$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 20, 2015

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

3 stars
View map of 21381 S. Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
109 reviews
A wonderful surprise!!

It was more than we expected. Perfect location and just a beautiful experience! Definitely would... See full review

  • TROY B.
  • Aug 25, 2015
love this hotel

DId a lot of research into which hotels to stay in the Los Angeles area. Hotel Miyako Hybrid had... See full review

  • parson
  • Aug 11, 2015
Experience the seamless interconnectedness of Japanese and Californian culture at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance, a hi-tech business class hotel in L.A.'s South Bay. LEED Silver certified initiatives include a 97-panel solar electrical system, low-flow plumbing, biodegradable bath products and the use of recycled materials. Japanese travelers find multilingual room service menus and TV channels. All guests of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance enjoy the full-service spa, on-site restaurant and complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and business services.
Location
L.A. coastal suburban community Torrance is convenient to Toyota, Honda and Long Beach Harbor. Proximity to the 110 and 405 freeways gives visitors of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance easy access to Hollywood in one direction and Disneyland in the other.
Dining
Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus as well as non-alcoholic drinks are served at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance's Ise-Shima at the Miyako restaurant which uses ingredients from local providers or Tsukjii Market in Tokyo. Try soba noodles, Kobe beef burgers and Edo-Mae sushi at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. A full bar and room service also are available. The adjacent Mitsuwa Market Place offers Japanese restaurants, groceries and a bakery.
Rooms
The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance six-story property offers 208 cream-and-charcoal-hued rooms and suites with floor-to-ceiling windows and controlled air quality. Relax in a soft down and cotton bed or be productive with a professional desk. Modern fixtures include iPod docks, free Wi-Fi and 46-inch flat-screen TVs. Stone and glass bathrooms boast oversized tubs, heated water bidets and Natura or Aveda products. Recycling bins, Energy Star-rated refrigerators stocked with water and laptop safes are provided. The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance is a non-smoking property. 
Property features
Leave behind the rush at the quiet, spa-like Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. Find comfortable seating areas for business conversations in the lobby. Ask about currency exchange, fast dry cleaning and the 24-hour Wii-equipped fitness center on the second floor of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance.
Highlights
  • Eco-luxury accents include ample natural light, delicate orchids and Harihara art
  • Free self-parking and airport shuttle
  • Japanese-American restaurant and sushi room service
  • Free business services
  • Stone sauna and Reiki therapy at full-service day spa
Nearby attractions
  • Mitsuwa Market Place (adjacent)
  • The Links at Victoria Golf Course (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Redondo Beach Pier (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Los Angeles Convention Center (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Disneyland (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center 
  • Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • 5,000 square feet of naturally-lit meeting space accommodates up to 200 people
  • Hi-tech audio/visual equipment 
  • Event staff
  • Local and Japanese newspapers
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Policies
  • A valid credit card is required at check-in for incidentals. Hotel will place a $100 USD hold per night.
  • The on-site Ise-Shima at the Miyako restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages only until further notice.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance also booked these hotels.

★★★
$139
4.3 / 5 26 reviews
★★
$94
4.0 / 5 72 reviews
★★
$82
3.3 / 5 84 reviews
★★★
$75
3.1 / 5 279 reviews
★★★
$116
4.0 / 5 62 reviews
★★★
$104
3.3 / 5 16 reviews

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower
Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Ise-Shima at the Miyako
Ise-Shima at the Miyako serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages only until further notice.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Versatile meeting and event space totals nearly 5,000 square feet. Four different rooms-Asuka, Yoshino, Nara, and Kyoto-are available for groups from 10-200, including outdoor space. The Nara and Kyoto rooms are often used for banquets and larger gatherings, and can be subdivided. Each also has access to an outdoor patio. The Asuka and Yoshino board rooms are ideal for work presentations and gatherings, featuring large conference tables equipped for A/V presentations, including projection screens built into the wood walls. The pre-function space between the rooms features a marble tile floor, accents of flowers and other greenery, as well as additional Harihara artworks. The hotel also features a complete business center, and staff that are able to assist meeting planners in setting up and executing events and meetings of all sizes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 109
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotaru
Single
Hawaii
Dec 1, 2014

