Clocktower Inn

3 stars
185 East Santa Clara Street, Ventura, CA 93001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
18 reviews
Great Place

Love this hotel. I have stayed there at least 3 other times and I would certainly recommend it to... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 29, 2007
Great Place

Love this hotel. I have stayed there at least 3 other times and I would certainly recommend it to... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 29, 2007
The Clocktower Inn Hotel, Ventura, California, with its easy grace and rustic simplicity, has evolved; perfectly suited to Southern California hospitality. The hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Ventura in a beautiful park setting, the Inn is adjacent to Mission San Buenaventura and the Historical Museum. The State Beach, restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and County Fairgrounds are all within easy walking distance. The temperate year-round climate allows plenty of time to take advantage of local attractions. Come share the tradition of warmth and hospitality that is as distinctive as the clocktower.

Clocktower Inn Rooms

Deluxe Room
Room with queen bed include carved headboards, desks, leather chairs and armoires which conceal the color television with FREE HBO, ESPN, CNN and radio, in addition to high speed internet access, well-appointed baths provide a tub/shower, tiled counters, large mirrors and special toiletries for your convenience.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include carved headboards, desks, leather chairs and armoires which conceal the color television with FREE HBO, ESPN, CNN and radio, in addition to high speed internet access, well-appointed baths provide a tub/shower, tiled counters, large mirrors and special toiletries for your convenience.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clocktower Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.2798 -119.2981
Area served
Ventura.
Nearby airports
Los Angeles Airport (LAX), Oxnard Airport (OXR).
Area description
Downtown Ventura - adjacent, San Buena Ventura Mission - adjacent, Ventura County of Museum of History and Art - 2 blocks, Ocean - 2.5 blocks, San Buena Ventura State Beach Park - 2.5 blocks, Ventura Harbor - 3.5 miles.

Dining

Zoeys Restaurant
From the moment you enter the beautiful courtyard you sense you're in a very special place. We're not just your run of the mill caf. Zoey's is a warm and charming family owned restaurant and entertainment venue. We offer fresh salads, original sandwiches and a unique selection of pizzas. Also on hand imported beers, fine wine and delicious cocktails. Zoey's is one of Ventura's favorite eateries and the best venue to hear the best music in Ventura County. Zoey's has the reputation as being a singer songwriter's haven. A true "listening" room in every sense of the word! Please come and enjoy Downtown Ventura! We're committed to making your Zoey's experience fun and memorable.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Clocktower Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eating Nachos
LA, CA
Sep 4, 2013

LIkes my Ventura

Had a nice, quiet and clean smelling room. Just what the doctor ordered. Love the proximity to the old downtown and the beach. You just need to know which way to walk, or you'll have to step over the bums. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kateeeeee
Huntington Beach, Ca
Aug 26, 2013

Blehhhh

Well this place seams pretty quaint unill you get to the room. The door was creaky and got stuck when you try to open or close it. The room was tiny with very old and outdated styles for the bathroom and room. The bed was very hard and my boyfriend and I both got spider bites throughout the night. It was just very outdated and needs a few upgrades, overall it was just much nicer to spend the extra $50 and stay is the nice hotels in Santa Barbara!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sddogg
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 26, 2013

Decent stay in downtown Ventura

When we got in, we were informed that our room wasn't ready, even though it was 4 PM, so they upgraded us to a very nice room with a balcony and fireplace. It was comfortable but a bit antiquated, including a bathtub that dripped all night. The grounds of the hotel were nice, and there was a pretty decent free breakfast that I wasn't expecting. The staff was extremely courteous. However, there was no wifi in the rooms, a big no-no for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TLC out of towner
Diamond Bar Ca
Jul 30, 2013

great location but lacking in room upkeep

the hotel is in a great location and the staff is very helpful, however the rooms are tired looking and just average, We upgraded to a room with two queen beds, but when we got into the room, the side wall in a 2 foot/by 2 foot area was covered in a black mold. we alerted the staff and they gave us our original room back. they were very apologetic, etc. The new room was very average, but had a fireplace. The curtains were on rings that pulled across the windows, many of them were missing and when you pulled them across the window you could not fully cover it. The bed was not a queen, more like a full, and had no mattress pad on the bed. The sheet (flat sheet) was not large enough to go under the mattress so you would be directly on the mattress if the sheet moved. The bathroom was clean and the shower fine. The location is great to walk around and close to the mission etc,. That is the plus, the negative was the mold issue ,the bedding and upkeep of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catptain lettuce
San Fransisco
Apr 6, 2013

Don't get ripped off like I did...

