$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

3 stars
21381 S. Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
102 reviews
Excellent location and friendly staff

I booked this hotel after having read several reviews and was not disappointed. The location was... See full review

  • Hotaru
  • Dec 1, 2014
Our new favorite hotel

Beautiful lobby and room. Comfortable bed. Delicious Japanese and American breakfast buffet.... See full review

  • AKM930
  • Nov 27, 2014
Contemporary Los Angeles business hotel welcomes Japanese travelers
Experience the seamless interconnectedness of Japanese and Californian culture at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance, a hi-tech business class hotel in L.A.'s South Bay. LEED Silver certified initiatives include a 97-panel solar electrical system, low-flow plumbing, biodegradable bath products and the use of recycled materials. Japanese travelers find multilingual room service menus and TV channels. All guests of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance enjoy the full-service spa, on-site restaurant and complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and business services.
Highlights
  • Eco-luxury accents include ample natural light, delicate orchids and Harihara art
  • Free self-parking and airport shuttle
  • Japanese-American restaurant and sushi room service
  • Free business services
  • Stone sauna and Reiki therapy at full-service day spa
Location
L.A. coastal suburban community Torrance is convenient to Toyota, Honda and Long Beach Harbor. Proximity to the 110 and 405 freeways gives visitors of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance easy access to Hollywood in one direction and Disneyland in the other.
Rooms
The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance six-story property offers 208 cream-and-charcoal-hued rooms and suites with floor-to-ceiling windows and controlled air quality. Relax in a soft down and cotton bed or be productive with a professional desk. Modern fixtures include iPod docks, free Wi-Fi and 46-inch flat-screen TVs. Stone and glass bathrooms boast oversized tubs, heated water bidets and Natura or Aveda products. Recycling bins, Energy Star-rated refrigerators stocked with water and laptop safes are provided. The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance is a non-smoking property. 
Features
Leave behind the rush at the quiet, spa-like Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. Find comfortable seating areas for business conversations in the lobby. Ask about currency exchange, fast dry cleaning and the 24-hour Wii-equipped fitness center on the second floor of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance.
Dining
Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance's in-house restaurant use ingredients from local providers or Tsukjii Market in Tokyo. Try soba noodles, Kobe beef burgers and Edo-Mae sushi at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. A full bar and room service also are available. The adjacent Mitsuwa Market Place offers Japanese restaurants, groceries and a bakery.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Mitsuwa Market Place (adjacent)
  • The Links at Victoria Golf Course (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Redondo Beach Pier (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Los Angeles Convention Center (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Disneyland (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center 
  • Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • 5,000 square feet of naturally-lit meeting space accommodates up to 200 people
  • Hi-tech audio/visual equipment 
  • Event staff
  • Local and Japanese newspapers
Policies and fees
A valid credit card is required at check-in for incidentals. Hotel will place a $100 USD hold per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower
Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Ise-Shima at the Miyako
Ise-Shima at the Miyako serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages only until further notice.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Versatile meeting and event space totals nearly 5,000 square feet. Four different rooms-Asuka, Yoshino, Nara, and Kyoto-are available for groups from 10-200, including outdoor space. The Nara and Kyoto rooms are often used for banquets and larger gatherings, and can be subdivided. Each also has access to an outdoor patio. The Asuka and Yoshino board rooms are ideal for work presentations and gatherings, featuring large conference tables equipped for A/V presentations, including projection screens built into the wood walls. The pre-function space between the rooms features a marble tile floor, accents of flowers and other greenery, as well as additional Harihara artworks. The hotel also features a complete business center, and staff that are able to assist meeting planners in setting up and executing events and meetings of all sizes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South bay
Dec 22, 2010

Experience great Japanese hospitality

Room very clean and nice comfortable bed. The Japanese style bath is relaxing and great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xmas 1nighter
Business
So Cal
Dec 21, 2010

Excellent hotel. Inconsiderate guests.

Excellent bed and deep Japanese tub. Not to mention the Japanese electronic seat warmer/bidet. Great service. They changed our room and had sent someone up with a new room key within 10mins after reporting our rowdy neighbor hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hapa
Business
Pearl City, Hawaii
Nov 27, 2010

Wonderful Discovery!!

We stayed at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel in Torrance for the first two of four nights visiting our son. MHH is a GEM - its facility, decor, service, courtesy, efficiency, are all top notch. They put the next hotel we stayed, which was a well known chain, to shame. On our next trip to Torrance we will definitely choose the Miyako again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caresse Vera AKA HungryKittyKat
Business
Torrance, CA
Nov 9, 2010

The Miyako Hybrid Getaway

I booked my weekend stay at the Miyako Hybrid hotel as the hotel looked promising from it's pictures online on it's website and I was celebrating my 2 year anniversary with my sweetheart. My overall experiance was fantastic. To begin with pulling into the parking lot. For $8 you can use valet parking, or there is free parking in the hotel parking lot. There are only a few spots in the lot of the hotel, however they have their own parking lot right accross the street, so although it is accross the street, it sure beats having to pay a fee to park your car! I was welcomed right away as soon as I was spotted in the lot walking toward the entrance and was asked if they could take my bags to the check in desk for me. Checking in was a breeze, although, because I booked my two nights seperately I had to place two deposits of $100 on a credit card instead of one for incidentals. The service and welcome was phenominal. The entire hotel staff was very kind and welcoming. The bell boy that helped me take my things up was very social and asked if I had stayed with them before, since I had not, he explained to me where everything was. From the Gym on the second floor to the nearest eatieries around the hotel besides Gonpachi's which was located on the hotels first floor. Once we got to our room he explained how everything worked and where I could find everything beginning with placing your room key in the designated slot on the wall next to the door. This gave the room it's power! When you left you would take your key and all the lights would shut off automatically after a few minutes to save energy. I thought it was extremly clever. There were terry cloth robes and slippers in the armoire to use during our stay. A 52" Panasonic TV with Blue Ray player and a fabulous view of Torrance and Los Angeles. We did get to try out the wet bar at Gonpachi as well as dinner and it was very delicious. I suggest trying the Moshiso Martini and Garlic Edamame. Over all the hotel was very classy and romantic, the service, impeccable. It was very difficult to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mulligans Family Fun Center. It is a fun place for a date for the younger couples or for a family!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Takasaki, Japan
Nov 9, 2010

Fantastic

It was realy excellent staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Nov 2, 2010

Outstanding Design

This hotel is great example of the beauty of Japanese design. Here you will find beauty, simplicity, technology, and comfort. This is the best hotel room I have ever experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent Mitsuwa Market shopping area has some excellent Japanese food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alberto Contador
Business
Mexico
Nov 1, 2010

Excellent Value for Money

Hotel is clean and had a wonderful fresh smell in the corridors and rooms. The rooms were well appointed. Beds are exceptionally luxurious and fluffy, something you would only except from a five star restaurant. The only small downside is if you have had Japanese food three nights in a row, there isn't too many alternatives if you want something close to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lc825
Business
Vancouver
Oct 27, 2010

Hotel Review

Everything there is great... We love their mattress. The room is nice and clean! Quite convenient with Japanese supermarket right across the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Whittier, CA
Oct 10, 2010

Nice hotel

Polite and excellent service and great hospitality. The room was clean, modern and met my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Alpine Village is really close and a great place to hang out close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WHITE HALL 5000MACARTHUR BLVD OAKLAND CA
Oct 10, 2010

All of the them are great!

All of the them are very great , for the price is over the expect. The best thing I don't like is far away anywhere I want go to. Also the shuutle is only a few times in one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

MACY'S IS NEAR HERE!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top