$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

3 stars
21381 S. Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
106 reviews
Awesome Getaway From Home

The hotel location was great for a quiet getaway. Close to a Japanese supermarket for some midnight... See full review

  • Jeremy N.
  • Jan 12, 2015
nice trip

really really good to everything. very very very close to mituwa japanese big supermarket include... See full review

  • WiFiBear
  • Jan 12, 2015
Contemporary Los Angeles business hotel welcomes Japanese travelers
Experience the seamless interconnectedness of Japanese and Californian culture at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance, a hi-tech business class hotel in L.A.'s South Bay. LEED Silver certified initiatives include a 97-panel solar electrical system, low-flow plumbing, biodegradable bath products and the use of recycled materials. Japanese travelers find multilingual room service menus and TV channels. All guests of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance enjoy the full-service spa, on-site restaurant and complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and business services.
Highlights
  • Eco-luxury accents include ample natural light, delicate orchids and Harihara art
  • Free self-parking and airport shuttle
  • Japanese-American restaurant and sushi room service
  • Free business services
  • Stone sauna and Reiki therapy at full-service day spa
Location
L.A. coastal suburban community Torrance is convenient to Toyota, Honda and Long Beach Harbor. Proximity to the 110 and 405 freeways gives visitors of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance easy access to Hollywood in one direction and Disneyland in the other.
Rooms
The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance six-story property offers 208 cream-and-charcoal-hued rooms and suites with floor-to-ceiling windows and controlled air quality. Relax in a soft down and cotton bed or be productive with a professional desk. Modern fixtures include iPod docks, free Wi-Fi and 46-inch flat-screen TVs. Stone and glass bathrooms boast oversized tubs, heated water bidets and Natura or Aveda products. Recycling bins, Energy Star-rated refrigerators stocked with water and laptop safes are provided. The Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance is a non-smoking property. 
Features
Leave behind the rush at the quiet, spa-like Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. Find comfortable seating areas for business conversations in the lobby. Ask about currency exchange, fast dry cleaning and the 24-hour Wii-equipped fitness center on the second floor of the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance.
Dining
Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus as well as non-alcoholic drinks are served at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance's Ise-Shima at the Miyako restaurant which uses ingredients from local providers or Tsukjii Market in Tokyo. Try soba noodles, Kobe beef burgers and Edo-Mae sushi at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance. A full bar and room service also are available. The adjacent Mitsuwa Market Place offers Japanese restaurants, groceries and a bakery.
Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Long Beach Harbor (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Mitsuwa Market Place (adjacent)
  • The Links at Victoria Golf Course (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Redondo Beach Pier (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Los Angeles Convention Center (17.1 mi/27.6 km)
  • Disneyland (27.7 mi/44.6 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center 
  • Free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Copy, fax and print services
  • 5,000 square feet of naturally-lit meeting space accommodates up to 200 people
  • Hi-tech audio/visual equipment 
  • Event staff
  • Local and Japanese newspapers
Policies and fees
  • A valid credit card is required at check-in for incidentals. Hotel will place a $100 USD hold per night.
  • The on-site Ise-Shima at the Miyako restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages only until further notice.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
STANDARD - ROOM
Standard 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
46 LCD TV/DVD player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and shower
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive King
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower
Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive 2 Doubles
Alarm clock with I-Pod Docking Station
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Coffee maker/tea service
Iron and ironing board
Luxurious bedding - down comforters, custom duvets, cotton-rich linens Pillows down/feather Pillows
Two-line phone
52 LCD TV/DVD player
Blue ray player
Hair dryer
Separate Japanese style deep tub and separate rain shower Bathrobe Slippers
Branded Amenity Products

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Ise-Shima at the Miyako
Ise-Shima at the Miyako serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with non-alcoholic beverages only until further notice.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Versatile meeting and event space totals nearly 5,000 square feet. Four different rooms-Asuka, Yoshino, Nara, and Kyoto-are available for groups from 10-200, including outdoor space. The Nara and Kyoto rooms are often used for banquets and larger gatherings, and can be subdivided. Each also has access to an outdoor patio. The Asuka and Yoshino board rooms are ideal for work presentations and gatherings, featuring large conference tables equipped for A/V presentations, including projection screens built into the wood walls. The pre-function space between the rooms features a marble tile floor, accents of flowers and other greenery, as well as additional Harihara artworks. The hotel also features a complete business center, and staff that are able to assist meeting planners in setting up and executing events and meetings of all sizes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CharlesRubbish
Business
Texas
Sep 7, 2011

LOVED IT!!

Much needed vacation and this hotel very much helped to deliver! Beds are soft and ridiculously comfortable, shower and bath, plenty of room with a great view. No noise in the hallways or anywhere else...simply perfect. If you need comfort, don't look anywhere else, just stay here. Trust me! I've stayed here twice, and I can guarantee that anytime I'm in L.A., I'm staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're in the LA area, you can't leave without hitting Venice. You'll find items there you simply can't anywhere else...that and it's weird. It's the one way to know that you're really in L.A....there and Redondo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, CA
Aug 9, 2011

Relationship reconciliation

Everyone was very friendly and attentive to our needs- as we arrived and throughout our stay, including room service. Free parking was a plus for us, since we usually end up paying between $17-20 for parking at other nice hotels. The only thing I would suggest is for them to provide 24/7 room service rather than specific breakfast, lunch and dinner hours. Overall, my girlfriend and I felt welcomed throughout our stay and we enjoyed everything this place had to offer. We would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Orion, MI
Jul 11, 2011

