$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

3 stars
1925, West 190th Street, Torrance, CA 90504
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
Just What I Needed Before A Jiu-Jitsu Tournament

I am going to start with my only complaint. Please use softer toilet paper, or travellers should... See full review

  • King Of Sleep Bee
  • Sep 11, 2013
Comfortable and clean

Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly. Close to 405 freeway which was convenient. See full review

  • IDasilva
  • Apr 4, 2014
Visit the Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay and experience stylish and convenient accommodations in South Bay near downtown Los Angeles and LAX airport. Our Torrance hotel has an ideal location, putting guests in the middle of a variety of Southern California attractions including Manhattan Beach, StubHub Center, Queen Mary and the U.S. headquarters of Honda and Toyota. Enjoy our South Bay hotel's high-tech lobby featuring flexible space to work and relax, free Wi-Fi and easy access to up-to-date news, weather and local information via our GoBoard. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. allows guests to enjoy a variety of healthy breakfast and dinner options without having to leave our South Bay hotel. Smartly redesigned rooms at this hotel in Torrance, California, provide the optimal mix of relaxation and flexible functionality. When downtime arises, take a dip in our pool or stay in stride at our on-site fitness center. Whether for work or play, come experience the convenience of our South Bay hotel.

Hotel Map

33.8584 -118.3118
Area served
Torrance
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 10.00, MI, SE; Long Beach Airport, (LGB), 15.00, MI, NW; John Wayne Airport-Orange County, (SNA), 30.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
The Bistro offers convenient and refreshing Torrance dining options for breakfast and dinner. Enjoy a specialty Starbucks beverage by day or wind down with a cocktail at night, making your happy hour in Torrance convenient and relaxing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kitty cat lady
dallas, tx
Jan 7, 2011

Good Enough for Us

This place was under renovation so within a few months, I believe it'll look much better. They were doing construction on their first floor including their lobby, so the check in was done at a temporary side area. The front girl was okay. She made a joke but unfortunately it came across as if she's very sarcastic. I say she shouldn't even joke with her guests if she's too tired. The whole building is non-smoking and I was asked to sign that I wouldn't smoke or I'd pay $250 penalty. I guess there are many Japanese native guests who smoke in their rooms. We stayed on the third floor and our room was already renovated so everything looked nice and new. They had complimentary coffee and tea which were nice but the one of the glass was dirty even though it was wrapped as cleaned. Besides that, another complain about the room is the bed comforter smelled very weird. My guess is it's a smell of tabacco. I don't know if they washed it but couldn't get rid of the smell or they just put the new cover on it. That bugged me so much but I was dog tired so I was able to sleep. Our room was facing the enterance ramp to 405 and it was noisy, especially after 5:30 am. If you are sensitive to the noise, you might want to ask for the room which is away from the freeway. Overall, it was a good enough stay for us but they should take a look at their cleaning staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are Walmart and a few fast food places near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA Horror Queen
San Francisco, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Close to Freeways

The hotel was remodeling/upgrading and the receptionist at the front desk was pleasant/funny and gave us one of the newly remodeled rooms on the top floor so we did not have to hear the construction going on. I was a little disappointed because there was no free breakfast which I thought was advertised. Also, there was only one mirror above the sink (no full length mirror anywhere in the room) and no hair dryer. The hotel also charged me for the bottled water which we did not use. There is a strip mall about a mile down so if you are looking for late night fast food you have a few to choose from. The location is far from all major attractions - 30 minutes from downtown LA, 15 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Long Beach - but it is close to all the freeways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karciga
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 25, 2010

Service Opinion

Loved the service, but since construction was going on it was a disturbance for those trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver Colorado
Oct 24, 2010

My awakening trip

the hotel was nice and the room was clean and neat. They did use a lot of bleach in the linen though so when you took a nice hot shower the bed was a little on the just fresh out of the washer scent. Microwaves are good to have in some units. I think since they were remodeling during the day, they should have granted a lower rate or say a free breakfast due to the pounding and clumping on the ceilings. This made it hard to rest in the afternoon after a long morning. I typically stay in Santa Monica hotels, but this was a mistake I made when selecting my preference. I loved the courtyard and flowers., well manicured lawn. Good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Oct 3, 2010

Room=OK, Staffs=Best

I think my neighbor had 3-4 kids in the room, and the noise at night was unbearable--the kids were screaming and jumping all round. It was midnight, and I finally had to call front desk to complain. The front desk staff was very kind. He found another room far away from the problematic room for me, and I was able to switch room right away and sleep well that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kingoftheroad
phoenx
Jun 21, 2010

Decent location, clean

Made a quick drive to Redondo Pier from hotel, enjoyed the bike path and sunset there. I am super glad the jacuzzi and pool open early and stay open late

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CEI
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 16, 2010

Business & family getaway

I try to combine my business trip with a family vacation. This is our second year to stay at this hotel. The location is great and the staff is excellent (friendly and very helpful). There's also a convenient car rental at a Toyota dealer around the next block which is much cheaper and less stressful than renting and driving from LAX. The hotel is near the Del Amo Mall and the freeway entrance/exit which makes it easier to get around. Torrance is a nice area and has a lot of good restaurants to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My family drove down to Redondo Beach and asked one of the locals about dining places. They were referred to a shop that didn't look like much from the outside, but on the inside -- you got to pick your own fresh seafood where it was then cooked for you. They enjoyed it tremendously!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Mateo, ca
May 25, 2010

Average at best

The good: Courteous staff. Good rate. Nice Pool. The bad: Coffee grind found in bathroom sink when we checked in. Roomed smelled like smoke. Would recommend this hotel for the price. But they need to CLEAN up their rooms a bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Maria, CA
May 19, 2010

OK......BUT.......

HOTEL was fine however the ONE day in my life I had to sleep in housekeeping was POUNDING on the door at 8:00am wanting to clean. Once up I couldnt get back to sleep. Blankets on bed were minimal. brrrr. Otherwise no other problems. It was clean and fine for the price we paid. We stayed here because it was close to what we need to be at the next day....but overall area a block or two away is not so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston Mass
Mar 16, 2010

Good location

Visit no average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search