$25 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Pinewood Inn

1 star
View map of 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., 3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Pinewood Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Em Leigh
Business
Vacaville, California
Jul 21, 2014

One night stay

It was perfect for our one night stay. I only say one staff member and that's when I was checking in. Overall good experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mattbreso123
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2014

UNSAFE MOTEL, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

While checking in at this motel, I noticed that the guy working at the front desk was unusually rude and bossy. I got the feeling that he felt he was doing a favor by helping us, and didn't want to be there. While entering the room, I noticed that the front screen was severely damaged, like someone had tried to brake in before. While in the room, we kept hearing strange voices from next door, which was incredibly creepy. We just assumed they were guest of the hotel. The volume of there voices could be heard at full volume, as if the walls were paper thin. Anyway, we were exhausted, so we hit the sheets and tried to get in a good night's rest. Anyway, at 1AM, we heard a loud thump coming from our bathroom. I quickly got up and turned on the lights, and realized there was someone in our bathroom!!! Needless to say, my girlfriend and I were both terrified. We called the police, who came out to the property, and notified us that this is a regular occurrence. I went to the front desk to notify the management of the break-in, and they could have cared less. I told them that we were checking out, and going to stay at another hotel nearby. I told her that I was obviously going to expect a full refund on the room. The hotel has fought us every step of the way in trying to prevent us from getting a refund. The worst hotel experience I've ever had, and I'm a very experienced traveler. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS, LEARN FROM OUR MISTAKE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Velveta
Business
California
Jun 16, 2014

Don't stay here

The hotel management was very rude and uncooperative. The hotel room that was provided had extremely dirty carpets. The worse part was the room door. In spite of several attempts, the room door wouldn't lock and when it did lock, it was very easy to break into. The bathroom was very old and dirty as well. The towels provided were very rough and low quality. We stayed just for 1 night but I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here unless you just need a place to crash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krystenblair
Business
Sacramento ca
May 27, 2014

Disgusting

This cannot literally be a hotel. Rooms look like a terrible truck stop bathroom Mold , holes in the walls, burns on the bed and sheets stains all over, hair in the shower and sink. Worst part is management. I Read pervious reviews and I cannot express enough how unprofessional and flat out rude they are. Asked for my money back and they told me I could pay for a better room. Look at the pics I uploaded. Sorry I can't give it zero stars. DO NOT STAY THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wandering86
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Budget Minded Room

My husband and I have been here a few times. It's nothing fancy, BUT it does have a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. We live in Sacramento, CA and liek to run up to Tahoe for hiking or playing at the Casinos and can often find low low rates on the off weekends. We are only paying about $30 usually so we don't have high expectations. Don't expect any thrills but an affordable place to sleep :) **ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL!!!! Can walk aroudn the bed and thats pretty much it, good for a couple, wouldn't recommend any more than 2 people in a room, NOT ideal for kids**

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Smokey
Business
Petaluma, ca
Feb 26, 2014

Good price - Low end motel

It is close to ski run blvd / heavenly california lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
renoruiz89523
Business
Reno Nevada
Feb 23, 2014

Quaint

Pros: Location, wifi, comfy beds, plenty of towels, good water pressure, hot water, lots of pillows, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, 3 separate bedrooms, a tv with lots of channels in each room. Cons: Old smelling, dust, heater only in front room, not enough blankets, dirty carpets, not enough plugs, heater is old and needs replaced although it work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Base Camp Pizza in Heavenly Village.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndyMS
Business
San Jose, California
Feb 3, 2014

Family Gateway at Lake Tahoe

This is a rundown hotel and doesn't appeal too much. Overall complex and furniture inside is very old. They really need to work on cleaning. Room furniture and carpet was not so clean. The bed spreads and comforters were however clean. Location is just perfect. Within one mile from heavenly village and many restaurants nearby. For the price it was fine just to rest for a night. Do not plan to spend more time on this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk to Heavenly village. You can save time and money (parking) with this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hobson Hungry Man
Business
Bay Area, Ca
Dec 27, 2013

Old, run down, and a bit gross, but cheap

You get what you pay for I guess. Staff is an older Indian couple who also must own the place. They were not very friendly. At one point the wife was screaming at a long term tenant from across the parking lot. The place is very run down and it is obvious they are putting as little money back into it as possible (for instance, pool broke, they just filled it in instead of fixing it). Coffee was horrid, the fridge froze all of our food (even on the lowest setting), the bathroom door would not close, the room was smelly, the blankets were dirty, and the walls seemed to amplify the noise from the neighboring rooms. But hey, it was a cheap room just a couple blocks from Heavenly. I think I'll spend the extra $20/night for a Motel 6 next time. At least there I know what to expect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jalexington
Business
Berkeley, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Cheap, Clean, and Cozy

$36 for a clean, cozy room after 3 feet of fresh snow at Kirkwood works for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top