$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

3 stars
21381 S. Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
143 reviews
Very Comfortable Stay, Amazing Bathroom.

The wife and I were attending a Wedding in Long Beach for the weekend, we decided to stay in... See full review

  • Yea...Someday
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great hotel

Just a beautiful hotel. Lovely staff and customer service. Free parking also! Los Angeles is about... See full review

  • All Around The Globe
  • Jul 10, 2014
Contemporary Los Angeles business hotel welcomes Japanese travelers
Experience the seamless interconnectedness of Japanese and Californian culture at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance, a hi-tech business class hotel in L.A.'s South Bay. LEED Silver certified initiatives include a 97-panel solar electrical system, low-flow plumbing, biodegradable bath products and the use of recycled materials. Japanese travelers find multilingual room service menus and TV channels. All guests of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance enjoy the full-service spa, on-site restaurant and complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and business services.
Highlights
  • Eco-luxury accents include ample natural light, delicate orchids and Harihara art
  • Free self-parking and airport shuttle
  • Japanese-American restaurant and sushi room service
  • Free business services
  • Stone sauna and Reiki therapy at full-service day spa
Location
L.A. coastal suburban community Torrance is convenient to Toyota, Honda and Long Beach Harbor. Proximity to the 110 and 405 freeways gives visitors of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance easy access to Hollywood in one direction and Disneyland in the other.
Rooms
The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance six-story property offers 208 cream-and-charcoal-hued rooms and suites with floor-to-ceiling windows and controlled air quality. Relax in a soft down and cotton bed or be productive with a professional desk. Modern fixtures include iPod docks, free Wi-Fi and 46-inch flat-screen TVs. Stone and glass bathrooms boast oversized tubs, heated water bidets and Natura or Aveda products. Recycling bins, Energy Star-rated refrigerators stocked with water and laptop safes are provided. The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance is a non-smoking property. 
Features
Leave behind the rush at the quiet, spa-like Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. Find comfortable seating areas for business conversations in the lobby. Ask about currency exchange, fast dry cleaning and the 24-hour Wii-equipped fitness center on the second floor of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance.
Dining
Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance's in-house restaurant use ingredients from local providers or Tsukjii Market in Tokyo. Try soba noodles, Kobe beef burgers and Edo-Mae sushi at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. A full bar and room service also are available. The adjacent Mitsuwa Market Place offers Japanese restaurants, groceries and a bakery.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Mitsuwa Market Place (adjacent)
  • The Links at Victoria Golf Course (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Redondo Beach Pier (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Los Angeles Convention Center (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Disneyland (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center 
  • Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • 5,000 square feet of naturally-lit meeting space accommodates up to 200 people
  • Hi-tech audio/visual equipment 
  • Event staff
  • Local and Japanese newspapers
Policies and fees
A valid credit card is required at check-in for incidentals. Hotel will place a $100 USD hold per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower
Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.8349 -118.3092
Area served
Del Amo Fashion Mall 3.5 mi
Disneyland Resort 27.3 mi
Hollywood Park 7.9 mi
Home Depot Center 6.8 mi
Redondo Beach Pier 4.9 mi
The Forum 12 mi
The J. Paul Getty Center 19.3 mi
The Queen Mary 8.9 mi
Nearby airports
Los Angeles Intl. Airport - 11.6 miles
Long Beach Airport - 14.1 miles
Burbank Airport - 32.1 miles
Area description
Located between Los Angeles North and Orange County South, and the Pacific
Ocean 3.5 miles to the west. The Miyako Hybrid Hotel is about 25 minutes
from downtown LA and about 15 minutes from Los Angeles International
Airport LAX to the west.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Versatile meeting and event space totals nearly 5,000 square feet. Four different rooms-Asuka, Yoshino, Nara, and Kyoto-are available for groups from 10-200, including outdoor space. The Nara and Kyoto rooms are often used for banquets and larger gatherings, and can be subdivided. Each also has access to an outdoor patio. The Asuka and Yoshino board rooms are ideal for work presentations and gatherings, featuring large conference tables equipped for A/V presentations, including projection screens built into the wood walls. The pre-function space between the rooms features a marble tile floor, accents of flowers and other greenery, as well as additional Harihara artworks. The hotel also features a complete business center, and staff that are able to assist meeting planners in setting up and executing events and meetings of all sizes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 143
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SebastianMSP
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 11, 2011

A unique hotel experience

Torrance is a little off the beaten path for a LA tourist, but the Miyako Hybrid Hotel beats any alternative closer in. For a lower price than most LA hotels, I got a superb hotel experience. I was in an executive king room with views of downtown LA from my balcony. The bedding was fantastic, the lighting was perfect, and the rain shower and deep tub--like all other reviewers note--made it hard to leave the room. [...] at the front desk was very helpful, giving me advice about dining options and even calling my room to tell me when nearby stores were going to be open. Without hesitation, I'd stay here on a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're doing a southern California trip, Torrance is a good location if you're driving up from San Diego, don't want to go all the way to the heart of LA, and are planning to go to Anaheim for Disneyland.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old Dog.
Everett, Washington
Dec 30, 2012

If you need a quite, comfortable stay, this it.

