Pinewood Inn

1 star
View map of 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pinewood Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
college skier2
Friends
Oakland, CA
Mar 25, 2013

if you absolutely want the cheapest

the entire place looks quite run-down. Bed sheet has holes on it. ALL TOWELS got yellow stains!!!! Will not stay at this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
True World Traveller
San Francisco, California
Mar 11, 2013

This place gets a bad rap - it's quite decent for a 1-star

I have to say this motel gets a pretty bad rap from the reviews here. For a 1-star property it is quite decent if you are just going skiing. Room was clean, decent size, and had new carpeting. The couple checking us in did warn us about the strict no smoking policy. I agree that the towels and hand soap are very thin. We brought our own...do that and you'll be fine. Strong heater worked well but was too loud at times. Some of the other guests were loud at night until another guest yelled at them to quiet down. Other than that the room was decent and I would not hesitate to stay here again to go skiing. I wouldn't say that there are many restaurants within walking distance, but they are definitely within a very short drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of restaurants within a very short drive, as well as a large "Raleys" grocery store.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jr dad
Family
carmichael
Jan 8, 2013

Ok but needs help

The Pinewood inn itself is OK, but needs some help. The room we requested didn't lock. The deadbolt wouldn't work, and the regular lock could easily be pushed open. To me that is totally unacceptable. We had to pack all our stuff up so we wouldn't worry about it getting stolen. We left a day early as a result. It is difficult to give a fair assessment because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skibunny35
Family
Virginia
Jan 6, 2013

Price was right

Clean bed, dirty carpet, O.K. bathroom. Fridge will wake up light sleeper. 3 minute drive from heavenly, walking distance to gondola, 1 mile to casinos. Watch out for added pet fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Racey New
Couples
Lincoln, ca
Oct 30, 2012

Great location & price

Nice stay. Old but clean rooms. Comfortable beds & rooms clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ann Angry
Family
Bay Area
Sep 18, 2012

BAD HOTEL experience gateaway

Disappointed. The people who manage this hotel treat you like a criminal especially the woman whose in office. BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE. She don't have the right to check whose in my car what's in my car, NO EDUCATION. Never I will recommend this HOTEL, never......... We travel hundreds of miles and this is what we get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ed man
Single
Charleston, SC
Sep 11, 2012

Convenience and Value

When I travel a place to hang my hat and rest my touring body is all I require. This facility met all my needs in a "very" convenient location at a "very" modest cost. Virtually accross street from the Lake Tahoe and within walking distance to dining, groceries, and tourist attractions common to such locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything from laundromat to casinos.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gypsy Traveler 2012
Couples
Napa, ca
Aug 24, 2012

WOW!! $25 Midweek, what a deal!!!

Great deal in a good location, even had a frig and microwave. Free wifi to top it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TahoeVisitor1111
Couples
Portland, OR
Jun 25, 2012

Good Location

Were looking for something close to the casinos that did not cost much money. This hotel fit those requirements. It was nice that the room had a refrigerator and microwave. Only ammenity that was a real challenge was the size of the bathroom to accomodate 3 people. But we made it work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDH9999
Family
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 22, 2012

Great Tahoe Motel

Perfect little motel in South Lake Tahoe... Great value and staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top