$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
106 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Hotel Map

38.9525 -104.8012
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westminster, CO
May 18, 2010

Howard Johnson Motel, COS

Average motel, good location for us. Certain common areas could stand sprucing up. Price was very good and felt it was an OK value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelbirds
Business
Texas
Mar 19, 2010

nice hotel

nice and quiet.. in great location for what we wanted to do. Rooms were nice and clean with fridge but no microwave. We had safe in rooms but no code to make use of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joanne, Group Organizer
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 18, 2010

Served the Purpose

We used this hotel while attending a 50th Birthday Party. Being on a budget, we sought a reasonably priced hotel near the north end of town, and this one fit the bill and served the purpose. The bathroom was very clean and looked renovated. However, the rest of the room could certainly use some updating. It was mediocre at best. The bed was ok, but the pillows too hard. I was glad to see there was a coffee pot in the room, as well as a refrigerator. The maid also did a fine job of cleaning the room. The complimentary breakfast was nothing to speak of and we passed on it all together. When we called the front dest for some information, we were informed that we were welcome to come and use their computer to find what we were looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the Garden of the Gods. It's a beautiful place to enjoy for walking, hiking, or just driving thru.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beaumont, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Shame on Howard Johnson!

I was in town with my wife for my nieces' wedding. [...] I saw the photos and was misled by them. Our room smelled. My wife found mascara on the pillows. The chairs were old and stained. The furniture was very dated. There were mold stains on the cieling of the bathroom. The towels were frayed along the edges. The mini fridge also had a foul odor. Overall, this was a terrible experience. we didn't have time to look for another room in town, otherwise we would have done so immediately. [...] As a child, i remember traveling with my family and my parents would seek out either a howard johnson hotel or a holiday inn. These names were a comfort after a long road trip. My, how times have changed. Shame on Howard Johnson Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Deb
Business
Pikeville, KY
Oct 19, 2009

National Day of Prayer Conference

The hotel was conveniently located to the conference site. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The only things that would have made it better for me would have been more of a variety on the continental breakfast bar and a treadmill so I could walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Sep 23, 2009

Great place and location.

Enjoyed the great staff and delicious "Free" breakfast! Even though there's no fitness center in site, they send you to a wonderful YMCA facility. We had a wonderful stay. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 22, 2009

Just a place to

I guess we didn't expect much when we chose this place to stay. After all, it was a HoJos and they keep on top of things. We weren't worried. Doesn't each location have to pass inspection? We didn't expect the Ritz, but we also didn't expect it to be so run down. The furniture was outdated and the room did not have a clean feeling. Had to question whether it was a smoking room or not as we chose a non-smoking. It needed an airing out. Had to cover the chair with a towel as it was full of hairs. We were in town from NJ for a funeral, so the location was excellent but that's about all that was. I realize the breakfast was a Continental one, but the coffee was terrible and as I don't eat bakery items, the fruit could have been of better quality. In fact there were rotten spots on the oranges. Had to ask for tissues in the room as there were none.............enough said. It's true.....You do get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It was a very convenient location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, Kansas
Aug 20, 2009

Weekend Getaway

The room was ok - not special, but ok. The worst thing was the pillows, they were very hard and lumpy so we went to the store and bought some. The rooms were clean, but needed updating and repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 5, 2009

Nice Place

Very nice stay, good breakfast, friendly conversation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado springs
Jul 30, 2009

Good Value

great value for us.some people might not like small pool and no microwave in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top