Japanese hospitality in LA

Everyone - front desk, bellhops, cleaning staff - were extremely helpful and polite during my one week stay. The Japanese style breakfast was different and extremely tasty. The huge bath area was most refreshing after a day of touring and dealing with LA traffic. The entire hotel is impeccably clean. Much thought has been put into the details - the off-lighting, wallpaper, carpeting, Broadway show tunes playing in the lobby and Japanese music in the restaurant. My only regret was not taking advantage of the spa facilities. I will on my next visit. In all a stay at the Miyako Hybrid is a unique and enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want restaurants within walking distance, you have a problem. But everything worthwhile in LA requires some driving. There are some good inexpensive restaurants just a few miles to the south and west of the hotel. Coco's is a very good California chain with calorie conscious selections and their own bakery. There is one on Western Avenue a few miles to the south and one on Pacific Coast Highway - just a few miles to the southwest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 5, 2011

Beautiful Hotel

The description given for this hotel is very accurate. The staff are very efficient, polite and friendly. The hotel is beautiful. I would definetely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsport, MD
Jul 4, 2011

Best hotel I' ve ever stayed at!!

My boyfriend, sisters, and I decided to go to Los Angeles for vacation. After looking through pages and pages of hotels that were really expensive, we found Miyako Hybrid Hotel in Torrance. It was still a bit expensive, but the pictures looked very inviting. I read some reviews that said it was in a less than desirable location, but everything else was good. When we arrived, I thought the location was great. It was very quiet around the hotel and there was a gas station and McDonalds right up the street. When we entered the hotel, we were greeted by a bellboy and the people working at the front desk. They called us Ms and Mr ______, which I thought was very nice. They also greeted us by name each time they saw us. It was a quick checkin and a nice young man carried our bags to our rooms for us. When in the room, he showed us around and told us about all of the amenities the hotel had to offer. I was very impressed with the room. It had a large flat screen TV, iPod docking station, heated toilet seat, and large shower with soaking tub. This hotel was perfect for our needs. It was only about 20 minutes from LAX and other spots in LA. There was free parking in front of the hotel, and another lot right across the street. If I ever go back to the area, I will definitely be staying at Miyako Hybrid Hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OhMaiSeoul
Business
Seoul, South Korea
Jun 1, 2011

What a Treat!

I used to travel 3 weeks a month as part of my job, and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels both in the US and in Asia. When I say this was in the top THREE, I am not exaggerating! What made the experience so special, was the personal attention/service that I was not expecting! After check in, a hotel concierge walked me to my room, showed me the features, and got me all set up! I am a CA native, and was only staying for a few nights for R&R, but out of towners would enjoy this little retreat! The location is a bit blah, but really, the service makes up for it. I went to a Dubunne Day Spa about 15 minutes away, and also to a shopping/restaurant area about 25 minutes away. The only thing I used in the immediate area was a Ralphs which was a short 3 minute drive. Great room, great decor, SUPERB service! Check out the Miyako!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rolling Hills AMC and Shopping area (West of the hotel, also in Torrance) is less than 25 minutes away if you want a bit more of the city life that South Bay has to offer. This is your best bet if you don't want to drive all the way into LA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gardena, ca
May 18, 2011

fantastic more then expected

i enjoy the spa the food it was real good. just what i expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MATIMO
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 29, 2011

Incredible Hotel

I was really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. To me it seems like it should be a four star. The decor if top notch. The rooms are spacious and full of nice amenities. Plus, the service is solid. I have stayed here three times now for business and feel it is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lawmanpaul
Business
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Apr 24, 2011

Japanese Style and Attentive Service

Modern hotel with large rooms, each with refrigerator, coffee maker and tea maker, big screen TV, DVD player and WiFi, plus ultra modern "Japanese style" bathroom with deluxe heated toilet/bidet (don't laugh if you don't know/check it out)and Japanese soaking tub (nice!). Typical of hotel service in Japan, staff is crisp, attentive and efficient. We had an A/C problem with room that was promptly addressed and, when issue could not be corrected to our satisfaction, a replacement room was immediately provided. If you have business or contacts in the Torrance Japanese community, this is the place - and it's also fine if you just want a good hotel very close to I-405 and not too far from the airport. One annoyance: their web site correctly advertises airport shuttle service, but fails to state it only runs at select times during peak morning and late afternoon hours. If you need shuttle at other times (we arrived at airport 12:45 p.m.) and don't have or want a rental car you'll have an expensive cab or shuttle fare (approximately $42 each way). Contrary to some other comments, we experienced no street noise at all, not even on the second floor, where we spent our first night. Note, this is a bedroom community, so unless you have business with a number of Japanese companies in the neighborhood (Toyota, Honda, etc.) there's not much to do ---except for the large well-stocked Japanese market right behind the hotel. Many restaurants in easy driving distance. Restaurant on premises features Japanese or American buffet breakfast, including hot custom service for eggs. Hotel features an elegant day spa (with typical "upscale prices/service) which I toured but did not use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese market across the street, with several ethnic restaurants and lots of food (packaged, cold or fresh baked) items you can take back to room and keep in the small fridge for those late night "snack attacks" or even a pretty good do-it-yourself breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel Torrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Apr 24, 2011

excellent hotel

The staff - All Staff - are 5-Star people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top