$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
View map of 8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Littleton, Colorado
Jul 14, 2010

Howard Johnsons

We really enjoyed this hotel, It is an older one, but very well maintained, clean, and quiet. We didn't know it had a complimentary continental breakfast so that was a surprise. They even had biscuits and gravy. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of eating areas around the hotel. Some walking distance, others just a couple of blocks away.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Very poor quality and very rude staff.

Staff was very rude, recliner was filthy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Jul 6, 2010

great for the price

Overall this hotel is great for the price. It's right off I-25 close to the AF Academy and right next to Chapel Hills Mall. My only complaint is that the walls are a bit thin and my neighbors were a bit wild. Other than that, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La'au's Taco Shop on Cache le Poudre and Cascade in downtown Colorado Springs is awesome. They have great Hawaiian-style tacos.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
topeka, ks
Jun 29, 2010

Fine Family Fun

The rooms were just right for our families needs. My only complaint is that the hair dryer in one of our rooms did not work. The rooms were clean and we were happy to have a fridge. I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Midwestern tourist
Business
Pardeeville,WI
Jun 24, 2010

Worst hotel experience of my life

Worst experience of my life. The front desk clerk was rude and dishonest. She stated I could speak with a manager, when I said "yes please" she said "he's sick." I then stated that I felt lied to and she said "I didn't say when you could speak to a manager." There were hidden deposit charges [...]. The room itself smelled and the plug-ins didn't work. There was an open cocoon on the bathroom wall, and a dead moth by the toilet. Speaking of the toilet, it didn't flush. The walls were paper thin and all we could hear were people fighting and bottles breaking. Underneath the air conditioning was a mouse hole. DO NOT STAY HERE if you have ANY OTHER OPTIONS....even if it is your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Republican
Business
West Des Moines IA
May 25, 2010

Good Value and Good Location

Howard Johnson's has improved the continental breakfast and maid service over the previous operators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Avoid Woodmen and Academy intersection. Your Federal Tax $'s are enabling a massive project.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westminster, CO
May 18, 2010

Howard Johnson Motel, COS

Average motel, good location for us. Certain common areas could stand sprucing up. Price was very good and felt it was an OK value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelbirds
Business
Texas
Mar 19, 2010

nice hotel

nice and quiet.. in great location for what we wanted to do. Rooms were nice and clean with fridge but no microwave. We had safe in rooms but no code to make use of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joanne, Group Organizer
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 18, 2010

Served the Purpose

We used this hotel while attending a 50th Birthday Party. Being on a budget, we sought a reasonably priced hotel near the north end of town, and this one fit the bill and served the purpose. The bathroom was very clean and looked renovated. However, the rest of the room could certainly use some updating. It was mediocre at best. The bed was ok, but the pillows too hard. I was glad to see there was a coffee pot in the room, as well as a refrigerator. The maid also did a fine job of cleaning the room. The complimentary breakfast was nothing to speak of and we passed on it all together. When we called the front dest for some information, we were informed that we were welcome to come and use their computer to find what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Garden of the Gods. It's a beautiful place to enjoy for walking, hiking, or just driving thru.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaumont, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Shame on Howard Johnson!

I was in town with my wife for my nieces' wedding. [...] I saw the photos and was misled by them. Our room smelled. My wife found mascara on the pillows. The chairs were old and stained. The furniture was very dated. There were mold stains on the cieling of the bathroom. The towels were frayed along the edges. The mini fridge also had a foul odor. Overall, this was a terrible experience. we didn't have time to look for another room in town, otherwise we would have done so immediately. [...] As a child, i remember traveling with my family and my parents would seek out either a howard johnson hotel or a holiday inn. These names were a comfort after a long road trip. My, how times have changed. Shame on Howard Johnson Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top