$220 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Grafton on Sunset

4 stars
View map of 8462 West Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90069

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
94 reviews
Work

This place was amazing, the staff were amazing, the location is amazing, the rooms are amazing, the... See full review

  • Chrisrbusby
  • Feb 9, 2015
Great for West Hollywood Halloween

Location is Great. It's some what walking distance despite the hill/slope. Would stay again. Simple... See full review

  • Fofomon
  • Jan 7, 2015
The Grafton on Sunset is the premier boutique hotel on Sunset Blvd in the heart of West Hollywood. Our 108 newly renovated rooms are centrally located on the Sunset Strip amidst world renowned shopping, restaurants, lounges and nightlife. The Grafton offers two distinctive outlets; Bar 20, our lobby lounge featuring a bar menu and exclusive cocktails, and our intimate steakhouse Oliver's Prime. The Grafton amenities also include a twenty four hours fitness center and the largest saltwater pool in West Hollywood in a serene and relaxing setting. Valet parking is $36.00 per vehicle plus tax per night. The hotel offers basic wi-fi to all hotel guests.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grafton on Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grafton on Sunset Rooms

Basic Room
Intimate Guestroom with one King Bed featuring a contemporary combination of leather, metal and unique illumination, highlighted by red accents from closet to bathroom. Amenities include: Complimentary basic Wi-Fi, MP3 player, 37 inch HDTV, Minibar, Laptop safe, Iron/ironing board, Robe, Hairdryer and Rain shower head, 260sf.
Standard Room
Standard Guestroom with one King Bed or two Double Beds featuring a contemporary combination of leather, metal and unique illumination, highlighted by red accents from closet to bathroom. Amenities include: Complimentary basic Wi-Fi, MP3 player, 37 inch HDTV, Minibar, Laptop safe, Iron/ironing board, Robe, Hairdryer and Rain shower head, 325sf.
Classic Room
Classic Guestroom with one King Bed or two Double Beds featuring a contemporary combination of leather, metal and unique illumination, highlighted by red accents from closet to bathroom. Amenities include: Complimentary basic Wi-Fi, MP3 player 37 inch HDTV, Minibar, Laptop safe, Iron/ironing board, Robe, Hairdryer and Rain shower head, 325sf.
Custom King
Custom Guestroom with one King Bed featuring a contemporary combination of leather, metal and unique illumination, highlighted by red accents from closet to bathroom. Amenities include: Complimentary basic Wi-Fi, MP3 Player 37 inch HDTV, Minibar, Laptop safe, Iron/ironing board, Robe, Hairdryer and Rain shower head, 325sf.
Pool View Room
Pool View Guestroom with one King Bed or two Double Beds overlooking our beautiful saltwater pool area. Featuring a contemporary combination of leather, metal and unique illumination, highlighted by red accents from closet to bathroom. Amenities include: Complimentary basic Wi-Fi, MP3 player, 37 inch HDTV, Minibar, Laptop safe, Iron/ironing board, Robe, Hairdryer and Rain shower head, 325sf.
Corner King
Corner Guestroom with one King Bed featuring a contemporary combination of leather, metal and unique illumination, highlighted by red accents from closet to bathroom. Amenities include: Complimentary basic Wi-Fi, MP3 player, 37 inch HDTV, Minibar, Laptop safe, Iron/ironing board, Robe, Hairdryer and Rain shower head, 365sf.
Poolside Room
Poolside Guestroom with one King Bed or Two Double Beds that opens directly to the beautiful saltwater pool area. Featuring a contemporary combination of leather, metal and unique illumination, highlighted by red accents from closet to bathroom. Amenities include: Complimentary basic Wi-Fi, MP3 player, 37 inch HDTV, Minibar, Laptop safe, Iron/ironing board, Robe, Hairdryer and Rain shower head, 325sf.
Signature King
Located on our Top Floor, King Guestroom featuring a contemporary combination of leather, metal and unique illumination, highlighted by red accents from closet to bathroom. Amenities include: Complimentary Basic Wi-Fi, 37 Inch Plasma high definition TV, in room mini bar, in room laptop safe, iron/ironing board and blow dryer, rain shower head. 250 sq. feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Oliver's Prime
Olivers Prime is a feast for the senses " mixing a contemporary vibrant dining experience with an atmosphere both alluring and intimate. Olivers presents innovative breakfast, lunch and dinner offerings both exquisite yet familiar in the comforting setting of leather, wood, metal and unique illumination. Seafood or steak? At Olivers Prime, you can choose the best of both. Add in world-class wines, handcrafted cocktails, and the best service in the city - and you'll see why Oliver's has already established itself as a must experience Sunset Strip dining destination. Reservations highly recommended.
Bar 20
Bar 20 features a varied bar menu and exclusive cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
24 Hour Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Grafton on Sunset

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 94
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sideshow27
Business
Los Angeles. CA
Nov 16, 2014

Great location

Location can't be beat. Relatively inexpensive for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Loves to Travel
Business
New York, New York
Nov 15, 2014

