$22 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Pinewood Inn

1 star
3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
56 reviews
Good Value

Better than expected and actually very nice room with in-room spa. Animals accepted. See full review

  • Ron's Reviews
  • Oct 22, 2014
One night stay

It was perfect for our one night stay. I only say one staff member and that's when I was checking... See full review

  • Em Leigh
  • Jul 21, 2014
Located within minutes of the areas best casinos skiing and entertainment the Pinewood Inn is also near several restaurants and beaches. Pets up to 50 lbs. are allowed for a fee of 25.00 USD per pet per night. Property amenities include internet access and free parking. Pinewood Inn is nestled between Ski Run Boulevard to Heavenly Ski Resort and Heavenlys Gondola on Highway 50. Rooms at the Pinewood Inn feature a microwave and refrigerator and other standard amenities. Available room types consist of king beds with inroom spa as well as queen double and single rooms. There is a charge of 25 for pets.

Hotel Map

38.9508 -119.9514
Area served
San Francisco, Reno, Sacramento, Placerville, Carson City, South Lake Tahoe
Nearby airports
Reno-Tahoe International, (RNO), 55.00, MI, W; Sacramento International, (SMF), 116.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Hwy 50 toward Lake Tahoe

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pinewood Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Pinewood Inn Rooms

1 King Bed NS
Description not provided
2 Queen Bed NS
Description not provided
3 Queen Bed NS
Description not provided
1 King Bed Spa NS
Description not provided
1 Bed Queen & 1King Bed Adjoinin
Description not provided
WEEKLY 1 Queen Bed SMO
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed Smoking
Description not provided
1 King Bed Spa SMOKING
Description not provided
2 Double Bed NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Pinewood Inn

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 56
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mattbreso123
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2014

UNSAFE MOTEL, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

While checking in at this motel, I noticed that the guy working at the front desk was unusually rude and bossy. I got the feeling that he felt he was doing a favor by helping us, and didn't want to be there. While entering the room, I noticed that the front screen was severely damaged, like someone had tried to brake in before. While in the room, we kept hearing strange voices from next door, which was incredibly creepy. We just assumed they were guest of the hotel. The volume of there voices could be heard at full volume, as if the walls were paper thin. Anyway, we were exhausted, so we hit the sheets and tried to get in a good night's rest. Anyway, at 1AM, we heard a loud thump coming from our bathroom. I quickly got up and turned on the lights, and realized there was someone in our bathroom!!! Needless to say, my girlfriend and I were both terrified. We called the police, who came out to the property, and notified us that this is a regular occurrence. I went to the front desk to notify the management of the break-in, and they could have cared less. I told them that we were checking out, and going to stay at another hotel nearby. I told her that I was obviously going to expect a full refund on the room. The hotel has fought us every step of the way in trying to prevent us from getting a refund. The worst hotel experience I've ever had, and I'm a very experienced traveler. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS, LEARN FROM OUR MISTAKE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wandering86
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Budget Minded Room

My husband and I have been here a few times. It's nothing fancy, BUT it does have a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. We live in Sacramento, CA and liek to run up to Tahoe for hiking or playing at the Casinos and can often find low low rates on the off weekends. We are only paying about $30 usually so we don't have high expectations. Don't expect any thrills but an affordable place to sleep :) **ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL!!!! Can walk aroudn the bed and thats pretty much it, good for a couple, wouldn't recommend any more than 2 people in a room, NOT ideal for kids**

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whelhung fishbanger
Business
norcal
Nov 4, 2013

great deal

despite neg reviews about the staff i found them to be helpfull and friendly... rooms are old but with a but have a nice rustic cabin feel.. room was clean and had ref. microwave, and coffee maker.. when looking for a decent place to crash close to everything on the cheap this is a safe choice...this is not a luxury resort by any means but i got a spa room with a king bed and no roaches for 45 bucks... what more can you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

red hut.. where the locals eat.. great breakfast.. awesome bloody marys with jallapeno bacon garnish

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racey New
Business
Lincoln, ca
Oct 30, 2012

Great location & price

Nice stay. Old but clean rooms. Comfortable beds & rooms clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gypsy Traveler 2012
Business
Napa, ca
Aug 24, 2012

WOW!! $25 Midweek, what a deal!!!

Great deal in a good location, even had a frig and microwave. Free wifi to top it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TahoeVisitor1111
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 25, 2012

Good Location

Were looking for something close to the casinos that did not cost much money. This hotel fit those requirements. It was nice that the room had a refrigerator and microwave. Only ammenity that was a real challenge was the size of the bathroom to accomodate 3 people. But we made it work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JoeR21
Business
Modesto, California
May 26, 2012

Great Price Horrible service

This was a very cheap hotel, it was good for a night but it was disgusting. we had to use our clothes as pillows! we didn't want to get under the blankets cause it was gross!.... Because we got such a great price the hotel put us in the worst room in the place the rooms were much much nicer towards the front of the hotel. i asked for fresh towels the guy up front said we would have to pay for towels as we had been provided towels. too bad they weren't clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new to the snow
Business
santa rosa ca
Mar 5, 2012

snowboard trip

IT WAS NICE AND INEXPENSIVE AND RIGHT ON THE STRIP

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carson City, NV
Aug 11, 2011

Great location for an unbeatable price

This is a great place to stay for really cheap. The carpet is in need of replacement!! And this hotel could definatley use some upgrading. But considering it was about 25 a night I'm not going to complain. great price for an okay hotel. The location is great very close to the lake! :0)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brewery has great brews and amazing pizza!! Yumm!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 28, 2011

i've stayed in nicer hostels...

The best part about this hotel is the location. We were walking distance to Stateline and other restaurants/shops. Other than that, this was the worst hotel room i've ever paid for. Super small and dingy, I hit my head on the TV twice (I'm not a very tall/big person). The towels were stained and ragged, though they looked washed. I kept instinctively looking for cockroaches, but don't think there were any. Everything in the room was beat up, stained, crooked and worn. It also reeked of cigarettes (it WAS a smoking room so I can't complain). However, when we checked in I asked if there were any non-smoking available, the desk person told me that I reserved the cheapest room so I had to have that one. Ok. I'm not usually very picky, but this place made me itchy! It was the cheapest room we could find on a Sat night in South Shore. Next time I will look for the second cheapest :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Driftwood Cafe was a cute little place to have brunch. It was fairly priced and a nice break from all the chain restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top