$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 12, 2015 Check-out: Feb 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
107 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
good value

It was great. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Overall a great value. See full review

  • gilmoregrl
  • Oct 11, 2014
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
teaminater
Business
boston, na
Jul 25, 2012

old but okay

good location. rooms are old and in need of update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bertha
Business
Maine
Jul 3, 2012

Good location, good value

A clean hotel with all the basic amenities, great location in northern Colorado Springs near I-25. Friendly, helpful staff. Free breakfast included juice, coffee, hot waffles, muffins. Not a luxury hotel by any means, but my wife and I were quite satisfied with our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stupid Survey
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2012

Wedding trip

Will never stay at a HoJo again. The staff was rude. I had a prepaid hotel room, and they threatned to give my room away if I didn't make it from the wedding celebration before midnight, even though I told they I may be there after midnight. The bed was uncomfortable. The sheets thin as rice paper. Old television. Not worth what I paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just plain old gary
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jun 15, 2012

Filled our needs, priced right.

The staff was excellent. Our GPS put us about two miles to the north of the motel. We called and they were able to guide us to the motel with ease. The staff said that GPS needs to be corrected because it creates a lot of hard feelings. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. One of the guests (a young boy) put it very well "slim pickins" We will definitly stay at Howaard Johnson's again in spite of the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Numerous places to eat close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sidd
Business
houston
Jun 2, 2012

great room but far from the city

It was a decent hotel at the price which I holed. Rooms were clean but not hotel. All basic amenities were there. Hotel staff need more smiling faces. Breakfast was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stut
Business
Petaluma, Ca.
May 31, 2012

Ridiculous Experience

After 45 minutes of GPS and MapQuest guided searching we could not find the motel. I called the front desk, explained where I was and was told that because the street names were recently changed I was not going to find the location using GPS or MapQuest. So I asked for directions from my location and the front desk person said she didn't know. we finally found the motel and I asked to speak to a manager about the address situation. I was told there was no manager until Monday (it was Sat.). I asked to speak to the person in charge and was told no one was in charge. I responded that I had never heard of such a thing and the front desk person said that she was alone and she guessed that meant she was in charge. I travel frequently and have never had such a ridiculous experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sophie's Best Friend
Business
Huntsville, AL
May 20, 2012

HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT & SAFETY ISSUES

Immediately after our check-in, we proceeded to go to our rooms. Upon exiting the elevator on our floor, the elevator door suddenly and forcefully shot out striking my wife on the side of her head and eye causing a concussion. When we attempted to report the accident to management, we were informed that the manager was off for the next 3 days and they would have her "call us." She NEVER called! We reported the incident to Howard Johnson's corporate offices with the result of "We're sorry about the incident but our hotels are franchised out and you will have to take up the problem with them." On Monday when the manager did come back in, we asked if she had received the report of the accident and her response was "I was sick myself and didn't feel like fooling with anybody else's problem!" We asked about the medical bill and she became irate. We asked to speak with the owner of the hotel and was told that he would contact us....NEVER HAPPENED! In the midst of attempting to discuss the elevator malfunction (which she stated they fixed the night immediately following the accident), she (the manager) became irate and told us we were to "LEAVE THE HOTEL IMMEDIATELY!" There was never once even an apology or any concern shown at all for my wife's health issue. No one ever even asked if she was ok. We DID leave the hotel at once since it was such an unpleasant experience that physically ruined my wife's once yearly visit with our only child! We will NEVER EVEN CONSIDER staying at a Howard Johnson Hotel again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa Manitou Incline
Business
Beavercreek, OH
May 16, 2012

Excellent place to stay

Just passing through Colorado Springs and Adrienne was extremely helpful. Very clean, good breakfast. Thank you! The Manitou Incline was GREAT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Telcom guy
Business
CA
Mar 21, 2012

Colorado Springs

Stayed 12 days everything was fine. This is a no-frills hotel.. You get what you pay for. I need a safe, clean, cheap place to stay for a business trip... That's exactly what I got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fantasy
Business
Sweetwater, TX 79556, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Great Place to stay and meet a family member.

The hotel was very nice, the only problem I had was due to my disability. I'm severely handicapped and having to maneuver to the 3rd floor and the length of the hall was outrageous. I asked the staff if a wheelchair could be provided and was told none were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top