menu Return to top