$187 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Grafton on Sunset

3 stars
8462 West Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90069
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
106 reviews
Small boutique hotel with amazing service!

The hotel was very nice. It's going through some renovations currently but it really didn't bother... See full review

  • Stepydoll
  • Jun 17, 2014
Satisfied

We stayed here because it was close to the house of blues and it was perfect. I got a poolside room... See full review

  • GoldenBoy and Jasmine
  • Jun 7, 2014
The Grafton on Sunset is located on the legendary Sunset Strip between Beverly Hills and West Hollywood. All rooms feature 37 Flat Screen Television, Ergonomic Workstation, Guest Bathrobes, Eco Friendly Bath Products and MP3 Docking Station. Our central location enables you to take advantage of the numerous music venues and tourist attractions that are sure to make your LA experience one to remember! West Hollywood can be a very fast paced city so be sure to take in some quiet time and soak up some Southern California sunshine at our Mediterranean garden and saltwater pool. Stroll the pedestrian-friendly strip and discover an abundance of trendy restaurants, bars, clubs and tourist attractions. Valet parking is $36.00 per vehicle plus tax per night. The hotel offers wireless internet access to all hotel guests with a fee of 9.95 plus tax.

Grafton on Sunset Rooms

Standard Room
Stylish room featuring Feng Shui design. One King or Two Double Beds, 27" TV, VCR/DVD, CD Player, Video Library, Organic Bath Products and Daily Turn Down Service.
Deluxe Corner King Room
Our Deluxe Corner King hotel rooms in LA offer privacy along with delightful views of the glittering city below. Welcome to 340 square feet of stylized details built for total relaxation, comfort and indulgence in spacious West Hollywood fashion. Traditional Hollywood opulence marries contemporary sleek in these sensual Los Angeles hotel rooms. Deluxe Corner King Room Amenities: Italian linens, Feather top mattress, Organic & Eco-friendly bath products, Guest bathrobes, Spacious ergonomic writing desk, 37" LCD flat-screen plasma television, DVD & VCR, On-demand movies, CD stereo player, and an iPod docking station.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grafton on Sunset also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0945 -118.3749
Area served
West Hollywood, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX)Los Angeles International Airport (BUR)Burbank Glendale Pasadena Airport
Area description
Near Restaurants, Night Clubs, House of Blues, The Comedy Store, and Sky Bar.

Dining

Oliver's Prime
Olivers Prime is a feast for the senses " mixing a contemporary vibrant dining experience with an atmosphere both alluring and intimate. Olivers presents innovative breakfast, lunch and dinner offerings both exquisite yet familiar in the comforting setting of leather, wood, metal and unique illumination. Seafood or steak? At Olivers Prime, you can choose the best of both. Add in world-class wines, handcrafted cocktails, and the best service in the city - and youll see why Olivers has already established itself as a must experience Sunset Strip dining destination. Reservations highly recommended.
Saddle Ranch Chop House
Now providing in room dining! Hours are: 11 AM to 2 AM Monday through Friday 9 AM to 2 AM Saturday and Sunday

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
24 Hour Business Center

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Grafton on Sunset

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rock McRockson
chicago
Jul 17, 2012

Killer location, nice 'n quiet, sweet pool

Went to Hollywood for some meetings and to play some rock songs. Wanted to be in West Hollywood, close to a lot of the places we needed to be. Totally lucked out with this place. Blocks from all the great bars, staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful. Nice salt-water pool and courtyard - very quiet. It was affordable and the ever-present coffee and iced tea made our mornings a little easier. I didn't bring my kids, but I wouldn't have any problems with this place if I did. Will definitely keep the Grafton on my list for trips to WeHo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Rock is right down the street and it has happy hour from 3-7 every day. Cheap food and drinks and great people watching. The waitrons are super cool. It became our home base.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Frequent Visitor
New York NY
Feb 28, 2011

Poor customer service

The Grafton Hotel is in a beautiful building on a popular street. The lobby is also inviting. That's when it begins to go downhill. When making the reservation I requested a non-smoking room. Upon check-in, I of course received a smoking room. Went back to exchange and they exchanged for a smaller room that had a queen size bed. No where on my reservation did it have that I would get a queen sized bed. [...] After further conversation I received another room that was small and cramped but I was too tired to complain further. On top of this, we valeted our car and on our last night there it was broken into and items were stolen from the car. Beautiful building and lobby but be prepared for a substandard room[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the main strip.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fricnchic
Orange County, CA
May 10, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

