$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Grafton on Sunset

4 stars
View map of 8462 West Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90069

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grafton on Sunset

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Loves to Travel
Business
New York, New York
Nov 15, 2014

Good location, Great Pool, Noisy/Decent Rooms

I was traveling on my own and wanted to stay close to the action in West Hollywood. As for location, you can't beat this place. You can walk out the front door in either direction and go to the trends restaurants and bars and feel safe to do so. I went to The Church Key, House of Blues, Pink Taco. As for the hotel itself, when I checked in they had a band going in their bar area. I asked the man at the front desk for a quiet room and he said that there weren't many people in the hotel that night so everything would be quiet. So I was surprised when I was put in the first room on the same floor right down the hallway from checkin and the bar. (It seemed to me that if they weren't crowded and I asked for quiet, the first room off all the noise was a silly choice.) Anyway, I thought I'd be able to hear the band from the room but I was happy I couldn't. However, the walls are thin and I could hear every single person who walked down the hallway along with their conversation, which was quite annoying. Un/fortunately, the toilet in that room didn't flush so I had to call the front desk to ask for another room. The woman was very gracious and asked to call me back in 2 minutes so she could check on availability. She offered to put me in a pool room on the 1st floor. Talk about night and day. This room was much larger, much quieter and had a personal door that went outside to the pool area. It was a real treat and I'd advise anyone staying here to try for this. (Or even stay on the 1st floor even if you're not on the pool side as you'll still have easier access and quiet.) The hotel itself and the rooms (beds, carpet, furniture) are just older. It's fine but it doe not give you the same feel as a big chain hotel in any way. The beds (in both rooms I was in) were hard and not really the most comfortable but they have great, soft pillows which helped. Also, there's just a musty type smell in the hotel in general. It was in both rooms on the different floors I was in. It passes as you get used to it but despite their 'renovations', I'm not sure they're going to fix any of these things. But in the end, for location, I'd still recommend it. They also had free fruit flavored water and free coffee in the mornings on the 1st floor pool area. Finally, parking was high but that's par for the hotels on the strip. It's a lot but they were very quick in pulling up your car if you called before you left your room. Overall, I would consider staying here again if going to the area. One other suggestion I'd make for the hotel would be to give each person 1 or 2 free drink tickets with checkin for the bar. I think this 'added value' would go along way and also stir up business for their bar area, along with encourage a more fun environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great options are only a short walk from the hotel in either direction. The Church Key and Eveleigh to the left, House of Blues and Pink Taco to the right, and many more options each way. Try to make a reservations in advance for the trendy places as wait times are really long.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JTup
Business
Hilton Head Island
Nov 13, 2014

Better available for the price.

Parking over priced. Room had strange musty smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NorCalTravel
Business
Northern Calif
Oct 25, 2014

WHAT A STAFF!!!

From checking in to departure this was one of the top experiences I have had concerning staff. Not only were they polite, helpful and made you feel welcome, they actually appeared to enjoy their job. The location is wonderful and the pool is the best! There are restaurants in the area, but a 4 minute cab ride to Wilshire Blvd, and you have lots to choose from. A definite repeat stay hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues - 1/2 block away..can't ask for more.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyn3
Business
Dallas, GA
Sep 19, 2014

Great Location to Hollywood

Staff was very helpful. There is a free shuttle to Hollywood area, but does not pick you up. Beds were comfortable. Parking at the hotel was overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Chinese Theater and downtown Hollywood.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Her personal travel agent
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 7, 2014

Great Location!

Normally when I visit LA I stay in Burbank. It was a treat to stay in the middle of it all and enjoy the surroundings of the area. We would've enjoyed a microwave even in a common area but that's only because we are vegetarians and usually travel with our food. Nevertheless this didn't take away from our stay. It was still great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mavis801
Business
Swansea, UK
Aug 11, 2014

Great hotel...

Good hotel, ideal location for a bit of sightseeing, a short bus ride to hollywood in ine direction, and Santa Monica beach in the other!! Comedy store and house of blues a minute down the road! A cvs and 7-11 down the hill for supplies! The pool is good and the gym facilities were great. Tea and coffee available near the lift too which was a nice bonus. We had a double room, which was a bit small but there's so much to see and do, the room did not need to be big and spacious. We had a great deal which was around 300 pounds cheaper that other listed prices which I was very happy about, paying the top price would have been unsatisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Comedy store opposite has a happy hour in the afternoon 4-7 with half price drinks!!

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mall shopper
Business
Stevens Point, WI
Aug 11, 2014

Trendy, not for everyone....

Was somewhat enjoyable, room floor dirty and sheets one one of the beds had stain so we had to have someone come and change. Bathroom is very small. Beds seem like full size not queen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanDiegoDel
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 1, 2014

Great location and decent value.

I've stayed at the Grafton a few times, and I love the location. They are renovating, so it will be an even better hotel. The rooms can be a little small at times, but you can't beat the location. The beds are a little hard for my taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Centrally located

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCamD
Business
San Francisco
Jul 31, 2014

WeHo Stay

Trendy hotel. Nice pool. Easy walk to restaurants. Area a little seedy but it's L.A. after all. Lots of construction happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mels Diner for big American style breakfast.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Messd Up the Entertainer
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 28, 2014

A night on the town

I had to do a show at the House of Blues and the Grafton was just a couple of minute walking distance. The bed was really comfortable, the decor was modern, and the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Griddles for the best flapjacks you ever had it is about a 15 to 20 minute walk or a 3 minute car ride.

Back to menu Return to top