$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

3 stars
298 South Chestnut Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
53 reviews
Enjoyed our stay!

The hotel room was very clean. The air conditioner worked well it was a little warm here in Ventura... See full review

  • SuePoo
  • Apr 25, 2014
better than expected

Great value. Nice staff, room and breakfast. Very convenient location. See full review

  • stubb
  • Mar 17, 2014
Stay in the heart of Ventura next to the beach and pier

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ventura is a convenient stopover on the famous Hwy 101 California coastal drive and one of the most centrally located value destinations within Ventura. This hotel boasts a beach backdrop yet it is within a few blocks of the freeway, fairgrounds, downtown and Amtrak station. Walk on a pedestrian overpass to surf breaks in minutes. Business-friendly services include free Wi-Fi and a business center. Golf courses and shopping destination Camarillo, CA are within a short drive.

Highlights

  • Prime Ventura location 2 blocks to beach
  • Complimentary hot breakfast with waffles, plus happy hour drinks and 24/7 coffee, all served daily
  • Heated outdoor pool and a footbridge that leads to the beach
  • Free parking
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ventura offers three types of roomy, country-style accommodations across 120 units, including standard rooms, fireplace rooms and suites with kitchenettes and separated bedrooms. Some rooms have views of Ventura Pier. Every unit has a microwave, mini-refrigerator and free high-speed wired or wireless Internet access. 

Features

Grab a book from the in-house guest library and take the footbridge overpass from Country Inn & Suites to reach the sand at Ventura beach in minutes. There, grab a surfboard, rent bikes or simply soak in the California sun. Back at the hotel, enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi on site. Guests also receive complimentary access to a full-scale gym four blocks away. On-site coin-operated Laundromat and same day dry cleaning service are available.

Dining

Start the day with eggs and bacon at the Country Inn & Suites complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Enjoy the sunset with a free happy hour drink, also served daily. Room service is available during dinner hours from a nearby restaurant. Ventura's most popular beachfront cafes and pubs are within walking distance including Eric Ericsson's Fish Company on the pier. 

Transportation

  • Ventura Amtrak Station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Oxnard Airport (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
  • Burbank Airport (61.9 mi/99.6 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (68.5 mi/110 km)

Attractions

  • Main Street (2 blocks)
  • Ventura Pier and beach (2 blocks)
  • San Buena Ventura Mission (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Ventura County Fairgrounds (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Santa Barbara, CA (27.7 mi/44.6 km)

Business

  • Business center with computers, copying and faxing
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ventura
  • A/V-equipped meeting room with seating for up to 50

Hotel Map

34.2775 -119.2905
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
OXNARD VENTURA ARPT, (OXR), 8.00, MI, S; LOS ANGELES INTL, (LAX), 62.00, MI, S; BURBANK GLENDALE PASADENA ARPT, (BUR), 80.00, MI, S;
Area description
Beach, This hotel is located near the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Busy Bee Cafe
4 Blocks -5 minutes
Breakfast Room
Located in Lobby Managers reception from 5:00-7:00pm nightly.
Erik Ericssons
2 Blocks Located on the Pier.
The Sportsman
3 Blocks -5 Minutes -North Dress Code: Casual to Formal

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mars Bars
Business
Ventura,California
Jan 2, 2014

Great place to bring in the New Years!

Great place to bring in the New Years! Clean room and great location to go downtown or to the Taco Shop at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mattminsb
Business
Santa Barbara
Jan 1, 2014

Went to a concert at the Ventura theatre

We went to a concert and stayed at this hotel. It's only a few blocks walk to the hotel, downtown and the beach. Hotel staff was very friendly and free happy hour and breakfast were extraordinary! Big thumbs up, can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close walk to the Ventura theatre

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stubb
Business
walnut, ca
Mar 17, 2014

better than expected

Great value. Nice staff, room and breakfast. Very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Main street two blocks away. Plenty of restaurants, bars and shops in a very pleasant environment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuePoo
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Apr 25, 2014

Enjoyed our stay!

The hotel room was very clean. The air conditioner worked well it was a little warm here in Ventura while we were vacationing. The happy hour was really nice. They have very good popcorn, chips and salsa(salsa was excellent). The happy hour hostess was very kind and kept the appetizers supplies full. They have beer, wine and sodas to drink. The breakfast was wonderful we were very happy with all the food. The only problem with our stay was there were many young people there for a tennis tournament of some sort and they were very noisy but quieted down around 11:00 PM. Pool and spa were very clean and the spa was very relaxing. We enjoyed our stay at the Country Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Vagabond Cafe has the best food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is always very good and the service is good as well. We have always been very happy with everything we have ordered.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Oct 5, 2009

California

IT was a great hotel. Eveything was lovely, and the room was better than expected. Very clean and over sized room. The only thing was a bit noisy since it's right over the 101 freeway. But was low enought at night to sleep with out ear plugs :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jayne the Surfer
Business
Santa Clarita
Mar 7, 2013

Surfing vacation

Enjoyed jacuzzi, breakfast, and wifi internet. Most of all, there was enough room for my surfboard for safety. Plus, microwave, coffee maker and fridge in the room for our convenience. Also, the walking distance is very close to beach and restaurants. Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lovin' Ventura Getaway
Business
Bakersfield, Ca.
Jun 12, 2013

Great escape

An extremly great value with clean rooms, comfy beds, nice staff, perfect location for shopping, beaches and dining. The continental breakfast was incredible!!!!! The selection was vast & the food was delicious. Everything was fresh and beautifully presented. We would highly recommend this little gem in the heart of beautiful Ventura.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vntge56
Business
Monrovia, Ca
Oct 1, 2013

Loved this place

We got a room on the 3rd floor with a nice view of the pool and overlooking the ocean. The pool was a little small but it was not crowded. The free happy hour was nice since they gave us plastic cups we could take our drinks to the pool which was right next to it. The Breakfast in the morning was Yummy. They have 2 cooks making the hash browns and eggs to your liking..Loved it! The Room was nice and super comfy.We took a nice walk at night and it felt safe. There is lots of places to eat, walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redladibug
Business
Ontario, Ca
Jun 17, 2009

Very nice hotel, location and staff

We stayed at the hotel while we were attending our Daughters graduation. It was located in a nice spot where we could get off and on the fwy. Nothing was missing and what was great is that we ran into a friend that we hadn't seen in 4yrs and the great thing about it was that her room was right next door to ours. We've stayed a lots of hotels and this was just as nice as the others. I especially liked the continental breakfast which was more than we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura, CA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Apr 14, 2010

An excelent motel at a great price.

[...] Third night free so my three nights cost an average of c. $75, including a great breakfast. Large room, well furnished, clean, comfortable, and with a good staff. My only complaint was that my room, on the seaward side, faced a railroad track, a busy street, and Highway 101. Which is why I carry ear plugs on a trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Ventura in mid-April was uncomfortably cold. Take layers to add if you are cold. If it is warm that time of year, you are lucky.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top