The people at the hotel had to see this one coming. I booked a "upgraded balcony room with fireplace" online at $110/night, checked in, and all was good, kind of. As I made my way through the hotel to the room, the first red flag was the old refrigerators, plywood and other materials stacked in dissaray at the base of the stairs. Ok, still not terrible. Then I realized there were no towels or soap in our bathroom. Still, just ok.. The front desk girl was on it when we asked for towels. Then the bed, old mattress, my wife was afraid to sleep without clothes for fear of bugs, yeah it was bad. Pillows were thin, woke up with the most painful neck I've ever had. On top of the trashy appearance the hotel had, the lack of room service and the terrible bed, we woke up to some guy with a leaf blower outside our room at 7am. Not to mention the guy was blowing the leaves into the "hot tub" outside our room that didnt work. Yeah, that was a joke, the hot tub was a leaf receptical, and no, it didn't work either. Then it was the maid at 730. Then more noise that we came to find out was a family of 5, whom were employees of the inn, living in the room across from us. LIVING in the room. Enough was enough with this hotel. We left and wanted to check out early, and obviously get a different hotel and our money, what little I knew I might get if any, but the (exploit) manager denied my request stating "I cannot refund you for early checkout because you booked through our online booking company, this is why you got such a low rate." OK I get that. But, thats where I draw the line. While i was looking at other hotel rates to try and switch, I saw the Clocktower was $80 that night and they charged me $110! Right there, to the guys face- I proved they were ripping me off! I asked for the bill to the room, and I was denied again. This time he said "I cannot show you the bill as you will be able to see our profit margin on what you paid for." I JUST SHOWED YOU YOU'RE MAKING $30 a night off me!!! Seriously, everyone reading this- Clocktower inn is a failing business ran by scammers that will not hesitate to rip you off to keep their business, aka "employee housing" afloat. We never left a single thing of value in our room and were glad we stashed our stuff in the car while we were gone. Shame on you Clocktower Inn, yours is a terrible business and I'll never ever ever be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The so-called healthy breakfast? Eggo waffles, fake eggs, terrible coffee, mini bagels (like the kind you buy at the grocery store) a 1/2" of Oj in a 2gallon container. It's a scam, there is no "healthy breakfast".

Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StarGenes
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Two star at best

Needs updating and cleaning. Curtains fall off rods, room and hall not vacuumed, Windows don't seal. Noisy. Keycard machine did not work so clerk had to unlock room every time we wanted back in our room. Had to park down the street because nightclub took over parking in evening. Hotel smelled. Could be nice if owners reinvested and did an major upkeep, but place is rundown. Location is nice. Has been recently repainted inside and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Feb 2, 2011

Not What it Was

Have stayed here several times and up until this visit things were agreeable enough. Had a couple of issues this time. One was over my dog, which they said was ok, with a "deposit". When I went to check out they decided it was a fee. I had two days prior asked if when they said deposit they meant deposit and not fee. They said it would be returned if no damage. This is a well traveled animal and not at all destructive. The rather officious gentleman behind the counter argued with me. I forced him to inspect the room. He came back and threw the deposit on the counter. I told him that apart from the that the room was not well cleaned prior to my visit. A used wash rag on the shower curtain rod, a peanut on the sofa , tooth paste smeared on the bedroom wall and various fluids and finger prints on the walls. The place is getting a bit shabby; am sure; it was wonderful in 1983 or so. Oh the shower water was luke warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is good as it's across from the Mission and an easy walk to local dining, coffee shops, shopping etc. There do seem to be more homeless around which for suburban sorts is a shock.

Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Feb 2, 2011

Not What it Was

Have stayed here several times and up until this visit things were agreeable enough. Had a couple of issues this time. One was over my dog, which they said was ok, with a "deposit". When I went to check out they decided it was a fee. I had two days prior asked if when they said deposit they meant deposit and not fee. They said it would be returned if no damage. This is a well traveled animal and not at all destructive. The rather officious gentleman behind the counter argued with me. I forced him to inspect the room. He came back and threw the deposit on the counter. I told him that apart from the that the room was not well cleaned prior to my visit. A used wash rag on the shower curtain rod, a peanut on the sofa , tooth paste smeared on the bedroom wall and various fluids and finger prints on the walls. The place is getting a bit shabby; am sure; it was wonderful in 1983 or so. Oh the shower water was luke warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is good as it's across from the Mission and an easy walk to local dining, coffee shops, shopping etc. There do seem to be more homeless around which for suburban sorts is a shock.

Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shawn Sanders
Riverside Ca
Oct 12, 2010

Worst Hotel Ever

The Clock tower is an older hotel, adjacent to a park with homeless people. The rooms were small, not what was pictured. We found a mouse running out patio door. Shower leaked onto the back of toilet and onto the floor were it made a large puddle. Night staff was unfriendly when asking for room service info. Parking was horrible!!! We could not find parking after coming back from dinner. Parking was taken up from night cafe/club next door. The remote for the TV volume did not work. The A/C controls did not work. You could hear drunk people from the parking lot at 1:30 in the morning. The one thing we did like was the breakfast, more than just a pastery and coffee. Breakfast was served in the Atrium which was very pretty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to fair grounds and beach.

Review of Clocktower Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shawn Sanders
Riverside Ca
Oct 12, 2010

Worst Hotel Ever

The Clock tower is an older hotel, adjacent to a park with homeless people. The rooms were small, not what was pictured. We found a mouse running out patio door. Shower leaked onto the back of toilet and onto the floor were it made a large puddle. Night staff was unfriendly when asking for room service info. Parking was horrible!!! We could not find parking after coming back from dinner. Parking was taken up from night cafe/club next door. The remote for the TV volume did not work. The A/C controls did not work. You could hear drunk people from the parking lot at 1:30 in the morning. The one thing we did like was the breakfast, more than just a pastery and coffee. Breakfast was served in the Atrium which was very pretty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

close to fair grounds and beach.

Back to menu Return to top