$187 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Grafton on Sunset

3 stars
8462 West Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90069
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
89 reviews
WHAT A STAFF!!!

From checking in to departure this was one of the top experiences I have had concerning staff. Not... See full review

  • NorCalTravel
  • Oct 25, 2014
Small boutique hotel with amazing service!

The hotel was very nice. It's going through some renovations currently but it really didn't bother... See full review

  • Stepydoll
  • Jun 17, 2014
The Grafton on Sunset is located on the legendary Sunset Strip between Beverly Hills and West Hollywood. All rooms feature 37 Flat Screen Television, Ergonomic Workstation, Guest Bathrobes, Eco Friendly Bath Products and MP3 Docking Station. Our central location enables you to take advantage of the numerous music venues and tourist attractions that are sure to make your LA experience one to remember! West Hollywood can be a very fast paced city so be sure to take in some quiet time and soak up some Southern California sunshine at our Mediterranean garden and saltwater pool. Stroll the pedestrian-friendly strip and discover an abundance of trendy restaurants, bars, clubs and tourist attractions. Valet parking is $36.00 per vehicle plus tax per night. The hotel offers wireless internet access to all hotel guests with a fee of 9.95 plus tax.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grafton on Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grafton on Sunset Rooms

Standard Room
Stylish room featuring Feng Shui design. One King or Two Double Beds, 27" TV, VCR/DVD, CD Player, Video Library, Organic Bath Products and Daily Turn Down Service.
Deluxe Corner King Room
Our Deluxe Corner King hotel rooms in LA offer privacy along with delightful views of the glittering city below. Welcome to 340 square feet of stylized details built for total relaxation, comfort and indulgence in spacious West Hollywood fashion. Traditional Hollywood opulence marries contemporary sleek in these sensual Los Angeles hotel rooms. Deluxe Corner King Room Amenities: Italian linens, Feather top mattress, Organic & Eco-friendly bath products, Guest bathrobes, Spacious ergonomic writing desk, 37" LCD flat-screen plasma television, DVD & VCR, On-demand movies, CD stereo player, and an iPod docking station.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Oliver's Prime
Olivers Prime is a feast for the senses " mixing a contemporary vibrant dining experience with an atmosphere both alluring and intimate. Olivers presents innovative breakfast, lunch and dinner offerings both exquisite yet familiar in the comforting setting of leather, wood, metal and unique illumination. Seafood or steak? At Olivers Prime, you can choose the best of both. Add in world-class wines, handcrafted cocktails, and the best service in the city - and youll see why Olivers has already established itself as a must experience Sunset Strip dining destination. Reservations highly recommended.
Saddle Ranch Chop House
Now providing in room dining! Hours are: 11 AM to 2 AM Monday through Friday 9 AM to 2 AM Saturday and Sunday

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
24 Hour Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Grafton on Sunset

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rock McRockson
chicago
Jul 17, 2012

Killer location, nice 'n quiet, sweet pool

Went to Hollywood for some meetings and to play some rock songs. Wanted to be in West Hollywood, close to a lot of the places we needed to be. Totally lucked out with this place. Blocks from all the great bars, staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful. Nice salt-water pool and courtyard - very quiet. It was affordable and the ever-present coffee and iced tea made our mornings a little easier. I didn't bring my kids, but I wouldn't have any problems with this place if I did. Will definitely keep the Grafton on my list for trips to WeHo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Rock is right down the street and it has happy hour from 3-7 every day. Cheap food and drinks and great people watching. The waitrons are super cool. It became our home base.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julius Barco
Business
Laguna Beach, ca
Jan 16, 2012

not hotel quality

The Grafton should call itself a motel rather then a hotel and drop its prices by at least $100. A prime location does not warrent hotel status. Our room was cosmetically unapealing with visible carpet stains, wall stains, marks, hand prints etc. the bedding was more on par with a truck stop motel rather then a $248/nite hotel. However, the winning point occured when i used the toilet only to find out- after inital use-that it would not flush and overflow--classic! the valet service was efficient, but at $35/day, one can hope for something positive to mention about the Grafton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gimmeacleanroomforgodsake
Business
London, UK
Mar 6, 2012

BYO hairdryer and nose peg

From the moment I stepped foot in this place, I regretted booking it. It may be fine accommodation for smokers but for non-smokers, the joint stank to high heaven and I'm talking the non-smoking floor! Also, housekeeping starts it's round early so if you are not out of your room at 9am your room will not be serviced. The next round comes along late in the afternoon. Lastly, there are no hairdryers in the rooms so make sure you pack one. My friends stayed a few doors down at the Best Western. Comparing notes, they got way better value than I did. I really regret booking this God forsaken hole and usually, I'm easy pleased and this is my first ever negative review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Biloxi, Mississippi
Jul 19, 2012

Location is the only good thing.

