$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
107 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 107
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Red Dolly
Business
Colorado Springs
May 9, 2014

Great Value

Friendly staff. Spacious rooms. Close to eveverything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
per mom
Business
Colorado Springs co
Apr 21, 2014

Could be better

Not a average hotel. Rooms are normal size. Mini fridge NO microwave. Rooms aren't that clean. I dropped something behind the bed. Saw quite alot of trash. The shower had someone else's bar of soap still in it. The free breakfast isn't worth it. The apple and orange juice is just straight syrup. They dont/ mix it right. Not much of a choice. Wouldn't stay here again. Lesson learned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Authentic Chell
Business
Billings Montana
Oct 28, 2013

not impresses

When I got there they were out of ice I had no refrigerator in my room that it said i was suppose to have. the staff was very rude. They were nice at first until I had a problem. when i explained i requested a non smoking room they said that is the room that was booked and its suppose to be non smoking even though it smelled like smoking. Then after pulling teeth I got them to put a refrigerator in my room. the bath siding was falling off in the bath and the heater kept shutting off. I realize it was suppose to be a cheap hotel stay but my back still hurts two days later from how hard the bed and pillows where. The last night i slept on the floor and that was better than the bed. Be aware you hear everything from the rooms surrounding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Navrep
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 24, 2013

Business Trip

I arrived at this hotel late on a cold Colorado night. All of the rooms have only outside entrances so after taking an elevator to the 5th floor, I had to exit the building and walk down a long outside walkway to my room. Not fun on such a cold night! The sheets were worn and nubby and the recliner chair was broken. There were stains on the carpet. The soap was of such poor quality that as soon as I got it wet, it crumbled. Granted, this was a cheap room rate, but for Howard Johnsons, I expected more. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

"The Egg and I" had the best waffle and egg breakfast at a a very good price and excellent service. I had never eaten there but would definitely search out this restaurant when I return to Colorado Springs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drboboc
Business
Charleston, SC
May 20, 2013

Great value

It was everything most people need in a motel room, and very little they don't. In short, it is 80-90% as good as a room that costs twice as much. Try to get a room on the west side: you can see the sunset glow around Pike's Peak and it is glorious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in walking distance, including Famous Dave's barbecue, which is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Lin
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 28, 2012

Very Convience Location

Its location is near the church holding the conference and also close to the major highway and several restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Telcom guy
Business
CA
Mar 21, 2012

Colorado Springs

Stayed 12 days everything was fine. This is a no-frills hotel.. You get what you pay for. I need a safe, clean, cheap place to stay for a business trip... That's exactly what I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
quick stop
Business
Virginia
Feb 20, 2012

Quick stop

Needed a room for one night and wanted to keep expenses down. The room was clean and hotel staff helpful. TV remote did not work but clerk reprogrammed and it worked. Older hotel but fit my needs well. Variety of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ca16774
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Worst hotel in town

Sheets were from the 80's, towels had holes in them, non smoking room that was smoking room many times before, room heater ran for 10hrs without raising the temp above 65 deg, bed was hard, pillows were flat and very old, wi-fi didn't work in my room, had to go to hallway for it to work, Do not go here, the hotel is very dated for the area it is in, not worth the money. Again do not stay here!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler from the North
Business
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Dec 4, 2011

Great Hotel Value!

Hotel was conveniently located at the north end of Colorado Springs. The location, amenities and room comfort were average. However, the room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Additionally, for the price they charge it is the one of the best values in Colorado Springs. Based on the above, I give this hotel 4 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several fast food resturants are locationed right outsideof the hotel within wallking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top