$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
107 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Findlay, OH
Jun 16, 2011

Great location for the price

The hotel was clean although it was a little older. I just slept there so it suited me fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Focus on the Family Institute

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, CO
Jun 14, 2011

Great Value

This was an overnight stay to avoid the long drive from Louisville. The room was clean, the bed comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
graduation
Business
Colorado
May 27, 2011

Pretty nice place for cheap

Stayed there for graduation. Hotel was close to school and close to a lot of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ree_ti_ree
Business
Minneapolis
May 8, 2011

Good value, Great view.

Good hotel for the price! Clean, bright room and we asked for view of Pike's Peak and got it. We were there for the sites and it seemed to be good location for that. Thought the WiFi was a little slow, but not terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niles, ohio
Feb 23, 2011

Howard johnsons motel, Razorback Rd., CO

We went to the Springs to visit friends. This motel was fine. We asked for a view and they gave us a nice room with view. The carpet was clean and pretty new. The water took time to get hot first thing in the morning. The room did not have a microwave. The motel hallways are plain, but full of nice pictures. Breakfast was the normal continental style, oatmeal and a variety of diff. bagels would have been better. Clean eating area and lobby with computer. A nice elevator to the higher floors. And a spactacular view of Pikes Peak. A nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tons and tons of stores , places to eat all around, closeby. You could walk to Cracker Barrel and Schlotki's. Or even to many moreif you like to walk. We were not there in warm weather to use the pool, but it looked nice right in front so you could see the mountains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Nov 2, 2010

Very Comfortable and clean

We were on our way home from a meeting in denver and picking our daughters up at DIA after a month in Wales, Scotland and England. We were all COLD and tired and we had my husbands 86 yr old mother with us. They nicely gave us a handicap room next to ours so we could keep an eye on things. We enjoyed our stay. VERY NCIE STAFF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book ahead. We saved the room after we had planned our trip to Denver for our meeting and stayed at the Marriott Tech center. We knew we had a long trip home, so we booked a room on the way so we could be rested and ready to make the rest of the drive home. There also is a FAZOLI'S in the town, so we ate good too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carterville, Texas
Sep 28, 2010

Pleasantly Pleased

This was a great "timesaver" location. We are breakfast people and a Denny's is next door with great food which is not always the case. We needed a medication and a Walmart with a pharmacy is just past Denny's. It was easy on and off the freeway. We were an hour from Denver and thirty minutes from the natural locations we desired. It is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, OR
Aug 31, 2010

Three star value for the price

Enjoyed taking a dip in the non-heated pool. Bathroom sink light wasn't working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland CA
Aug 25, 2010

Terrible Hotel

[...] booked me for a smoking room despite the fact I asked for non smoking. I have tried to contact [...] for assistance in getting my money back and this is what I got. Rude desk person finally gave me a non smoking room but with broken box springs and sagging mattress. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita Ks
Aug 21, 2010

Awesome location

The staff was great they looked up things for me and gave me directions that had a shorter distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Academy was how we got to most of of destinations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top