$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 20, 2015

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

3 stars
View map of 21381 S. Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
110 reviews
Relaxing stay

My girlfriend and I wanted a relaxing hotel to end our weekend in LA area and this was just the... See full review

  • jay t.
  • Aug 27, 2015
A wonderful surprise!!

It was more than we expected. Perfect location and just a beautiful experience! Definitely would... See full review

  • TROY B.
  • Aug 25, 2015
Experience the seamless interconnectedness of Japanese and Californian culture at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance, a hi-tech business class hotel in L.A.'s South Bay. LEED Silver certified initiatives include a 97-panel solar electrical system, low-flow plumbing, biodegradable bath products and the use of recycled materials. Japanese travelers find multilingual room service menus and TV channels. All guests of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance enjoy the full-service spa, on-site restaurant and complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and business services.
Location
L.A. coastal suburban community Torrance is convenient to Toyota, Honda and Long Beach Harbor. Proximity to the 110 and 405 freeways gives visitors of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance easy access to Hollywood in one direction and Disneyland in the other.
Dining
Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus as well as non-alcoholic drinks are served at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance's Ise-Shima at the Miyako restaurant which uses ingredients from local providers or Tsukjii Market in Tokyo. Try soba noodles, Kobe beef burgers and Edo-Mae sushi at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. A full bar and room service also are available. The adjacent Mitsuwa Market Place offers Japanese restaurants, groceries and a bakery.
Rooms
The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance six-story property offers 208 cream-and-charcoal-hued rooms and suites with floor-to-ceiling windows and controlled air quality. Relax in a soft down and cotton bed or be productive with a professional desk. Modern fixtures include iPod docks, free Wi-Fi and 46-inch flat-screen TVs. Stone and glass bathrooms boast oversized tubs, heated water bidets and Natura or Aveda products. Recycling bins, Energy Star-rated refrigerators stocked with water and laptop safes are provided. The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance is a non-smoking property. 
Property features
Leave behind the rush at the quiet, spa-like Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. Find comfortable seating areas for business conversations in the lobby. Ask about currency exchange, fast dry cleaning and the 24-hour Wii-equipped fitness center on the second floor of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance.
Highlights
  • Eco-luxury accents include ample natural light, delicate orchids and Harihara art
  • Free self-parking and airport shuttle
  • Japanese-American restaurant and sushi room service
  • Free business services
  • Stone sauna and Reiki therapy at full-service day spa
Nearby attractions
  • Mitsuwa Market Place (adjacent)
  • The Links at Victoria Golf Course (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Redondo Beach Pier (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Los Angeles Convention Center (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Disneyland (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center 
  • Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • 5,000 square feet of naturally-lit meeting space accommodates up to 200 people
  • Hi-tech audio/visual equipment 
  • Event staff
  • Local and Japanese newspapers
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Policies
  • A valid credit card is required at check-in for incidentals. Hotel will place a $100 USD hold per night.
  • The on-site Ise-Shima at the Miyako restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages only until further notice.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance also booked these hotels.

★★★
$139
4.3 / 5 26 reviews
★★
$94
4.0 / 5 72 reviews
★★
$82
3.3 / 5 84 reviews
★★★
$75
3.1 / 5 279 reviews
★★★
$116
4.0 / 5 62 reviews
★★★
$104
3.3 / 5 16 reviews

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower
Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Ise-Shima at the Miyako
Ise-Shima at the Miyako serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages only until further notice.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Versatile meeting and event space totals nearly 5,000 square feet. Four different rooms-Asuka, Yoshino, Nara, and Kyoto-are available for groups from 10-200, including outdoor space. The Nara and Kyoto rooms are often used for banquets and larger gatherings, and can be subdivided. Each also has access to an outdoor patio. The Asuka and Yoshino board rooms are ideal for work presentations and gatherings, featuring large conference tables equipped for A/V presentations, including projection screens built into the wood walls. The pre-function space between the rooms features a marble tile floor, accents of flowers and other greenery, as well as additional Harihara artworks. The hotel also features a complete business center, and staff that are able to assist meeting planners in setting up and executing events and meetings of all sizes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RHoods
Single
Nashville, TN, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Great Stay

My 4-night stay was super. Quiet, clean and great wireless internet speed. As bonus, the Japanese market next door has fresh sushi at affordable price. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2010

Unprofessional and dirty

The place is located far away from anything. The staff was very rude and did not even care if I was standing in front of them for 10 mins. The room was very smelly and dirty. The carpet had stains and food crumbs. The bed had nasty hairs all over the sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scared man by sudden noise
Family
Torrance
Jan 19, 2011

Sudden noisey at night

Around 8:40PM sudden continous sharp noise came from the ceiling of our room. It has been kept for over 3minutes so that my wife called the front. 3 more minutes after calling, the noise was gone. But there was no apolosy or no expanation what caused on this noise from the hotel. After 2nd call from me to request what caused on it, one of sub managers came to our room and showed his business card without detail explanation on this noise. Be careful on this hotel. Sudden noise wakes you up at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Recuperating Still
Couples
Salem Oregon
Mar 5, 2014