First thing is the hotel messed up on the reservation, I had book two rooms and only one was avaliable. The staff outright contradicted themselves in explaining the situation and didn't offer a good solution. The room was just OK.... Nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christy H
Business
Alabama
Aug 9, 2012

5 night stay at Grafton

The front desk had no record of my reservation as I had to prove by my itenerary I had actually reserved my room. I was then showed to my room that was very dark and had a view of a brick retaining wall. All toiletries were bolted into the wall of the shower. When I checked out, I obliged to paying parking. I then was notified I had eaten/drank from my hotel supplies, which never happened. When I questioned the front desk about these charges, I was told I must pay the disputed amount if I wished to checkout. Not happy with this hotel and will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fricnchic
Business
Orange County, CA
May 10, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

The hotel is nice for its location, but room is small and smells like smoke (even though we asked for non-smoking room)! It also has a musty old smell from and older hotel that they've tried to masked w/newer decorations. Overall, staff were nice with exception of one! We were disappointed at the stupid shuttle service that supposedly offer for drop off within approx. 3 miles radius. We asked them to dropped us off at Vanguard which was 3.4 miles and the rude driver wouldn't even budge! He was SO rude and ridiculous! You can'taccommodate .4 miles?!! BAD SERVICE!!!! We will not stay at this hotel ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Frequent Visitor
Business
New York NY
Feb 28, 2011

Poor customer service

The Grafton Hotel is in a beautiful building on a popular street. The lobby is also inviting. That's when it begins to go downhill. When making the reservation I requested a non-smoking room. Upon check-in, I of course received a smoking room. Went back to exchange and they exchanged for a smaller room that had a queen size bed. No where on my reservation did it have that I would get a queen sized bed. [...] After further conversation I received another room that was small and cramped but I was too tired to complain further. On top of this, we valeted our car and on our last night there it was broken into and items were stolen from the car. Beautiful building and lobby but be prepared for a substandard room[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the main strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rescue, CA
Dec 30, 2009

Nice staff but not impressed

At first glance it seems like a great place. Very cute, very friendly staff, good location, it was one problem after another. Our room was very dirty and because i have kids, I didn't feel comfortable letting her take a bath in the tube, so I had to call and have it cleaned. Nothing worked right, the TV, the alarm clock was not set and could not be figured out, it was somewhat loud, and then on the last day they changed the water heater for the entire hotel and the water came out brown and was unusable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mel H
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

The location is great but...

The staff was polite but not very helpful. The restaurant was closed and they didnt bother to let us know. There was no room service! The room was clean, however, the bathroom smelled very moldy. The TV kept reseting itself. To sum it all up, we will not be staying here again. The hotel was pretty and the location is great but aside from that we will not be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FsuTara
Business
Florida
Apr 1, 2013

Didn't get the greatest room!

I am convinced when you book through a website besides their own, they give you the worst room. We were right next to the lobby/lounge area, and right next to a balcony that overlooks the pool that people can hang out at. This is def. a party hotel, so it is VERY loud!! I told them I was pregnant, so you would think they would find me a quieter room, and put the partiers in our room, but they said they were booked, and they couldn't accomadate me until the next day. We didn't want to keep bouncing around, so we just dealt with it. When we took showers that night, the bath tub didn't drain, so the water went up to our knees by the time I was done. This left the tub very dirty. The same thing happened with the sink, so the bathroom just felt dirty. We informed the people the day before we left about the tub/sink situation, and they were going to send in a worker while we were out, and we didn't feel comfortable with that. They just didn't seem like they wanted to make us happy. We didn't have a good experience at this hotel. It's a good location for the most part, and the room is a descent size, but we had a lot of other issues. We also didn't like that they didn't have any food or coffee to purchase at the hotel or a coffee make in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must try The Griddle for breakfast!!! The most amazing pancakes, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
twin1965
Business
brookly new york
Jul 2, 2013

quick trip

The value was not good!! The hotel was just not friendly,the feel and environment.Just because it is low end,doesn't mean it has to be.At the location in hollywood,it should have been much better,will never stay again.I stayed across the street last year at the Andaz,for a hundred dollars more,but night and day in different service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top