$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Mountain House Lodge

3 stars
View map of 905 E. Hopkins, Aspen, CO 81616

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
24 reviews
Best trip of my life

I traveled to Aspen, CO, by myself for a few days at New Years to relax from a busy year at work.... See full review

  • seattleinaweek
  • Jan 6, 2015
Couple Get Away sans Kids

Since we didn't have kids with us, we just needed a clean, convenient place to lay our heads and... See full review

  • future Aspenite
  • Jan 28, 2014
Welcome to The Mountain House Lodge, snugly set in the heart of Historic Downtown Aspen. Here, couples, friends, and family groups alike enjoy the perfect combination of hospitality, convenience, and year-round reasonable rates. WiFi, continental breakfast, guest lounge, and plush robes are just a few of the complimentary perks you'll find in our cozy accommodations. Aspen's boutiques, restaurants, galleries, and nightlife lie right outside your door, and Aspen Mountain Ski Resort is just steps away. Once you arrive your car will remain parked in a complimentary stall, as there is literally no need to drive with Aspen's top attractions so easily accessible. Buttermilk and Aspen Highlands Resorts are both just 10 minutes away a complimentary city shuttle, and Snowmass Resort is reachable by the same complimentary shuttle service in just 30 minutes. Don't take our word on how fantastic The Mountain House Lodge is; listen to our guests! We consistently receive the highest accolades on sites like Expedia and Trip Advisor, and were awarded the illustrious "Certificate of Excellence" by Trip Advisor in 2013, an award presented to only the top 10% of accommodations. If the Mountain House wasn't already a gem, major property renovations are currently underway. Many rooms have already been refreshed with new mattresses, bedding, flat screen TVs, and more. All rooms will receive these same upgrades in time for the 2013-2014 ski season. A guest lounge was just added with a pool table and plush furnishings, and major common area upgrades are planned for the fall.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mountain House Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Mountain House Lodge Rooms

Standard with 1 Queen Bed
This spacious room features a mini fridge, complimentary wireless internet access and a desk, a coffee maker, and most open up to a private balcony with breathtaking mountain views. Sleeps up to 2.
Standard with 1 King Bed
This comfortably appointed room features a mini fridge, complimentary wireless internet access and a desk, a coffee maker, and most open up to a private balcony with breathtaking mountain views. Sleeps up to 2.
Standard with 2 Queen Beds
This comfortably appointed room features a mini fridge, complimentary wireless internet access and a desk, a coffee maker, and most open up to a private balcony with breathtaking mountain views. Bedding consists of either two queen or two double beds. Sleeps up to 4.
Mountain Suite
This spacious suite features a sitting area, private deck, mini fridge, complimentary wireless internet access and a desk, and a coffee maker. Bedding varies but typically consists of either one king or two queen bed and a murphy bed or sleeper sofa. Sleeps up to 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
No pets allowed
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Little Annie's Eating House
517 E Hyman Ave Aspen CO 81611. Locals favorite with home-cooked meals and BBQ
Johnny McGuire's Deli
730 E Cooper Ave Aspen CO 81611
Mezzaluna
624 E Cooper Ave Aspen CO 81611Serious food in a fun atmosphere with great summer patio
Kenichi
533 E Hopkins Ave - 2 Aspen CO 81611Contemporary Asian cuisine and world-class sushi
Boogie's Diner
555 E Durant Ave Aspen CO 81611Lunch and dinner serving burger fries healthy salads and malts

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Mountain House Lodge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
seattleinaweek
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Best trip of my life

I traveled to Aspen, CO, by myself for a few days at New Years to relax from a busy year at work. When I checked in to the Mountain House Lodge, not only was I greeted by an unbelievably friendly staff member (Linda), but I was informed that I had been given an unexpected upgrade to a suite....the best room in the entire property! The room was huge, so comfortable, and quite a treat for me, since I was the only one staying there for 3 days. The location could not be more perfect, since this is an economical way to stay in downtown Aspen, while also experiencing the "neighborhood location" that surrounds the hotel. The walk from the front door of the hotel to the shops and restaurants of the city is no more than 4-5 minutes. I only give a low score on cleanliness, as there was a small amount of trash left behind a piece of furniture that sat away from the wall. I want to stay at Mountain House Lodge EVERY time I have the opportunity to return to Aspen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're flying in and not planning to rent a car, you can take one of the free "Local" shuttles from the hotel to the center of Aspen. This will keep you from having to take a cab. The walk from the shuttle stop in Aspen to the Mountain House Lodge is only about a 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SWB in VA
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 7, 2014

