Pinewood Inn

1 star
View map of 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pinewood Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hobson Hungry Man
Family
Bay Area, Ca
Dec 27, 2013

Old, run down, and a bit gross, but cheap

You get what you pay for I guess. Staff is an older Indian couple who also must own the place. They were not very friendly. At one point the wife was screaming at a long term tenant from across the parking lot. The place is very run down and it is obvious they are putting as little money back into it as possible (for instance, pool broke, they just filled it in instead of fixing it). Coffee was horrid, the fridge froze all of our food (even on the lowest setting), the bathroom door would not close, the room was smelly, the blankets were dirty, and the walls seemed to amplify the noise from the neighboring rooms. But hey, it was a cheap room just a couple blocks from Heavenly. I think I'll spend the extra $20/night for a Motel 6 next time. At least there I know what to expect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jalexington
Single
Berkeley, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Cheap, Clean, and Cozy

$36 for a clean, cozy room after 3 feet of fresh snow at Kirkwood works for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whelhung fishbanger
Couples
norcal
Nov 4, 2013

great deal

despite neg reviews about the staff i found them to be helpfull and friendly... rooms are old but with a but have a nice rustic cabin feel.. room was clean and had ref. microwave, and coffee maker.. when looking for a decent place to crash close to everything on the cheap this is a safe choice...this is not a luxury resort by any means but i got a spa room with a king bed and no roaches for 45 bucks... what more can you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

red hut.. where the locals eat.. great breakfast.. awesome bloody marys with jallapeno bacon garnish

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ojisan
Business
Suisun City Ca 94585
Aug 7, 2013

Very Good

I l;iked the room and all the amenities,coffee pot, microwave, refrigator, biot tub/shower. Pardon the spelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MFTDD
Business
Tahoe
Jul 8, 2013

Pinewood

The room was simple but nice and located in a good location. Staff and owners were very nice people. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GREAT BURGERS!

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tailgate
Single
Sacramento, CA
Jul 6, 2013

Alright then

My upstairs room didn't have A/C (just fan) and so to let air come through the one window, I had to open curtain, lose just about all privacy.(some downstairs rooms had A/C) I never had a hotel mgr tell me before, "if I see you have a guest, there's a $100 additional charge, room is only for ONE person." Aren't motel/hotel room always 1-2 persons?? Strange. Uncomfortable watching mgr jot down my cc# on hard copy paper/registration (mgr will really later shred registration cardr?) TV, fridge, microwave. Pleasant 10-15 mins walk to stateline. casinos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

10-15 mins walk to stateline casinos.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri Travlin Man
Single
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Jun 19, 2013

BASIC

Okay , just basic but I don't need fancy. Short walk to lake and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I was alone so don't need fancy just a shower and a bed were fine.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDH9999
Family
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 17, 2013

Weekend getaway...

Friendly accommodating staff, the price is right, and they allow pets. Great Motel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri Travlin Man
Single
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Jun 12, 2013

Basic

Basic, good for single person. Convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Basic

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Defaultmsgabortretryfail
Single
san jose, ca
May 5, 2013

Old, dirty rooms

This is the cheapest hotel in South Lake Tahoe. It's pretty far from the casinos. The hotel staff did not have my reservation on file. I make a lot of online hotel reservations and I have never before had a problem with the reservation. I had made the reservation on the road and did not have a copy of the receipt myself to prove I had a reservation. I was able to log on to my cell phone via WIFI and show the hotel staff my email from online and they finally let me have a room. If I stay here again it won't be through this company. The room was dirty and smelled horrible. The bed was cheap but ok, the pillows were disgusting and I'll sleep anywhere, but I wouldn't use that pillow. All of the sheets had holes and mysterious stains. The carpets were more black/brown/stained than carpet. The carpet thing is pretty normal around this area, it's from everyone not cleaning their gear after skiing. I think all of the light fixtures were missing their shades. Don't expect much; the local campgrounds cost almost twice as much as I paid here, lol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top