Excellent location and friendly staff

I booked this hotel after having read several reviews and was not disappointed. The location was convenient, the room quiet, and the staff very friendly. Highly recommended for those who like a peaceful environment to rest or to work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuband
Single
Lancaster, CA
Sep 8, 2014

Comfortable bed and large screen HDTV

This hotel has one of the cleanest room in the area. All rooms are non smoking which is a plus. Bed is very comfortable and the bath has a deep tub. Stayed here many time and will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Mitsuwa Japanese market just south of the hotel and the shopping center about a block south of the hotel has many Japanese dining choices.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Old Dog.
Single
Everett, Washington
Dec 30, 2012

If you need a quite, comfortable stay, this it.

One of the best hotel that I ever stay, far none.The employee are soo nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKLA
Single
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 30, 2012

Sweet suite

I was attending a wedding reception nearby, so I decided to get a hotel room. I got upgraded to a suite, and it was just amazing. I wish that I could live in that suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1321 Downtown Taproom Bistro is a great gastropub just a few blocks west.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RHoods
Single
Nashville, TN, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Great Stay

My 4-night stay was super. Quiet, clean and great wireless internet speed. As bonus, the Japanese market next door has fresh sushi at affordable price. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Lake Orion, MI
Jul 11, 2011

Japanese hospitality in LA

Everyone - front desk, bellhops, cleaning staff - were extremely helpful and polite during my one week stay. The Japanese style breakfast was different and extremely tasty. The huge bath area was most refreshing after a day of touring and dealing with LA traffic. The entire hotel is impeccably clean. Much thought has been put into the details - the off-lighting, wallpaper, carpeting, Broadway show tunes playing in the lobby and Japanese music in the restaurant. My only regret was not taking advantage of the spa facilities. I will on my next visit. In all a stay at the Miyako Hybrid is a unique and enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want restaurants within walking distance, you have a problem. But everything worthwhile in LA requires some driving. There are some good inexpensive restaurants just a few miles to the south and west of the hotel. Coco's is a very good California chain with calorie conscious selections and their own bakery. There is one on Western Avenue a few miles to the south and one on Pacific Coast Highway - just a few miles to the southwest.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OhMaiSeoul
Single
Seoul, South Korea
Jun 1, 2011

What a Treat!

I used to travel 3 weeks a month as part of my job, and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels both in the US and in Asia. When I say this was in the top THREE, I am not exaggerating! What made the experience so special, was the personal attention/service that I was not expecting! After check in, a hotel concierge walked me to my room, showed me the features, and got me all set up! I am a CA native, and was only staying for a few nights for R&R, but out of towners would enjoy this little retreat! The location is a bit blah, but really, the service makes up for it. I went to a Dubunne Day Spa about 15 minutes away, and also to a shopping/restaurant area about 25 minutes away. The only thing I used in the immediate area was a Ralphs which was a short 3 minute drive. Great room, great decor, SUPERB service! Check out the Miyako!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rolling Hills AMC and Shopping area (West of the hotel, also in Torrance) is less than 25 minutes away if you want a bit more of the city life that South Bay has to offer. This is your best bet if you don't want to drive all the way into LA.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Australia
Apr 24, 2011

excellent hotel

The staff - All Staff - are 5-Star people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the beach.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baba Russ
Single
NE Ohio
Jan 17, 2011

Great accomodations. Great service.

The accomodations were perfect. The staff was always helpful and even helped me find chapstick for my poor lips that became dry in that "warm California sun".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was great - loved the Salmon.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SebastianMSP
Single
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 11, 2011

A unique hotel experience

Torrance is a little off the beaten path for a LA tourist, but the Miyako Hybrid Hotel beats any alternative closer in. For a lower price than most LA hotels, I got a superb hotel experience. I was in an executive king room with views of downtown LA from my balcony. The bedding was fantastic, the lighting was perfect, and the rain shower and deep tub--like all other reviewers note--made it hard to leave the room. [...] at the front desk was very helpful, giving me advice about dining options and even calling my room to tell me when nearby stores were going to be open. Without hesitation, I'd stay here on a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you're doing a southern California trip, Torrance is a good location if you're driving up from San Diego, don't want to go all the way to the heart of LA, and are planning to go to Anaheim for Disneyland.

Back to menu Return to top