Great location, great staff, needs attention to details

Love the location. Walking distance to everything. If it's hot, unusual in Aspen, there is no air conditioning. And room was sun facing. They do provide a fan. No knob on lamp between beds, TV not set up,correctly wth satellite box..... Needs attention to small things Nice breakfast included....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park the car, walk to town, John Denver Park etc. great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walkinman
Business
Steamboat Springs, CO
Jun 27, 2014

comfy and close to concert

checked in late (11:00pm) so there was no staff. Keys left in a lock box

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Walkinman
Business
Steamboat Springs, CO
May 19, 2014

a nice stay

Very clean and comfortable. A little dated, but the staff was friendly. Continental brreakfast was just so so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
future Aspenite
Business
TX
Jan 28, 2014

Couple Get Away sans Kids

Since we didn't have kids with us, we just needed a clean, convenient place to lay our heads and the Mountain House Lodge was perfect! Walking distance to everything Aspen has to offer in the Winter and breakfast included was a bonus. Older accommodations but very clean and comfortable. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mountain bums
Business
colorado
Sep 4, 2013

amazing weekend get away!

We came for a music concert and the artist checked in right behind us!!, we were blown away, the staff was super nice and the room was clean and spacious, we also had a balcony and we were 5 min walk from the main street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Belly up!! cool bar with great performances

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bicycle race fan
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 3, 2013

A basic hotel for skiers and outdoor adventurers.

This is a fine place for a short visit in Aspen, but the hotel is nothing very special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The John Denver Garden is only short walk away, along the Rio Grande pathway above the river. It was a charming garden, beautifully landscaped with wildflowers, trees and boulders over the creek and pond. John Denver's songs and poems are carved into the boulders around the garden, a perfect place to sit & look at the lovely scenery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
klxrct1970
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 22, 2013

Good for the money in Aspen

No elevator and had to carry bags up three flights of stairs. Eric at the front desk was awesome. He gave us a map, explained the layout of town, suggested a walking trail, recommended a great restaurant, and even suggested an early trip out to Maroon Bells. It was a short drive for some spectacular views. The room was comfortable, and the bed was very soft. We were lucky it was cool outside as the room had no air conditioning. The shops and restaurants were within close walking distance which made things convenient. Breakfast was adequate. All in all it was good for the money. Much cheaper than other places in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get up early and drive out to the Maroon Bells. If you get there before nine you can drive all the way up to Maroon Lake to park. After nine parking is full and you may have to ride the bus. We ate breakfast at 7:30, and were up at the Maroon Bells by 8:30. Take a jacket and wear comfy clothes. If you like to hike it is a great place to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Intrepid travellers
Business
Ontario Canada
Jun 21, 2013

Great location for all you need in Aspen

Very clean and comfortable room, with nice balcony to enjoy a glass of cheer, overlooking the town. Even though renovations were being done, every one was very considerate. Great choices for breakfast hot and cold and lots of space to eat. Front desk extremely helpful with suggestions for dinner (Jimmies Steak House mmmmmmmmmmm) and other things to do. John Denver sanctuary, walking trail along the river and Nature park at the end were fabulous. Great value for your $$$- not just a lodge, much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Drive in from one side of Aspen and out the other if possible, for spectacular views. See Maroon Bells and take at least the short walk around the mirror like lake. You might see deer and other critters too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sdemaggie
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 19, 2013

Aspen

This was my first trip to Aspen so I had no idea what to expect. I found the hotel clean and neat. The staff is very helpful. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of eateries with in walking distance. Suggest heading north as there is more variety.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top