Good location, Great Pool, Noisy/Decent Rooms

I was traveling on my own and wanted to stay close to the action in West Hollywood. As for location, you can't beat this place. You can walk out the front door in either direction and go to the trends restaurants and bars and feel safe to do so. I went to The Church Key, House of Blues, Pink Taco. As for the hotel itself, when I checked in they had a band going in their bar area. I asked the man at the front desk for a quiet room and he said that there weren't many people in the hotel that night so everything would be quiet. So I was surprised when I was put in the first room on the same floor right down the hallway from checkin and the bar. (It seemed to me that if they weren't crowded and I asked for quiet, the first room off all the noise was a silly choice.) Anyway, I thought I'd be able to hear the band from the room but I was happy I couldn't. However, the walls are thin and I could hear every single person who walked down the hallway along with their conversation, which was quite annoying. Un/fortunately, the toilet in that room didn't flush so I had to call the front desk to ask for another room. The woman was very gracious and asked to call me back in 2 minutes so she could check on availability. She offered to put me in a pool room on the 1st floor. Talk about night and day. This room was much larger, much quieter and had a personal door that went outside to the pool area. It was a real treat and I'd advise anyone staying here to try for this. (Or even stay on the 1st floor even if you're not on the pool side as you'll still have easier access and quiet.) The hotel itself and the rooms (beds, carpet, furniture) are just older. It's fine but it doe not give you the same feel as a big chain hotel in any way. The beds (in both rooms I was in) were hard and not really the most comfortable but they have great, soft pillows which helped. Also, there's just a musty type smell in the hotel in general. It was in both rooms on the different floors I was in. It passes as you get used to it but despite their 'renovations', I'm not sure they're going to fix any of these things. But in the end, for location, I'd still recommend it. They also had free fruit flavored water and free coffee in the mornings on the 1st floor pool area. Finally, parking was high but that's par for the hotels on the strip. It's a lot but they were very quick in pulling up your car if you called before you left your room. Overall, I would consider staying here again if going to the area. One other suggestion I'd make for the hotel would be to give each person 1 or 2 free drink tickets with checkin for the bar. I think this 'added value' would go along way and also stir up business for their bar area, along with encourage a more fun environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great options are only a short walk from the hotel in either direction. The Church Key and Eveleigh to the left, House of Blues and Pink Taco to the right, and many more options each way. Try to make a reservations in advance for the trendy places as wait times are really long.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CasC
Business
UK
Nov 18, 2013

Enjoyed Grafton

Hi. This was a great place to stay. The pool was excellent and the room was really spacious. The only problems were no wifi and no breakfast. Otherwise great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
twin1965
Business
brookly new york
Jul 2, 2013

quick trip

The value was not good!! The hotel was just not friendly,the feel and environment.Just because it is low end,doesn't mean it has to be.At the location in hollywood,it should have been much better,will never stay again.I stayed across the street last year at the Andaz,for a hundred dollars more,but night and day in different service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jdhill22
Business
oregon
May 29, 2012

good but not great

Location was great the staff were friendly enough but for the price I felt everything was much too "average" I would have much preferred paying less money and staying in a hotel down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Evo diner east of grafton hotel on sunset has great food and tons of gluten free options available. Anyone looking for a gluten free place to eat this is the spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gimmeacleanroomforgodsake
Business
London, UK
Mar 6, 2012

BYO hairdryer and nose peg

From the moment I stepped foot in this place, I regretted booking it. It may be fine accommodation for smokers but for non-smokers, the joint stank to high heaven and I'm talking the non-smoking floor! Also, housekeeping starts it's round early so if you are not out of your room at 9am your room will not be serviced. The next round comes along late in the afternoon. Lastly, there are no hairdryers in the rooms so make sure you pack one. My friends stayed a few doors down at the Best Western. Comparing notes, they got way better value than I did. I really regret booking this God forsaken hole and usually, I'm easy pleased and this is my first ever negative review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pilates
Business
Palm Springs, CA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Convenient and quaint.

Friendly staff and very pleasant. Easy in and out place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz From Vegas
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 31, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location

I was in LA to visit schools and look at apartments. It was close to everything I needed, and I loved staying on the sunset strip it was a great vibe. The hotel was very modern, the room was a great size, comfortable clean bed, desk, flat screen TV, bathroom was clean and minus a few cosmetic flaws it was perfect. The decor in the room was interesting the artwork may not be extremely family friendly. I am a Las Vegas native so I am very picky about hotels and this is definitely a place I would stay again and recommend to others. The only negative thing was that you could hear a lot of outside noise from the other rooms and hallways so if you are a light sleeper this may not be the place for you. However, there was not any rowdy groups while I was there so the disturbance was minimal. Also, parking was $30 dollars a day - while I expect to pay for parking in LA when you are paying 200-300 a night for a room it seems a slightly excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Beverly Center is right down the street and not to far from the Grove shopping center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ma.
Jun 1, 2009

Hip hotel good location

If you want to be in the middle of late night action with people seeking the same than this is a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda
Dec 27, 2008

food location for me

The lighting was not good. Lamps were hard to turn on/off. The hotel was showing wear and tear and was almost shabby in certain areas. The whole room needed to be freshened up. The bath tub had some signs of rust. The reception area was often vacant. Coffee was not always replenished-there were no lids for cups. Door keys did not work well. Shower head made water pressure weak. The sink in the bathroom was too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top