$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

2 stars
View map of 222 South Airport Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
46 reviews
family outing in California for the first time

worth the value for the amount spent. It's good if you are planning to see around and use the hotel... See full review

  • DEBABRATA G.
  • May 19, 2015
Basic hotel

The hotel was basic and normal, nothing spectacular. There was no pool or spa, and the deluxe... See full review

  • QueenMarina
  • Apr 6, 2015
After a long day exploring the Palace of Fine Arts, discovering Fishermans Wharf, or shopping in Chinatown, come back to the Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO, comfortably park your car right in front of your hotel room for free, and rest your weary body in a soft and comfy bed. In the evening, enjoy a decadent meal in the famous Haight/Ashbury district, just minutes away from our hotel. When you wake up, meet our friendly staff in the hotel lobby, Breakfast included, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and fresh coffee awaits you. Located right across the street from the South San Francisco Convention center and just minutes away the San Francisco Airport, we provide a free 24 hour Airport Shuttle Service. At the Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO, your expectations for high standards in quality, cleanliness, and service are matched only by our staffs dedication to please you. Every room is newly remodeled and includes an coffee/tea maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, In-Room Safe, Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Microwave, Refrigerator, and 25 inch Cable TV with HBO/ESPN. At the Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO, you will always be treated like royalty. Sorry No Pets Allowed. No Refunds For - No Shows And Early Check Outs.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
24 hour front desk
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DEBABRATA G.
Business
Dublin
May 19, 2015

family outing in California for the first time

worth the value for the amount spent. It's good if you are planning to see around and use the hotel just for staying at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QueenMarina
Business
Fullerton
Apr 6, 2015

Basic hotel

The hotel was basic and normal, nothing spectacular. There was no pool or spa, and the deluxe breakfast wasn't anything special. The hotel definitely wouldn't be worth the regular price, but I was able to use Orbucks to make it much more reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quick Visitor1
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Aug 3, 2014

Worth it for a short stay

The staff was very friendly and helpful. My iron didn't work and the woman at the front desk gave me a new one within 5 minutes. The room was clean. There is a lot of traffic noise from the highway which I'm used to, but the airplanes fly directly overhead which can be very loud. Worse, the outside walls are paper thin, so you can hear people slamming doors and talking outside. But it was exactly what I needed for one night. And the continental breakfast was good. Easy access to the bus which runs into town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adrian1
Business
Tehachapi, Ca
Jul 15, 2014

Review

We chose this motel because we needed to be near a BART station. Staff was very professional and pleasant. Downside is that the noise from airplanes taking off are loud, but not much the motel can do about that. It is great for proximity to SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the Giannone fam
Business
El Dorado, ca
Jun 24, 2014

not good

I read the reviews so I fully expected to have a "you get what you pay for experience" with it being a cheaper hotel I definitely wasn't expecting much. The staff checking in was friendly. The room was alright. But there was a huge problem... After taking a shower the water in the room would not shut off. Not just a little drip either... Full on loud echoing downpour. I called it in, he said he'd be there shortly. Twenty minutes later we were so annoyed that my husband went in and strong armed it into a drip. Still loud and annoying, but ignorable at least. He finally came up to check about thirty minutes later and said "oh it's just a drip can you tolerate it" my husband agreed (I didn't) and he was on his way. It never stopped dripping. The next night after showering no amount of strong arming would make it stop pouring. It was loud, echoing and too late to call someone to fix it. So we turned the TV up to try to drown thr sound out. And then tried to sleep through the TV noises, airplanes overhead, and gushing water in the bathroom. All night At check out I complained and he said he'd have a manager call me... Two days later I've still not heard back from them and for this reason I'm furious. Their lack of response is really what makes this place a one star hotel. Spend an.extra $20 a night and stay at a nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jazzerbg
Business
Sioux City, IA, USA
Jun 6, 2014

Airport access

This was a typical old style motel. It was clean and had been updated, but was still a tired old building. There was a huge gap under the door that let light and potentially vermin into the room. Proximity to the airport was great for a non-traffic escape, but yes you could hear every plane that took off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rho D
Business
Fresno, CA
Mar 1, 2014

Disappointed experience

Only good things about this experience was the friendly staff and the location.. The rooms had a musk smell once you came back at the end of the day.. We had to turn on AC to get air flowing. The breakfast was very small and ran out of items very fast... Once items were gone no replacement was offered...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

San Francisco was very close...

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Pipo
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 26, 2014

San Francisco vacation

Pretty average motel, if you're just planning to sleep there and don't expect too much I'd say it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sid and janie
Business
palmdale ca
Dec 3, 2013

great

Very clean, close to restaurants and attractions. Staff very clean and courteous enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn South San Francisco SFO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TiffTiggy
Business
Fullerton, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Not bad

Not bad of a hotel. Prices is okay. Parking is kind of small. It's great that the hotel is 2 mins away from the Bart Station

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top