The hotel is nice for its location, but room is small and smells like smoke (even though we asked for non-smoking room)! It also has a musty old smell from and older hotel that they've tried to masked w/newer decorations. Overall, staff were nice with exception of one! We were disappointed at the stupid shuttle service that supposedly offer for drop off within approx. 3 miles radius. We asked them to dropped us off at Vanguard which was 3.4 miles and the rude driver wouldn't even budge! He was SO rude and ridiculous! You can'taccommodate .4 miles?!! BAD SERVICE!!!! We will not stay at this hotel ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rescue, CA
Dec 30, 2009

Nice staff but not impressed

At first glance it seems like a great place. Very cute, very friendly staff, good location, it was one problem after another. Our room was very dirty and because i have kids, I didn't feel comfortable letting her take a bath in the tube, so I had to call and have it cleaned. Nothing worked right, the TV, the alarm clock was not set and could not be figured out, it was somewhat loud, and then on the last day they changed the water heater for the entire hotel and the water came out brown and was unusable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Biloxi, Mississippi
Jul 19, 2012

Location is the only good thing.

First thing is the hotel messed up on the reservation, I had book two rooms and only one was avaliable. The staff outright contradicted themselves in explaining the situation and didn't offer a good solution. The room was just OK.... Nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gimmeacleanroomforgodsake
London, UK
Mar 6, 2012

BYO hairdryer and nose peg

From the moment I stepped foot in this place, I regretted booking it. It may be fine accommodation for smokers but for non-smokers, the joint stank to high heaven and I'm talking the non-smoking floor! Also, housekeeping starts it's round early so if you are not out of your room at 9am your room will not be serviced. The next round comes along late in the afternoon. Lastly, there are no hairdryers in the rooms so make sure you pack one. My friends stayed a few doors down at the Best Western. Comparing notes, they got way better value than I did. I really regret booking this God forsaken hole and usually, I'm easy pleased and this is my first ever negative review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Frequent Visitor
New York NY
Feb 28, 2011

Poor customer service

The Grafton Hotel is in a beautiful building on a popular street. The lobby is also inviting. That's when it begins to go downhill. When making the reservation I requested a non-smoking room. Upon check-in, I of course received a smoking room. Went back to exchange and they exchanged for a smaller room that had a queen size bed. No where on my reservation did it have that I would get a queen sized bed. [...] After further conversation I received another room that was small and cramped but I was too tired to complain further. On top of this, we valeted our car and on our last night there it was broken into and items were stolen from the car. Beautiful building and lobby but be prepared for a substandard room[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the main strip.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christy H
Business
Alabama
Aug 9, 2012

5 night stay at Grafton

The front desk had no record of my reservation as I had to prove by my itenerary I had actually reserved my room. I was then showed to my room that was very dark and had a view of a brick retaining wall. All toiletries were bolted into the wall of the shower. When I checked out, I obliged to paying parking. I then was notified I had eaten/drank from my hotel supplies, which never happened. When I questioned the front desk about these charges, I was told I must pay the disputed amount if I wished to checkout. Not happy with this hotel and will not be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julius Barco
Laguna Beach, ca
Jan 16, 2012

not hotel quality

The Grafton should call itself a motel rather then a hotel and drop its prices by at least $100. A prime location does not warrent hotel status. Our room was cosmetically unapealing with visible carpet stains, wall stains, marks, hand prints etc. the bedding was more on par with a truck stop motel rather then a $248/nite hotel. However, the winning point occured when i used the toilet only to find out- after inital use-that it would not flush and overflow--classic! the valet service was efficient, but at $35/day, one can hope for something positive to mention about the Grafton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fricnchic
Orange County, CA
May 10, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

The hotel is nice for its location, but room is small and smells like smoke (even though we asked for non-smoking room)! It also has a musty old smell from and older hotel that they've tried to masked w/newer decorations. Overall, staff were nice with exception of one! We were disappointed at the stupid shuttle service that supposedly offer for drop off within approx. 3 miles radius. We asked them to dropped us off at Vanguard which was 3.4 miles and the rude driver wouldn't even budge! He was SO rude and ridiculous! You can'taccommodate .4 miles?!! BAD SERVICE!!!! We will not stay at this hotel ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rescue, CA
Dec 30, 2009

Nice staff but not impressed

At first glance it seems like a great place. Very cute, very friendly staff, good location, it was one problem after another. Our room was very dirty and because i have kids, I didn't feel comfortable letting her take a bath in the tube, so I had to call and have it cleaned. Nothing worked right, the TV, the alarm clock was not set and could not be figured out, it was somewhat loud, and then on the last day they changed the water heater for the entire hotel and the water came out brown and was unusable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top