$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

2 stars
8280 Highway 83, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
100 reviews
COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not... See full review

  • Stockphotoman
  • Sep 7, 2013
Not bad for the price

With the discount we paid, it was a great deal. We had a king size bed and stayed one night. See full review

  • cnstech1
  • Sep 28, 2013
Value-priced Colorado Springs hotel with free Internet and breakfast
Unwind with serene mountain views, spacious rooms and great extras at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel, just off Interstate 25 near the Air Force Academy. The hotel offers an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot continental breakfast. Business travelers make use of all the freebies the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel offers including high-speed wireless Internet access, business center, daily newspaper and local and long-distance phone calls. For the fitness minded, free guest passes are offered to the nearby YMCA.
Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free parking
  • Free local and long distance telephone calls
  • Free YMCA pass

 

Location
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel is located just off Interstate 25 in sunny Colorado Springs, near the Air Force Base. At about 6,000 feet in elevation, Colorado Springs sits at the base of the famed Pikes Peak, on the edge of the southern Rocky Mountains. Explore the area’s outdoor adventures, Old West towns, Olympic Training Center and charming museums.
Rooms
Clean and spacious rooms and mountain views await guests at the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel. Each room includes free high-speed wireless Internet access, free local and long distance telephone calls, microwave, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, alarm clock and safe. All Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel guests receive free continental breakfast every morning.
Dining
The Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel serves a free continental breakfast with hot items every morning. Coffee makers are provided in every room. Several restaurants are within about a mile of the Howard Johnson Colorado Springs hotel.
Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (75.3 mi/121 km)
  • Colorado Springs Municipal Airport (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
Attractions
  • Garden of the Gods Park (8.9 mi/14.4 km)
  • United States Olympic Training Center (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Ghost Town Museum (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Seven Falls (15.3 mi/24.6 km)
  • Manitou Cliff Dwellings (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Cave of the Winds (16.4 mi/26.5 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Colorado Springs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9525 -104.8012
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Falcon Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • United States Air Force Academy: 4 mi
  • Clune Arena: 6.1 mi
  • World Arena: 11.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Overall score

3.1 / 5
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
Lisa Manitou Incline
Beavercreek, OH
May 16, 2012

Excellent place to stay

Just passing through Colorado Springs and Adrienne was extremely helpful. Very clean, good breakfast. Thank you! The Manitou Incline was GREAT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
Relaxes
Illinois
Jan 27, 2014

Great location

This is a hidden gem. Located near all your needs and in a good area. Small and limited breakfast but for the price it was nice that they had one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
Sorry I Stayed 2013
New Jersey
Nov 24, 2013

Disappointing and not as advertised

The location was good and a few of the staff were friendly, but the room and its amenities weren't at all as advertised. I had terrible internet connection, which staff described as "spotty" from the start. Make that inconvenient and un-usable. I had to give up a remote writing job to a co-worker because I couldn't work with the IT issues involved in the poor internet connection. I was so busy with the purpose of my trip that I didn't have time to look for another hotel, so I went without internet... and TV. The TV remote wasn't working and it was too much trouble to keep getting up to change channels. I asked for someone to come take a look but they never did. The telephone in the room wasn't working, and while they promised it would be fixed, it never was. Two of the lights on the walls were also in need of repair. At one point, the box that contains the wall heating unit fell off, and I saw that the air filters had probably never been changed. They were filthy. But every day the housekeepers did a nice job of cleaning the room. I want to give credit where credit is due.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
Authentic Chell
Business
Billings Montana
Oct 28, 2013

not impresses

When I got there they were out of ice I had no refrigerator in my room that it said i was suppose to have. the staff was very rude. They were nice at first until I had a problem. when i explained i requested a non smoking room they said that is the room that was booked and its suppose to be non smoking even though it smelled like smoking. Then after pulling teeth I got them to put a refrigerator in my room. the bath siding was falling off in the bath and the heater kept shutting off. I realize it was suppose to be a cheap hotel stay but my back still hurts two days later from how hard the bed and pillows where. The last night i slept on the floor and that was better than the bed. Be aware you hear everything from the rooms surrounding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

2
Navrep
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Oct 24, 2013

Business Trip

I arrived at this hotel late on a cold Colorado night. All of the rooms have only outside entrances so after taking an elevator to the 5th floor, I had to exit the building and walk down a long outside walkway to my room. Not fun on such a cold night! The sheets were worn and nubby and the recliner chair was broken. There were stains on the carpet. The soap was of such poor quality that as soon as I got it wet, it crumbled. Granted, this was a cheap room rate, but for Howard Johnsons, I expected more. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

"The Egg and I" had the best waffle and egg breakfast at a a very good price and excellent service. I had never eaten there but would definitely search out this restaurant when I return to Colorado Springs.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
cnstech1
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 28, 2013

Not bad for the price

With the discount we paid, it was a great deal. We had a king size bed and stayed one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many good places to eat, and lots of entertainment close by.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
funnyman
C/S Colorado
Sep 8, 2013

Alone Time

It was a very nice and affordable stay. Would recommend this hotel to others and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

5
Stockphotoman
Hutchinson Kansas
Sep 7, 2013

COLORADO PHOTO SHOOT

The Hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable,the Hotel is in an excellent location, its not very far from the sights there, the refrig, hair dryer, and every thing was excellent, the safe was a little small but really didn't really need the safe. While I was there I shot photos for my Photography business. That I'm try to build up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of eating and shopping places that are a short drive from the Hotel, there are some that's a short walk from the Hotel too.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
D cowboys
Shelbyville, Illinois
Jul 2, 2013

Good price

This motel is a little dated. The rooms seem clean. One problem that we found was that the breakfast area was too small to accommodate all of the patrons. The breakfast was satisfactory with pastries, waffles, fruit, and cereal. There are several eating places near the motel for the other daily meals. The motel is located central to several tourist areas like The Garden of the Gods and the Air force Academy. The mountains provide breathtaking scenery everyday. We would stay in this motel again for the price that we paid..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many tourist attractions and eating establishments are nearby.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

4
drboboc
Business
Charleston, SC
May 20, 2013

Great value

It was everything most people need in a motel room, and very little they don't. In short, it is 80-90% as good as a room that costs twice as much. Try to get a room on the west side: you can see the sunset glow around Pike's Peak and it is glorious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants in walking distance, including Famous Dave's barbecue, which is delicious.

Review of Howard Johnson Colorado Springs

Reviewer score

3
555sjh
Grand Junction, CO
Jan 16, 2013

Fun time for two

The room was clean and in fairly good condition. The tub was not. It was pitted and patched with pieces breaking off in the water. The light over the sink was very dim, which made shaving and applying makeup quite a challenge. However, the rest of the room was more than adequate. It was a good room for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some excellent restaurants very close by.

Back to menu Return to top