$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
107 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Dolly
Business
Colorado Springs
May 9, 2014

Great Value

Friendly staff. Spacious rooms. Close to eveverything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carterville, Texas
Sep 28, 2010

Pleasantly Pleased

This was a great "timesaver" location. We are breakfast people and a Denny's is next door with great food which is not always the case. We needed a medication and a Walmart with a pharmacy is just past Denny's. It was easy on and off the freeway. We were an hour from Denver and thirty minutes from the natural locations we desired. It is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarkston MI
Jul 6, 2009

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Hotel was clean, in convenient location just off I-25 at north end of town--good area. It was a good value for price except the outdoor pool was tiny--not much larger than a big hot tub. Front desk clerk indicated guests were entitled to passes at a YMCA pool about 3 miles away, but we were not interested in that arrangement. A pool was a requirement in selecting our location, so we were very diappointed. Otherwise, everything was fine. The continental breakfast was actually a breakfast, including biscuits and gravy and hard-boiled eggs, as well as typical bagels and pastries. If a pool is not a requirement, this hotel provides worthwhile accommodations--more like 4.5 out of 5 for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawbug
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Aug 8, 2014

Nice place to sleep

Good place to spend the night for your trip to Colorado Springs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jspostles
Business
MKE
Oct 9, 2011

Needed a place to sleep for one night

Friendly staff, but kind of a dump. Room in bad shape. Furniture worn and cheap, bathroom needs attention, and towels are thinner and frayed and look worse than the rags I use for cleaning at home. Price was $29 - haven't seen anything this low in a decade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
teaminater
Business
boston, na
Jul 25, 2012

old but okay

good location. rooms are old and in need of update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
InlovewithColorado
Business
Santa Fe, Texas
Sep 19, 2012

Not so good

In a VERY loud and high traffic area. Room was on top corner next to the street. Room was not so clean. Was not pleased with stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Navrep
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 24, 2013

Business Trip

I arrived at this hotel late on a cold Colorado night. All of the rooms have only outside entrances so after taking an elevator to the 5th floor, I had to exit the building and walk down a long outside walkway to my room. Not fun on such a cold night! The sheets were worn and nubby and the recliner chair was broken. There were stains on the carpet. The soap was of such poor quality that as soon as I got it wet, it crumbled. Granted, this was a cheap room rate, but for Howard Johnsons, I expected more. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

"The Egg and I" had the best waffle and egg breakfast at a a very good price and excellent service. I had never eaten there but would definitely search out this restaurant when I return to Colorado Springs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Authentic Chell
Business
Billings Montana
Oct 28, 2013

not impresses

When I got there they were out of ice I had no refrigerator in my room that it said i was suppose to have. the staff was very rude. They were nice at first until I had a problem. when i explained i requested a non smoking room they said that is the room that was booked and its suppose to be non smoking even though it smelled like smoking. Then after pulling teeth I got them to put a refrigerator in my room. the bath siding was falling off in the bath and the heater kept shutting off. I realize it was suppose to be a cheap hotel stay but my back still hurts two days later from how hard the bed and pillows where. The last night i slept on the floor and that was better than the bed. Be aware you hear everything from the rooms surrounding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sorry I Stayed 2013
Business
New Jersey
Nov 24, 2013

Disappointing and not as advertised

The location was good and a few of the staff were friendly, but the room and its amenities weren't at all as advertised. I had terrible internet connection, which staff described as "spotty" from the start. Make that inconvenient and un-usable. I had to give up a remote writing job to a co-worker because I couldn't work with the IT issues involved in the poor internet connection. I was so busy with the purpose of my trip that I didn't have time to look for another hotel, so I went without internet... and TV. The TV remote wasn't working and it was too much trouble to keep getting up to change channels. I asked for someone to come take a look but they never did. The telephone in the room wasn't working, and while they promised it would be fixed, it never was. Two of the lights on the walls were also in need of repair. At one point, the box that contains the wall heating unit fell off, and I saw that the air filters had probably never been changed. They were filthy. But every day the housekeepers did a nice job of cleaning the room. I want to give credit where credit is due.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top