Didn't get what we Paid for-Dissapointed

We were attending my wives sisters memorial, and my wife couldn't wait to soak in the tub in the King room that we paid for a night. It was all she could think about with all the stress she had from losing her sister and also having a health condition which stress makes her body hurt badly and a soak in a tub was what could have helped her. When we checked in and went to our room, it was a nice big king bed room but NO TUB! So we talked to them about it and they apologized but said that they were completely booked. That's it. We paid for a room with a soakers Tub and it was the very reason we decided on that hotel. Also there is no complimentary breakfast so we ordered room service in the morning and we couldn't believe what we got for such a high price that we paid for. Very small portion of eggs, french toast that would have been enough maybe for a child. Very disappointing. So we left to the memorial with my wife VERY disappointed and in pain. It’s sad when you pay for something and don't get what you expected and what was advertised. The room was big, and clean, it just wasn't the one we paid for or wanted at all. I would have rather had a tub even if the room was smaller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

eat any where else but in your room.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ibb
Couples
Bristol
Aug 10, 2010

Nice hotel, too far from anything though

Chose this hotel thinking it was in downtown LA, but it wasn't, cost me $70 to get to downtown by taxi. A real pain in the butt. Don't get me wrong, hotel is amazing, just lousy location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here if you're looking to be in downtown, this is miles away from downtown/hollywood. Cost me $70 to get to Star Blvd from this hotel by taxi, and it was a 40min journey!

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa S.
Couples
Kansas City, MO, USA
Jun 22, 2012

Not a destination in itself

The Miyako Hybrid Hotel is primarily a business hotel. Located in Old Torrance, near Gardena, it is surrounded by Japanese businesses and a large residential area. It is definitely not a general tourist destination. Pluses: Clean, quiet rooms; phenomenal bathroom - others have described it in detail well. Easy free parking. Minuses: This hotel is boring. Restaurant has limited menu options; bar closes at 10pm. Dull room service options. If you hate to drink and drive, and like to have an in-hotel nightcap and/or snack before bed, this is not the place for you. The only thing to do at night is take a bath and sleep - which I can do at many luxury hotels, only with good room service. If you have business or are visiting friends/relatives in the area, this hotel is a great place to sleep - way better than a motel off Crenshaw or PCH. If you are just going as a tourist, you can find a hotel with better amenities and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast or lunch, Mitsuwa Market is right next door. The food court is phenomenal. The sushi and soba is just as good as the hotel, but with more options and a third of the price. Plus there are other options which are simply not on the menu at the hotel.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ibb
Couples
Bristol
Aug 10, 2010

Nice hotel, too far from anything though

Chose this hotel thinking it was in downtown LA, but it wasn't, cost me $70 to get to downtown by taxi. A real pain in the butt. Don't get me wrong, hotel is amazing, just lousy location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here if you're looking to be in downtown, this is miles away from downtown/hollywood. Cost me $70 to get to Star Blvd from this hotel by taxi, and it was a 40min journey!

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soymama1
Couples
Livingston,NJ
Apr 1, 2014

A nice Surprise

Spotlessly clean. Loved the eco aspect to this hotel. Loved having a shower/soaking tub room. Beds were super comfortable. Loved the heated toilet/bidet combo. Lighting could have been brighter in the bathrooms but it worked. Sorry we didn't get to try the Sushi restaurant heard it was great. I'm pretty picky and I was very pleased and would definitely go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dKeikoW
Couples
Hermosa Beach, CA
May 21, 2012

Relaxing Date Night!

I loved everything about this hotel except that the television satellite kept roaming ever few seconds. But other than that, the waterfall shower,, soaking tub, the 45 inch flat screen tv, yummy Japanese green tea with tea set, electric hot water pot, was awesome! The bedding was so soft and cozy too, had a great night sleep! Oh and having Mitsuwa Market(Japanese Grocery Store) next store was a huge plus for eating authentic Japanese food! My husband and I hadn't had a night away without our twins in 3 years and this was definitely a perfect choice! It's our new getaway place for now on and we are going to tell our family and friends to stay here when they come to visit because our house is too small for overnight guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mitsuwa Japanese Market

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Here we come Mickey
Family
San Fracisco, CA
Jun 16, 2012

Great service, rooms, baths, but we sometimes got hot water

Booked for 2 nights during May 2012 with wife and 2 1/2 year old. At check-in, staff was courteous and even gave my daughter a rubber duck. Nice touch! We were helped to our room on the 5th floor. Beautiful room and bathroom with a bidei! The only negative was having occassional hot water. It would start off warm but got cold, then come back. We called to complain but didn't want to switch rooms because we were settled in. They sent maintenance while we were out but it was not fixed. Quite a bummer. Overall great hotel with attentive staff. With the exception of the hot water issue, everything else was great. I'd still recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top