The Truckee Hotel

2 stars
10007 Bridge Street, Truckee, CA 96161
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
7 reviews
Truckee downtown

My experience with the Truckee Hotel was slanted because it was a warm evening and I opened the... See full review

  • nonononono
  • Oct 3, 2012
Old School Hotel

Complete with toilets and baths / showers across the hall, sloping floors, creaking stairs, and... See full review

  • Tam Valley Bob
  • Aug 6, 2012
The Truckee Hotel offers bed and breakfast accommodations on Truckees quaint Commercial Row within walking distance of many fine restaurants unusual shops nightlife and the train station. Within the hotel you will find 37 guest rooms some with clawfoot tubs and all furnished with beautiful antiques. This award winning historic hotel has been at this location for over 125 years.

Hotel Map

39.3284 -120.1842
Area description
Tourist site

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Truckee Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Truckee Hotel Rooms

American King 220
American King 220 en-us !DEFAULT!
American King 205
American King 205 en-us !DEFAULT!
European Double
European Double en-us !DEFAULT!
European Double Twin Twin
European Double Twin Twin en-us !DEFAULT!
American Queen
American Queen en-us !DEFAULT!
European Queen
European Queen en-us !DEFAULT!
European Double Double
European Double Double en-us !DEFAULT!
American King 320
American King 320 en-us !DEFAULT!
American King 215
American King 215 en-us !DEFAULT!
European Twin Twin
European Twin Twin en-us !DEFAULT!
European Queen Double
European Queen Double en-us !DEFAULT!
European Twin
European Twin en-us !DEFAULT!

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Skiing
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Express checkout
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Free parking
Room
Shower
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for The Truckee Hotel

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.1
Value:
2

14% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Truckee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tam Valley Bob
Business
Mill Valley, CA
Aug 6, 2012

Old School Hotel

Complete with toilets and baths / showers across the hall, sloping floors, creaking stairs, and little extra room, this historic hotel offers a clean place to stay for a moderate price (for what you get). It is a bit noisy, so if you're a light sleeper or really looking forward to a restful night's sleep this is not the place for you. If I was twenty something again, it would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Truckee Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nonononono
Business
novato
Oct 3, 2012

Truckee downtown

My experience with the Truckee Hotel was slanted because it was a warm evening and I opened the window to let in any breezes that may be blowing. Unfortunately, the sounds of a Truckee Saturday night bar scene and the incredible blast of the train whistle also blew in. The hotel is sweet and the hotel has some character. Unfortunately, it is also next to the train track downtown. I was using the hotel so the I could get some sleep before returning to the Bay Area. Unfortunately, that quest was aborted. I got back on the road at midnight because sleep was not possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Truckee Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF Pamela
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 13, 2012

Poor value for $165 inc taxes

Problems: general cleanliness was poor, except beds & linens. Blinds and curtains were missing, so one had to dress in front of the outside view, the few there were dirty &/or broken NO AIRCONDITIONING! Room was over 90 degrees when I entered - had to sleep with door and all windows proped open for cross breeze. Freight Train passes every hour all night and tracks are right across the street - not much sleeping. They had no coffee at breakfast, which was set up late

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Truckee Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackpar
Business
Cool, CA
Sep 12, 2012

Golf Outing

Historic hotel but unfortunately there is multiple trains going through downtown at all hours of the night which blow their horn right next to the hotel. Don't recommend staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Truckee Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Driftmoth
Business
Sacramento, California
Sep 28, 2012

Historic = old... obviously

Experience was historic. As in the bathroom is down the hall, the AC is a fan and a window propped open by a 2x4, and the stairs are narrow, steep and look quite dangerous. Breakfast was peaceful and simple. Parking could be a pain if you stuck around from 10 am to 6 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Truckee Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TSR1
Business
San Francisco
Dec 17, 2012

This is NOT a Hotel

This is not a hotel most of the rooms are like a youth hostel with a shared bathroom. I was not made aware of this by this site. Further, the building is so old is uses radiators and I was not able to control the heat in tiny room, I had the window open all night (it was 25F outside) and it was still too hot. I asked for a room with a bathroom and they told me that would be more than 2x the price I already paid. Maybe a good place for a 20 year old pack packer but I am a professional Business traveler and you could not pay me to stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Truckee Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
manor
Business
sacramento california
Apr 10, 2013

Sad

The staff placed me in a room with no bathroom or TV,, very small,, I asked for an upgrade to a room with these features. The upgrade cost was 100.00 The room had a radiator that was to put out heat as the temp outside was 30 degrees. The room stayed cold all night, bathroom was freezing. Very uncomfortable night,, tired the next day. Will not stay at this hotel ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top