One of the best hotel that I ever stay, far none.The employee are soo nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alberto Contador
Mexico
Nov 1, 2010

Excellent Value for Money

Hotel is clean and had a wonderful fresh smell in the corridors and rooms. The rooms were well appointed. Beds are exceptionally luxurious and fluffy, something you would only except from a five star restaurant. The only small downside is if you have had Japanese food three nights in a row, there isn't too many alternatives if you want something close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baba Russ
NE Ohio
Jan 17, 2011

Great accomodations. Great service.

The accomodations were perfect. The staff was always helpful and even helped me find chapstick for my poor lips that became dry in that "warm California sun".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was great - loved the Salmon.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Orion, MI
Jul 11, 2011

Japanese hospitality in LA

Everyone - front desk, bellhops, cleaning staff - were extremely helpful and polite during my one week stay. The Japanese style breakfast was different and extremely tasty. The huge bath area was most refreshing after a day of touring and dealing with LA traffic. The entire hotel is impeccably clean. Much thought has been put into the details - the off-lighting, wallpaper, carpeting, Broadway show tunes playing in the lobby and Japanese music in the restaurant. My only regret was not taking advantage of the spa facilities. I will on my next visit. In all a stay at the Miyako Hybrid is a unique and enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want restaurants within walking distance, you have a problem. But everything worthwhile in LA requires some driving. There are some good inexpensive restaurants just a few miles to the south and west of the hotel. Coco's is a very good California chain with calorie conscious selections and their own bakery. There is one on Western Avenue a few miles to the south and one on Pacific Coast Highway - just a few miles to the southwest.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alberto Contador
Mexico
Nov 1, 2010

Excellent Value for Money

Hotel is clean and had a wonderful fresh smell in the corridors and rooms. The rooms were well appointed. Beds are exceptionally luxurious and fluffy, something you would only except from a five star restaurant. The only small downside is if you have had Japanese food three nights in a row, there isn't too many alternatives if you want something close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CharlesRubbish
Texas
Sep 7, 2011

LOVED IT!!

Much needed vacation and this hotel very much helped to deliver! Beds are soft and ridiculously comfortable, shower and bath, plenty of room with a great view. No noise in the hallways or anywhere else...simply perfect. If you need comfort, don't look anywhere else, just stay here. Trust me! I've stayed here twice, and I can guarantee that anytime I'm in L.A., I'm staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're in the LA area, you can't leave without hitting Venice. You'll find items there you simply can't anywhere else...that and it's weird. It's the one way to know that you're really in L.A....there and Redondo.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SebastianMSP
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 11, 2011

A unique hotel experience

Torrance is a little off the beaten path for a LA tourist, but the Miyako Hybrid Hotel beats any alternative closer in. For a lower price than most LA hotels, I got a superb hotel experience. I was in an executive king room with views of downtown LA from my balcony. The bedding was fantastic, the lighting was perfect, and the rain shower and deep tub--like all other reviewers note--made it hard to leave the room. [...] at the front desk was very helpful, giving me advice about dining options and even calling my room to tell me when nearby stores were going to be open. Without hesitation, I'd stay here on a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're doing a southern California trip, Torrance is a good location if you're driving up from San Diego, don't want to go all the way to the heart of LA, and are planning to go to Anaheim for Disneyland.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKLA
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2012

Sweet suite

I was attending a wedding reception nearby, so I decided to get a hotel room. I got upgraded to a suite, and it was just amazing. I wish that I could live in that suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1321 Downtown Taproom Bistro is a great gastropub just a few blocks west.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Orion, MI
Jul 11, 2011

Japanese hospitality in LA

Everyone - front desk, bellhops, cleaning staff - were extremely helpful and polite during my one week stay. The Japanese style breakfast was different and extremely tasty. The huge bath area was most refreshing after a day of touring and dealing with LA traffic. The entire hotel is impeccably clean. Much thought has been put into the details - the off-lighting, wallpaper, carpeting, Broadway show tunes playing in the lobby and Japanese music in the restaurant. My only regret was not taking advantage of the spa facilities. I will on my next visit. In all a stay at the Miyako Hybrid is a unique and enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want restaurants within walking distance, you have a problem. But everything worthwhile in LA requires some driving. There are some good inexpensive restaurants just a few miles to the south and west of the hotel. Coco's is a very good California chain with calorie conscious selections and their own bakery. There is one on Western Avenue a few miles to the south and one on Pacific Coast Highway - just a few miles to the southwest.

Back to menu Return to top