$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Grafton on Sunset

4 stars
View map of 8462 West Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90069

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grafton on Sunset

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DEREK P.
Couples
Vandalia
Dec 29, 2014

Long weekend

My wife and I went to L.A. for a long weekend trip and stayed at the Grafton for the first time. The location was great, just down from the Sunset Strip and central to everything we wanted to do. Rooms were clean and well kept. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DEREK P.
Couples
Vandalia
Dec 16, 2014

Long weekend

My wife and I went to L.A. for a long weekend trip and stayed at the Grafton for the first time. The location was great, just down from the Sunset Strip and central to everything we wanted to do. Rooms were clean and well kept. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ahsirti
Business
Brick, NJ
Dec 8, 2014

Really nice place with a fantastic Resturant

Although my stay was brief, I was very comfortable, the rooms are clean, the restaurant was terrific. the staff was great very accommodating. I would def stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
time to relax
Couples
Thousand Oaks, Ca
Nov 23, 2014

Great boutique hotel

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. the restaurant, Oliver's Prime, is amazing. The beds are very comfortable. Pool area is nice and pool is heated. Great location on Sunset Blvd across from the Comedy Store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Highly recommend Oliver's Prime for dinner.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McClory's
Family
Kent, UK
Nov 22, 2014

Fantastic central Hotel

Staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. Hotel is really well situated and the bar and restaurant are fabulous! Could not have wished for a better place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sideshow27
Single
Los Angeles. CA
Nov 16, 2014

Great location

Location can't be beat. Relatively inexpensive for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Loves to Travel
Single
New York, New York
Nov 15, 2014

Good location, Great Pool, Noisy/Decent Rooms

I was traveling on my own and wanted to stay close to the action in West Hollywood. As for location, you can't beat this place. You can walk out the front door in either direction and go to the trends restaurants and bars and feel safe to do so. I went to The Church Key, House of Blues, Pink Taco. As for the hotel itself, when I checked in they had a band going in their bar area. I asked the man at the front desk for a quiet room and he said that there weren't many people in the hotel that night so everything would be quiet. So I was surprised when I was put in the first room on the same floor right down the hallway from checkin and the bar. (It seemed to me that if they weren't crowded and I asked for quiet, the first room off all the noise was a silly choice.) Anyway, I thought I'd be able to hear the band from the room but I was happy I couldn't. However, the walls are thin and I could hear every single person who walked down the hallway along with their conversation, which was quite annoying. Un/fortunately, the toilet in that room didn't flush so I had to call the front desk to ask for another room. The woman was very gracious and asked to call me back in 2 minutes so she could check on availability. She offered to put me in a pool room on the 1st floor. Talk about night and day. This room was much larger, much quieter and had a personal door that went outside to the pool area. It was a real treat and I'd advise anyone staying here to try for this. (Or even stay on the 1st floor even if you're not on the pool side as you'll still have easier access and quiet.) The hotel itself and the rooms (beds, carpet, furniture) are just older. It's fine but it doe not give you the same feel as a big chain hotel in any way. The beds (in both rooms I was in) were hard and not really the most comfortable but they have great, soft pillows which helped. Also, there's just a musty type smell in the hotel in general. It was in both rooms on the different floors I was in. It passes as you get used to it but despite their 'renovations', I'm not sure they're going to fix any of these things. But in the end, for location, I'd still recommend it. They also had free fruit flavored water and free coffee in the mornings on the 1st floor pool area. Finally, parking was high but that's par for the hotels on the strip. It's a lot but they were very quick in pulling up your car if you called before you left your room. Overall, I would consider staying here again if going to the area. One other suggestion I'd make for the hotel would be to give each person 1 or 2 free drink tickets with checkin for the bar. I think this 'added value' would go along way and also stir up business for their bar area, along with encourage a more fun environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great options are only a short walk from the hotel in either direction. The Church Key and Eveleigh to the left, House of Blues and Pink Taco to the right, and many more options each way. Try to make a reservations in advance for the trendy places as wait times are really long.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JTup
Family
Hilton Head Island
Nov 13, 2014

Better available for the price.

Parking over priced. Room had strange musty smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NorCalTravel
Family
Northern Calif
Oct 25, 2014

WHAT A STAFF!!!

From checking in to departure this was one of the top experiences I have had concerning staff. Not only were they polite, helpful and made you feel welcome, they actually appeared to enjoy their job. The location is wonderful and the pool is the best! There are restaurants in the area, but a 4 minute cab ride to Wilshire Blvd, and you have lots to choose from. A definite repeat stay hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues - 1/2 block away..can't ask for more.

Review of Grafton on Sunset

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyn3
Friends
Dallas, GA
Sep 19, 2014

Great Location to Hollywood

Staff was very helpful. There is a free shuttle to Hollywood area, but does not pick you up. Beds were comfortable. Parking at the hotel was overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Chinese Theater and downtown Hollywood.

Back to menu Return to top