$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

3 stars
View map of 1925, West 190th Street, Torrance, CA 90504

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Foodie trip
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Jun 2, 2013

Good location

Great staff and a great location. Easy freeway access to the 405. Other Marriots have better mattresses. Rooms are a little outdated but overall a good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mommasossy
Business
East Valley, AZ
May 22, 2013

Manager needs training, or anger management!

We picked this place because it was half way between LAX and the cruise terminal in Long Beach and right off the 405 Freeway. Felt like an industrial part of LA and not good for walking anywhere to eat. We arrived late and resorted to their snack area for dinner. Gathered a few items like a pre-made sandwich and chips and Snackables and a beverage. We checked out at the front dest after waiting for the manager who had just lost her cool with the couple in front of us. We questioned our total as it was $6.00 more than it should have been. We had her go over the price of the items and when she came to the sandwich she said it was $8.95. The sign said 3.00. She argued with us that they are $8.95 and we brought her the sign which listed all the items in the snack area and it was clearly $3.00. She grabbed it away and scratched out the price with a marker and changed it. Never a "Sorry" or "Our fault" or "If that is what the printed sign says, I am happy to honor it".... Then we got up to the room and it was 90+ degrees. My husband tried to adjust the digital thermostat and could not get it to even show a readout. He went back to the front desk and when he explained it to her she argued he had evidently not pushed the right buttons. He would not back down until she promised to send up a maintenance person. I was now after 11:00 pm and we are sitting in a sweltering room waiting for fix it or change rooms and eat our $8.95 cellophane half pre made sandwich for dinner. The maintenance man came up and HE was very nice. "Oh dear, your air conditioning is broken"! We finally got a new room after another trip down to the front desk....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zzzman
Business
Calgary, Alberta
Aug 28, 2012

OK for short trip gateway

The hotel is OK. The washroom would need to be updated. Our room had a bad smell coming from the bath tub. The service is very slow for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tuaoi
Business
San Diego, California
Aug 16, 2012

Family Stay - Just the 4 of us.

When we checked in at the front desk..there was no luggage cart available, it was no prob...Adrian at the front desk was very apologetic and handed us a bag of goodies, my kids appreciated that! When we got into our room there was a foul smell coming from the bathroom. I immediately called the front desk and Luiz the maintenance person came up right away to check it out. Adrian at the front desk then gave us another room that was much, much better...same layout and all with no funny smell. Anyway, when I booked my room online I thought I was getting a room with two beds but instead a 1 king and a pull out bed from the sofa. No biggie. My kids, 12 & 13 thought a pullout bed was cool! lol. Our experience at this hotel - Beds are comfortable. Love the pillows!! Love, love, love the comforters. My family and I are weird about cleanliness and these are the first beds, pillows and comforters I trusted not to spray with Lysol or cover with my own sheets to sleep on. The staff are quick and helpful. The patio area is beautiful and quiet. My husband and I enjoyed our drink every night out in the patio area during our stay and there were no loud noises or obnoxious guests around! Very peaceful! Too bad pool/sauna is closed early. Wish there was starbucks coffee in the room. No lotion, just shampoo/conditioner and soap but, that's okay, we brought our own toiletries. Overall, I recommend this place for traveling families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I brought a small cooler with drinks. Water, sodas, juices. The water bottles sitting on the counter by the coffee maker are $3.50 each. Oh yeah, we added more ice into our small cooler from the ice maker.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salsa Lover
Business
San Dieto, CA
Aug 10, 2012

Great Place to Stay

This was a great place to stay. The room is very nice, modern and clean. The bed is very comfortable. The little bistro in the lobby has great food. I wish I could have used the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El Soltero
Business
Sea Town, WA
Aug 5, 2012

Perfect for a getaway

Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Was able to check in and out very fast and had everything we needed in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty I.
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 27, 2012

Good value

Jacuzzi needs to be cleaner! But the rest was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott the Home Finder
Business
Pasadena, Maryland
Jul 25, 2012

Home Finding Trip

The location of the hotel was in the center of my area I was looking for and very close to the Realtor's office. The pool deck offered a welcome retreat from the home finding after the days end. The Bistro was perfect for grabbing a tasty made to order breakfast or dinner! The 24 hour market was perfect for picking up drinks or snacks. The room had all the amenities I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cere
Business
Tacoma, WA
Jul 24, 2012

College Basketball

My son is a freshman. We attended his first college basketball tournament. This hotel was perfect. The location was great and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Torrance South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuband
Business
Lancaster, CA
Jul 23, 2012

Weekend stay

I got to Torrance early the morning of my stay and they let me check in early. Very friendly staff. The room was very quiet even though it's right to the 405. Easy access to the freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top