$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

3 stars
View map of 21381 S. Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soymama1
Business
Livingston,NJ
Apr 1, 2014

A nice Surprise

Spotlessly clean. Loved the eco aspect to this hotel. Loved having a shower/soaking tub room. Beds were super comfortable. Loved the heated toilet/bidet combo. Lighting could have been brighter in the bathrooms but it worked. Sorry we didn't get to try the Sushi restaurant heard it was great. I'm pretty picky and I was very pleased and would definitely go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
SoCal
Aug 22, 2010

Diamond in the Rough

Very attentive staff from start to finish. I was greeted before I could even reach the front door. The check-in process was enjoyable; friendly receptionists and informative attendant. The decor was simple and appealing. Athough the bathroom could have been slightly larger (only room for one) I really enjoyed the deep tub. The bidet with antimicrobal seat was a pleasant surprise since they are not typically found in US hotel restrooms. The room's lighting was versitile; at the flip of a swith you could go from reading to romance. As for the neighborhood; it's not that it's bad, it's just industrial. Wonderful hotel though Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dKeikoW
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
May 21, 2012

Relaxing Date Night!

I loved everything about this hotel except that the television satellite kept roaming ever few seconds. But other than that, the waterfall shower,, soaking tub, the 45 inch flat screen tv, yummy Japanese green tea with tea set, electric hot water pot, was awesome! The bedding was so soft and cozy too, had a great night sleep! Oh and having Mitsuwa Market(Japanese Grocery Store) next store was a huge plus for eating authentic Japanese food! My husband and I hadn't had a night away without our twins in 3 years and this was definitely a perfect choice! It's our new getaway place for now on and we are going to tell our family and friends to stay here when they come to visit because our house is too small for overnight guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mitsuwa Japanese Market

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Here we come Mickey
Business
San Fracisco, CA
Jun 16, 2012

Great service, rooms, baths, but we sometimes got hot water

Booked for 2 nights during May 2012 with wife and 2 1/2 year old. At check-in, staff was courteous and even gave my daughter a rubber duck. Nice touch! We were helped to our room on the 5th floor. Beautiful room and bathroom with a bidei! The only negative was having occassional hot water. It would start off warm but got cold, then come back. We called to complain but didn't want to switch rooms because we were settled in. They sent maintenance while we were out but it was not fixed. Quite a bummer. Overall great hotel with attentive staff. With the exception of the hot water issue, everything else was great. I'd still recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PA Wahoo
Business
SE Pennsylvania
Oct 31, 2012

Good value if you can get a discounted rate

Overall, I had a good experience at the hotel - it offered an upgraded room and dining experience at a rate (at the time) comparable to a Courtyard. The biggest positives were nicely appointed room, bathroom shower/tub definately an upgrade, very good breakfast buffet, very comfortable bed. The biggested negative was noise-one night, I was awakened by someone having a room party, the next night by someone starting their shower - the water noise from my neighbor's bathroom was so loud it woke me up from a deep sleep. Bidet toilets are a gimmick in my opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doggie Donna
Business
Honolulu, HI
Nov 5, 2012

New and clean

Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The only disappointment was that the only restaurant there did not have a simple breakfast, only a full breakfast buffet. Also, the sundry/gift store was very tiny. However, it was okay because there was a large Japanese grocery store next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mitsuwa next door has a great Japanese food court and market.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StacieW
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Nov 25, 2012

Nice Hotel in Torrance

Very nice executive level room. Rain shower heads and toto brand toilet auto bidets. Clean comfy room with large tv, safe and refrig. Location adjacent to Mitsuwa Japanese market and food court. Also very close to Japanese restaurants. Fitness center did not have any free weights, but it was clean, cooled and had nintendo sports avail to play. Hotel of choice if you are staying in the South Bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Load up on snacks or get meals at Mitsuwa market less than 3 min walk. Or walk 5 min to end of block to Torihei, (Japanese Izakaya and Yakitori).

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben Ben Taro
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 30, 2013

Great price with great location and amenities

Beyond description, I am Japanese who really like to enjoy the large size of bath tub with a small bath floor where I can wash my body. This is exactly Japanese style. Also the room is exceptionally clean and large!! Only negative score I put was, because of the noise. My room was on the 2nd floor just in front of the fitness room. In early morning like at 5am, somebody was exercising on the runner, and because the air duct is directly connected from the fitness center to my room, loud noise came in. I couldn't sleep well at all. In the 2nd morning, I couldn't stand (because firstly the noise came in at 1am then again at 5am, is this a torture?) so i called the front desk. Their answer was that if somebody run excessively fast on the runner, that may cause the noise. Anyway, I recommend you guys not stay in the room in front of the fitness center. Otherwise please bring the ear plugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many Japanese restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Torrance RN
Business
Torrance
Mar 6, 2013

Weekend getaway

The staffs are very efficient and are willing to handle situations properly, the hotel is very nice and clean, and the rooms are very cozy, the Japanese bathtub will definitely take your stress away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharT1
Business
Torrance, CA
Mar 11, 2013

Nice place to stay, but no gym or pool

Very nice hotel, Japanese bathroom features. Clean rooms, zen feeling. Only disappointment is no gym or pool to relax in. There is a spa located in the hotel, but did not have time to experience it, would have rather preferred a place to do a 20 mins cardio work out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door is Mitsuwa, a wonderful Japanese groccery store, dessert store and cute food court ... yummy!

Back to menu Return to top