$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Motel 6 Ventura South

1 star
View map of 3075 Johnson Dr, US 101 at Johnson Drive, Ventura, CA 93003

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
19 reviews
Nice for the price

Elevator smelled of uring. New, gorgeous beds. Shower terrific. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 15, 2007
Nice place for the price

Quite a decent value--polite and helpful staff, rooms reasonably clean, parking lot patrolled at... See full review

  • Piper guy and gal
  • Oct 11, 2010
Motel 6 Ventura South is located within walking distance to area dining. Play golf only 4 miles. Enjoy Ventura Harbor or the beach, within 6 miles. Relax in our outdoor pool and hot tub. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms for a small fee.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Ventura South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Motel 6 Ventura South Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Carls Jr
Walking distance
Busters BBQ
0.3 mile
Cold Stone Creamery
0.3 mile
Dominos Pizza
0.3 mile
Dons Gyro Grill
0.3 mile
El Taco Cafe
0.3 mile
Fortune Cooky
0.3 mile
Subway Sandwiches and Salads
0.3 mile
Taqueria La Hermita
0.3 mile
Cronies Sports Grill
0.4 mile

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Ventura South

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DragonC
Business
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Oct 13, 2014

The place is a little cheaper than its price and pictures shown online

A Motel 6 that tries to be more stylish and modern. Actually good job on decor and cleanness. Also the location is pretty good. The only thing preventing me from giving 5 starts is that this motel is located IN freeway's interchange system, so the in-and-out of hotel and freeway can somehow confusing and unforgiving. About the hotel itself, it's typical place to come in when you are ready to hit the bed, and leave when you are up. TV, pool and laundry are the only on-site amenity (no dining or even coffee), but good TV programs and nice pool. Another uncommonly nice thing is that this motel has many, many stairs. You can find a stairway closeby no matter which room you stay. 2 concerns on this motel - First I found the towels are not clean. They are washed but with some stains on. A downer compared to the clean-and-modern decor they have in the room. The other concern is it seems to be not very safe. During my both stops at the front desk, there were other guests reporting someone leaving unclear substances on their vehicle and reporting an attended vehicle with door and trunk suspiciously open (at the location or duration beyond a typical loading, I guess). Nevertheless, this is the cheapest place to find when other places are booked. Just keep an eye on the surroundings I believe that would be fine. The field next door with animal calling in the morning is an interesting addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some shopping/dining compounds just one exit south alone 101 freeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mekk
Business
San Deigo
Sep 10, 2014

Good for price

The rooms were updated and very clean. We specifically wanted a pool AND hot tub, and it had both. Coffee in the lobby in the morning also a plus, since I couldn't find a coffee shop within walking distance. My only complaint is that I think this may be a seedy part of town.(I'm not familiar with Ventura). The place was crawling with cops checking something out, and there were a few shady looking guests, but overall I didn't feel unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super mom 3
Business
Camarillo, California
Aug 17, 2014

Family getaway

It was a nice get away with my kids but weekends sure are expensive. We didn't have enough towels in the room for the 3 of us as stated during reservation. I found a maid in the morning for more towels but other then that it was a ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mariee113
Business
Hesperia, Ca
Jul 28, 2014

Budget friendly

Hotel room was recently updated,modern nice and clean. Staff could have been a little more friendly. Not enough towel or other amenties. But area was nice close to food and shopping. Overall i would recommend and return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Together again and again
Business
Ventura California
Jun 15, 2014

Close to everything

Room is small but clean, lots of privacy. It's local and serve its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Collection shopping center just across the river.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jenn0421
Business
Bakersfield
May 19, 2014

Most horrible experience ever!

I would not recommend this hotel even to my worst enemy. The staff was sooo rude. My daughter asked the receptionist if they had a restroom and she snapped at her telling her just go in your room. The carpet was filthy. Phone didnt work. Ice machine was broken. Constrution stuff everywhere. Bugs in the shower. Room smelled like mold. I was worried about my car being broken into all night because there were people loitering outside. The worst hotel experience ever by far! I would have stayed somewhere else but everything was booked due to a strawberry festival. Only good thing about this place is the location. Very easy to find. I would rather sleep in my car than to stay here again. Didnt feel safe at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Surfcp
Business
Ventura
Jan 25, 2014

For budget reasons only

Not good for family with kids. Strange people came out at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vntge56
Business
Monrovia, Ca
Oct 1, 2013

Never again.

We went to a show at the Ventura County FAir grounds and all the other Hotels were sold out since I waited last minute. Never again. Okay I know its a Motel 6 but I still paid like 90. for a night. They need to put some money back into their rooms. The Non Smoking room was so stinky like smoke and just old everything. The T.V. was super small and the old kind. The AC was loud. At Night it was pretty loud outside too. The scariest part was at night when my husband and I got back from a late dinner and drinks. We were sitting in the car talking for a minute when this Biker guy comes and leans in my window. He was like is this your girl? She is beautiful and we biker guys dig her style! I look and there is a whole bike gang parked around the corner. OMG I was so scared. My husband said that's my wife and thank you very much. I forgot what other words they exchanged and my husband shook his hand and he left. At first I thought he was a security which they clearly need. I will NEVER ever stay at a Motel6 again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lgbdanny
Business
Ventura
Sep 9, 2013

a/c not working

Other than the door almost being impossible to shut and the undermaintenanced of the a/c, I didn't necessarily receive what I paid for when it really comes down to it. Didn't even have the costeous shampoo or conditioner. No convenience was met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego Ca.
Aug 7, 2012

Not worth the price.

When I first arrived the man at the front desk was very rude. There were screaming kids running around all over the place. The room smelled like cigarettes though we asked for NON SMOKING! The room next to me all you heard we're crying babies and people screaming. Early the next morning I heard kids running up and down the hotel and screaming banging on doors. The hotel looked like the only service it gets are from the local hookers. There we're people coming and going looked like a drug hotel. It didn't look or feel very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top