$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
105 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
Not bad for the price

With the discount we paid, it was a great deal. We had a king size bed and stayed one night. See full review

  • cnstech1
  • Sep 28, 2013
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Hotel Map

38.9525 -104.8012
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the traveling Dad
Cheyenne, WY
Aug 3, 2010

Great View Great Price

The lobby could use some updating but the room itself was great. My family and I stayed in the Colorado Springs area and had a great view of the mountains from our room. The pool is small only 5 feet deep other than that we had no complaints. The inclusion of a safe and refrigerator in room was a nice touch. Great quality for a great price we will stay again the next time we are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to visit Cave of the Winds and Garden of the Gods when in the Colorado Springs area both of these attractions are a short driving distance from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Aug 10, 2011

Nice and Clean, and a good deal!

Everything was great! The room was big and clean. I only wish that there would have been a microwave available in our room. I like the idea that they provided a safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
quick stop
Business
Virginia
Feb 20, 2012

Quick stop

Needed a room for one night and wanted to keep expenses down. The room was clean and hotel staff helpful. TV remote did not work but clerk reprogrammed and it worked. Older hotel but fit my needs well. Variety of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Niles, ohio
Feb 23, 2011

Howard johnsons motel, Razorback Rd., CO

We went to the Springs to visit friends. This motel was fine. We asked for a view and they gave us a nice room with view. The carpet was clean and pretty new. The water took time to get hot first thing in the morning. The room did not have a microwave. The motel hallways are plain, but full of nice pictures. Breakfast was the normal continental style, oatmeal and a variety of diff. bagels would have been better. Clean eating area and lobby with computer. A nice elevator to the higher floors. And a spactacular view of Pikes Peak. A nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tons and tons of stores , places to eat all around, closeby. You could walk to Cracker Barrel and Schlotki's. Or even to many moreif you like to walk. We were not there in warm weather to use the pool, but it looked nice right in front so you could see the mountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Concert goer extraordinaire
Kansas City, KS
Jul 5, 2009

HoJo in Colorado Springs

I usually just require a good bed to sleep on. The rooms were decent size and the price could not be beat. It is close to shopping, highways, restaurants, Air Force Academy. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. They handled every request quickly !! I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Aug 5, 2009

Nice Place

Very nice stay, good breakfast, friendly conversation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fantasy
Sweetwater, TX 79556, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Great Place to stay and meet a family member.

The hotel was very nice, the only problem I had was due to my disability. I'm severely handicapped and having to maneuver to the 3rd floor and the length of the hall was outrageous. I asked the staff if a wheelchair could be provided and was told none were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bertha
Maine
Aug 28, 2011

Very Good Value

This room was one of the most inexpensive available in Colorado Springs, but surprisingly, it was very clean with up-to-date amenities. Easy access to I-25.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drboboc
Business
Charleston, SC
May 20, 2013

Great value

It was everything most people need in a motel room, and very little they don't. In short, it is 80-90% as good as a room that costs twice as much. Try to get a room on the west side: you can see the sunset glow around Pike's Peak and it is glorious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in walking distance, including Famous Dave's barbecue, which is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Littleton, Colorado
Jul 14, 2010

Howard Johnsons

We really enjoyed this hotel, It is an older one, but very well maintained, clean, and quiet. We didn't know it had a complimentary continental breakfast so that was a surprise. They even had biscuits and gravy. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of eating areas around the hotel. Some walking distance, others just a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top