$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
View map of 8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drboboc
Business
Charleston, SC
May 20, 2013

Great value

It was everything most people need in a motel room, and very little they don't. In short, it is 80-90% as good as a room that costs twice as much. Try to get a room on the west side: you can see the sunset glow around Pike's Peak and it is glorious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in walking distance, including Famous Dave's barbecue, which is delicious.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cnstech1
Family
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 28, 2013

Not bad for the price

With the discount we paid, it was a great deal. We had a king size bed and stayed one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good places to eat, and lots of entertainment close by.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin TX
Aug 10, 2010

Great deal

The check-in woman was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stagecoach Inn in Manatou Springs

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, CO
Jun 14, 2011

Great Value

This was an overnight stay to avoid the long drive from Louisville. The room was clean, the bed comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Twin Cities, MN
Jul 6, 2010

great for the price

Overall this hotel is great for the price. It's right off I-25 close to the AF Academy and right next to Chapel Hills Mall. My only complaint is that the walls are a bit thin and my neighbors were a bit wild. Other than that, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La'au's Taco Shop on Cache le Poudre and Cascade in downtown Colorado Springs is awesome. They have great Hawaiian-style tacos.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
colorado springs
Jul 30, 2009

Good Value

great value for us.some people might not like small pool and no microwave in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vygilantee
Family
Utah, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Nice view

Nice and clean. I would go back. The view of Pikes Peak was something to behold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Great access to the Air Force Academy

We were in Colorado Springs for the parent's weekend at the Air Force Academy. It was a busy time and we didn't spend much time in our room. It has been a very long time since I have stayed in a hotel with only full-sized beds. After years of sleeping in a king at home, it took some getting used to. Thankfully, we were very tired as the days were jam-packed. Our room was clean and freshened each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Academy Drive is just a block away and is the main street. There are many, many eating places within just a very short drive.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
topeka, ks
Jun 29, 2010

Fine Family Fun

The rooms were just right for our families needs. My only complaint is that the hair dryer in one of our rooms did not work. The rooms were clean and we were happy to have a fridge. I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe the traveling Dad
Family
Cheyenne, WY
Aug 3, 2010

Great View Great Price

The lobby could use some updating but the room itself was great. My family and I stayed in the Colorado Springs area and had a great view of the mountains from our room. The pool is small only 5 feet deep other than that we had no complaints. The inclusion of a safe and refrigerator in room was a nice touch. Great quality for a great price we will stay again the next time we are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to visit Cave of the Winds and Garden of the Gods when in the Colorado Springs area both of these attractions are a short driving distance from this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top