Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
View map of 8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
99 reviews
good and cheap

It was decent &clean. beds, tv, and the colors suck! And the wifi was horrible. See full review

  • katertader
  • Apr 11, 2015
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Nearby attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 99
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katertader
Business
colorado springs
Apr 11, 2015

good and cheap

It was decent &clean. beds, tv, and the colors suck! And the wifi was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cloud910
Business
kansas
Aug 13, 2014

good view

the carpet was old and wrinkled.the shower was nasty. breakfast was good, staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cnstech1
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 28, 2013

Not bad for the price

With the discount we paid, it was a great deal. We had a king size bed and stayed one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good places to eat, and lots of entertainment close by.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stut
Business
Petaluma, Ca.
May 31, 2012

Ridiculous Experience

After 45 minutes of GPS and MapQuest guided searching we could not find the motel. I called the front desk, explained where I was and was told that because the street names were recently changed I was not going to find the location using GPS or MapQuest. So I asked for directions from my location and the front desk person said she didn't know. we finally found the motel and I asked to speak to a manager about the address situation. I was told there was no manager until Monday (it was Sat.). I asked to speak to the person in charge and was told no one was in charge. I responded that I had never heard of such a thing and the front desk person said that she was alone and she guessed that meant she was in charge. I travel frequently and have never had such a ridiculous experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sophie's Best Friend
Business
Huntsville, AL
May 20, 2012

HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT & SAFETY ISSUES

Immediately after our check-in, we proceeded to go to our rooms. Upon exiting the elevator on our floor, the elevator door suddenly and forcefully shot out striking my wife on the side of her head and eye causing a concussion. When we attempted to report the accident to management, we were informed that the manager was off for the next 3 days and they would have her "call us." She NEVER called! We reported the incident to Howard Johnson's corporate offices with the result of "We're sorry about the incident but our hotels are franchised out and you will have to take up the problem with them." On Monday when the manager did come back in, we asked if she had received the report of the accident and her response was "I was sick myself and didn't feel like fooling with anybody else's problem!" We asked about the medical bill and she became irate. We asked to speak with the owner of the hotel and was told that he would contact us....NEVER HAPPENED! In the midst of attempting to discuss the elevator malfunction (which she stated they fixed the night immediately following the accident), she (the manager) became irate and told us we were to "LEAVE THE HOTEL IMMEDIATELY!" There was never once even an apology or any concern shown at all for my wife's health issue. No one ever even asked if she was ok. We DID leave the hotel at once since it was such an unpleasant experience that physically ruined my wife's once yearly visit with our only child! We will NEVER EVEN CONSIDER staying at a Howard Johnson Hotel again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa Manitou Incline
Business
Beavercreek, OH
May 16, 2012

Excellent place to stay

Just passing through Colorado Springs and Adrienne was extremely helpful. Very clean, good breakfast. Thank you! The Manitou Incline was GREAT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flee
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Annual Parent's weekend to Air Force Academy

The hotel is a great location for visiting the Air Force Academy and other Colorado Spring Attractions, but th owners need to invest some more money into new linens and updating the property. I would love to stay here again next year if they get rid of the smoking rooms and get new mattresses and bed linens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Loveland, Colorado
Aug 23, 2011

Older, but okay for a deal

We went to this hotel as a family for a weekend trip. It is older, so don't go expecting too much and you won't be disappointed. Most things were superficial, bathroom was old and door didn't close all the way, old furniture and mattress etc. Our room was clean though and had basic ammenities. FYI pool is very small, pictures are misleading, so don't plan on that being a major attraction to your kids. Our stay here was okay, but I don't think we would stay again... but then again, it was the cheapest for what we were looking for. I guess you get what you pay for with this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is in North Colorado Springs which puts you closer to all the Pikes Peak, North Pole, Manitou Cliff Dwelling attractions

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
devilish
Business
Dothan, AL, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Family

This is the worst hotel in the United States. The rooms are nasty and smelly. We gave up our last night there because it was so uncomfortable. Everything in the room needs to be updated. They still have the boxed TV's and the bathroom is so small, you can't enjoy the nasty shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vygilantee
Business
Utah, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Nice view

Nice and clean. I would go back. The view of Pikes Peak was something to behold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top