$40 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Pinewood Inn

1 star
3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
74 reviews
One night stay

It was perfect for our one night stay. I only say one staff member and that's when I was checking... See full review

  • Em Leigh
  • Jul 21, 2014
great deal

despite neg reviews about the staff i found them to be helpfull and friendly... rooms are old but... See full review

  • whelhung fishbanger
  • Nov 4, 2013
Located within minutes of the areas best casinos skiing and entertainment the Pinewood Inn is also near several restaurants and beaches. Pets up to 50 lbs. are allowed for a fee of 25.00 USD per pet per night. Property amenities include internet access and free parking. Pinewood Inn is nestled between Ski Run Boulevard to Heavenly Ski Resort and Heavenlys Gondola on Highway 50. Rooms at the Pinewood Inn feature a microwave and refrigerator and other standard amenities. Available room types consist of king beds with inroom spa as well as queen double and single rooms. There is a charge of 25 for pets.

Hotel Map

38.9508 -119.9514
Area served
San Francisco, Reno, Sacramento, Placerville, Carson City, South Lake Tahoe
Nearby airports
Reno-Tahoe International, (RNO), 55.00, MI, W; Sacramento International, (SMF), 116.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Hwy 50 toward Lake Tahoe

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pinewood Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Pinewood Inn Rooms

1 King Bed NS
Description not provided
2 Queen Bed NS
Description not provided
3 Queen Bed NS
Description not provided
1 King Bed Spa NS
Description not provided
1 Bed Queen & 1King Bed Adjoinin
Description not provided
MONTHLY 1 Queen Bed SMO
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed Smoking
Description not provided
1 King Bed Spa SMOKING
Description not provided
2 Double Bed NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Pinewood Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 74
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Smokey
Petaluma, ca
Feb 26, 2014

Good price - Low end motel

It is close to ski run blvd / heavenly california lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jalexington
Berkeley, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Cheap, Clean, and Cozy

$36 for a clean, cozy room after 3 feet of fresh snow at Kirkwood works for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tailgate
Sacramento, CA
Jul 6, 2013

Alright then

My upstairs room didn't have A/C (just fan) and so to let air come through the one window, I had to open curtain, lose just about all privacy.(some downstairs rooms had A/C) I never had a hotel mgr tell me before, "if I see you have a guest, there's a $100 additional charge, room is only for ONE person." Aren't motel/hotel room always 1-2 persons?? Strange. Uncomfortable watching mgr jot down my cc# on hard copy paper/registration (mgr will really later shred registration cardr?) TV, fridge, microwave. Pleasant 10-15 mins walk to stateline. casinos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

10-15 mins walk to stateline casinos.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri Travlin Man
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Jun 19, 2013

BASIC

Okay , just basic but I don't need fancy. Short walk to lake and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I was alone so don't need fancy just a shower and a bed were fine.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri Travlin Man
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Jun 12, 2013

Basic

Basic, good for single person. Convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Basic

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Defaultmsgabortretryfail
san jose, ca
May 5, 2013

Old, dirty rooms

This is the cheapest hotel in South Lake Tahoe. It's pretty far from the casinos. The hotel staff did not have my reservation on file. I make a lot of online hotel reservations and I have never before had a problem with the reservation. I had made the reservation on the road and did not have a copy of the receipt myself to prove I had a reservation. I was able to log on to my cell phone via WIFI and show the hotel staff my email from online and they finally let me have a room. If I stay here again it won't be through this company. The room was dirty and smelled horrible. The bed was cheap but ok, the pillows were disgusting and I'll sleep anywhere, but I wouldn't use that pillow. All of the sheets had holes and mysterious stains. The carpets were more black/brown/stained than carpet. The carpet thing is pretty normal around this area, it's from everyone not cleaning their gear after skiing. I think all of the light fixtures were missing their shades. Don't expect much; the local campgrounds cost almost twice as much as I paid here, lol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ed man
Charleston, SC
Sep 11, 2012

Convenience and Value

When I travel a place to hang my hat and rest my touring body is all I require. This facility met all my needs in a "very" convenient location at a "very" modest cost. Virtually accross street from the Lake Tahoe and within walking distance to dining, groceries, and tourist attractions common to such locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything from laundromat to casinos.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mondo wyo
Wyoming, USA
Dec 6, 2011

A good deal.

Clean, convenient, a little old and worn, but a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tahoe, CA
May 4, 2010

Good hotel for transient laborers

The hotel is old worn and shabby, the carpet has stains from workboots that wear a path from the door to the bed to the bathroom. There is someone's initials carved on the wood paneling. The room was clean, but shabby. It is a good value for the 20 dollar price, especially if you are not picky. I sensed a scam when I checked in because they offered to show me the room I reserved, and an "upgraded room". When I said that I would take the room I reserved, and that I was not interested in looking at the "upgraded room", they gave me the "upgraded room" anyways. Sounded like a scam to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Casinos are an easy 1/2 mile drive.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tahoe, CA
May 4, 2010

Good hotel for transient laborers

The hotel is old worn and shabby, the carpet has stains from workboots that wear a path from the door to the bed to the bathroom. There is someone's initials carved on the wood paneling. The room was clean, but shabby. It is a good value for the 20 dollar price, especially if you are not picky. I sensed a scam when I checked in because they offered to show me the room I reserved, and an "upgraded room". When I said that I would take the room I reserved, and that I was not interested in looking at the "upgraded room", they gave me the "upgraded room" anyways. Sounded like a scam to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Casinos are an easy 1/2 mile drive.

Back to menu Return to top