$25 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Pinewood Inn

1 star
View map of 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Good Price for Location

In middle of all the attractions Least bothering staff and good value for money See full review

  • Sfaisalshafi
  • Jan 23, 2015
A dependable budget option in Tahoe

The Pinewood Inn has cozy rooms with fridges and microwaves (great if you're on a budget), is... See full review

  • Jalexington
  • Jan 15, 2015
Located within minutes of the areas best casinos skiing and entertainment the Pinewood Inn is also near several restaurants and beaches. Pets up to 50 lbs. are allowed for a fee of 25.00 USD per pet per night. Property amenities include internet access and free parking. Pinewood Inn is nestled between Ski Run Boulevard to Heavenly Ski Resort and Heavenlys Gondola on Highway 50. Rooms at the Pinewood Inn feature a microwave and refrigerator and other standard amenities. Available room types consist of king beds with inroom spa as well as queen double and single rooms. There is a charge of 25 for pets.

Top hotels

Pinewood Inn Rooms

1 King Bed NS
Description not provided
2 Queen Bed NS
Description not provided
3 Queen Bed NS
Description not provided
1 King Bed Spa NS
Description not provided
1 Bed Queen & 1King Bed Adjoinin
Description not provided
WEEKLY 1 Queen Bed SMO
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed Smoking
Description not provided
1 King Bed Spa SMOKING
Description not provided
2 Double Bed NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pinewood Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 65
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
eagle
Business
Pleasanton
Jan 28, 2015

won't again

we asked for a non-smoking room but we can smell smoke all the time. the place location is good but facilities are bad. won't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When see one star review, don't try it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jalexington
Business
Berkeley
Jan 15, 2015

A dependable budget option in Tahoe

The Pinewood Inn has cozy rooms with fridges and microwaves (great if you're on a budget), is walking distance to Heavenly and the casinos, and usually costs less than $50 / night. Tough to beat that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maya's Grill is a 10 minute walk and has super tasty Mexican food at a decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Special K 831
Business
Watsonville
Jan 7, 2015

Great for a nights rest

I come to Tahoe to hike its impressive mountains and therefore only needed a quick, cheap place to stay for the night. This location fit the bill perfectly and although the location is a bit run down and dated the over amenities (microwave, mini fridge) outweighed the $16 per night cost. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Relatively close to the casinos if you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron's Reviews
Business
Bay-Area, CA
Oct 22, 2014

Good Value

Better than expected and actually very nice room with in-room spa. Animals accepted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Smokey
Business
Petaluma, ca
Feb 26, 2014

Good price - Low end motel

It is close to ski run blvd / heavenly california lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jalexington
Business
Berkeley, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Cheap, Clean, and Cozy

$36 for a clean, cozy room after 3 feet of fresh snow at Kirkwood works for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tailgate
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 6, 2013

Alright then

My upstairs room didn't have A/C (just fan) and so to let air come through the one window, I had to open curtain, lose just about all privacy.(some downstairs rooms had A/C) I never had a hotel mgr tell me before, "if I see you have a guest, there's a $100 additional charge, room is only for ONE person." Aren't motel/hotel room always 1-2 persons?? Strange. Uncomfortable watching mgr jot down my cc# on hard copy paper/registration (mgr will really later shred registration cardr?) TV, fridge, microwave. Pleasant 10-15 mins walk to stateline. casinos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

10-15 mins walk to stateline casinos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri Travlin Man
Business
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Jun 19, 2013

BASIC

Okay , just basic but I don't need fancy. Short walk to lake and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I was alone so don't need fancy just a shower and a bed were fine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri Travlin Man
Business
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Jun 12, 2013

Basic

Basic, good for single person. Convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Basic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Defaultmsgabortretryfail
Business
san jose, ca
May 5, 2013

Old, dirty rooms

This is the cheapest hotel in South Lake Tahoe. It's pretty far from the casinos. The hotel staff did not have my reservation on file. I make a lot of online hotel reservations and I have never before had a problem with the reservation. I had made the reservation on the road and did not have a copy of the receipt myself to prove I had a reservation. I was able to log on to my cell phone via WIFI and show the hotel staff my email from online and they finally let me have a room. If I stay here again it won't be through this company. The room was dirty and smelled horrible. The bed was cheap but ok, the pillows were disgusting and I'll sleep anywhere, but I wouldn't use that pillow. All of the sheets had holes and mysterious stains. The carpets were more black/brown/stained than carpet. The carpet thing is pretty normal around this area, it's from everyone not cleaning their gear after skiing. I think all of the light fixtures were missing their shades. Don't expect much; the local campgrounds cost almost twice as much as I paid here, lol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top