$50 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Pinewood Inn

1 star
3818 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
72 reviews
great deal

despite neg reviews about the staff i found them to be helpfull and friendly... rooms are old but... See full review

  • whelhung fishbanger
  • Nov 4, 2013
Pinewood

The room was simple but nice and located in a good location. Staff and owners were very nice... See full review

  • MFTDD
  • Jul 8, 2013
Located within minutes of the areas best casinos skiing and entertainment the Pinewood Inn is also near several restaurants and beaches. Pets up to 50 lbs. are allowed for a fee of 25.00 USD per pet per night. Property amenities include internet access and free parking. Pinewood Inn is nestled between Ski Run Boulevard to Heavenly Ski Resort and Heavenlys Gondola on Highway 50. Rooms at the Pinewood Inn feature a microwave and refrigerator and other standard amenities. Available room types consist of king beds with inroom spa as well as queen double and single rooms. There is a charge of 25 for pets.

Pinewood Inn Rooms

1 King Bed NS
Description not provided
2 Queen Bed NS
Description not provided
3 Queen Bed NS
Description not provided
1 King Bed Spa NS
Description not provided
1 Bed Queen & 1King Bed Adjoinin
Description not provided
MONTHLY 1 Queen Bed SMO
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed Smoking
Description not provided
1 King Bed Spa SMOKING
Description not provided
2 Double Bed NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pinewood Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9508 -119.9514
Area served
San Francisco, Reno, Sacramento, Placerville, Carson City, South Lake Tahoe
Nearby airports
Reno-Tahoe International, (RNO), 55.00, MI, W; Sacramento International, (SMF), 116.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Hwy 50 toward Lake Tahoe

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Pinewood Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gypsy Traveler 2012
Napa, ca
Aug 24, 2012

WOW!! $25 Midweek, what a deal!!!

Great deal in a good location, even had a frig and microwave. Free wifi to top it off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Velveta
California
Jun 16, 2014

Don't stay here

The hotel management was very rude and uncooperative. The hotel room that was provided had extremely dirty carpets. The worse part was the room door. In spite of several attempts, the room door wouldn't lock and when it did lock, it was very easy to break into. The bathroom was very old and dirty as well. The towels provided were very rough and low quality. We stayed just for 1 night but I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here unless you just need a place to crash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krystenblair
Sacramento ca
May 27, 2014

Disgusting

This cannot literally be a hotel. Rooms look like a terrible truck stop bathroom Mold , holes in the walls, burns on the bed and sheets stains all over, hair in the shower and sink. Worst part is management. I Read pervious reviews and I cannot express enough how unprofessional and flat out rude they are. Asked for my money back and they told me I could pay for a better room. Look at the pics I uploaded. Sorry I can't give it zero stars. DO NOT STAY THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wandering86
Sacramento, CA
Apr 21, 2014

Budget Minded Room

My husband and I have been here a few times. It's nothing fancy, BUT it does have a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. We live in Sacramento, CA and liek to run up to Tahoe for hiking or playing at the Casinos and can often find low low rates on the off weekends. We are only paying about $30 usually so we don't have high expectations. Don't expect any thrills but an affordable place to sleep :) **ROOMS ARE VERY SMALL!!!! Can walk aroudn the bed and thats pretty much it, good for a couple, wouldn't recommend any more than 2 people in a room, NOT ideal for kids**

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Smokey
Petaluma, ca
Feb 26, 2014

Good price - Low end motel

It is close to ski run blvd / heavenly california lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
renoruiz89523
Reno Nevada
Feb 23, 2014

Quaint

Pros: Location, wifi, comfy beds, plenty of towels, good water pressure, hot water, lots of pillows, fridge, microwave, coffee pot, 3 separate bedrooms, a tv with lots of channels in each room. Cons: Old smelling, dust, heater only in front room, not enough blankets, dirty carpets, not enough plugs, heater is old and needs replaced although it work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Base Camp Pizza in Heavenly Village.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndyMS
San Jose, California
Feb 3, 2014

Family Gateway at Lake Tahoe

This is a rundown hotel and doesn't appeal too much. Overall complex and furniture inside is very old. They really need to work on cleaning. Room furniture and carpet was not so clean. The bed spreads and comforters were however clean. Location is just perfect. Within one mile from heavenly village and many restaurants nearby. For the price it was fine just to rest for a night. Do not plan to spend more time on this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk to Heavenly village. You can save time and money (parking) with this hotel.

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hobson Hungry Man
Bay Area, Ca
Dec 27, 2013

Old, run down, and a bit gross, but cheap

You get what you pay for I guess. Staff is an older Indian couple who also must own the place. They were not very friendly. At one point the wife was screaming at a long term tenant from across the parking lot. The place is very run down and it is obvious they are putting as little money back into it as possible (for instance, pool broke, they just filled it in instead of fixing it). Coffee was horrid, the fridge froze all of our food (even on the lowest setting), the bathroom door would not close, the room was smelly, the blankets were dirty, and the walls seemed to amplify the noise from the neighboring rooms. But hey, it was a cheap room just a couple blocks from Heavenly. I think I'll spend the extra $20/night for a Motel 6 next time. At least there I know what to expect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jalexington
Berkeley, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Cheap, Clean, and Cozy

$36 for a clean, cozy room after 3 feet of fresh snow at Kirkwood works for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whelhung fishbanger
norcal
Nov 4, 2013

great deal

despite neg reviews about the staff i found them to be helpfull and friendly... rooms are old but with a but have a nice rustic cabin feel.. room was clean and had ref. microwave, and coffee maker.. when looking for a decent place to crash close to everything on the cheap this is a safe choice...this is not a luxury resort by any means but i got a spa room with a king bed and no roaches for 45 bucks... what more can you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

red hut.. where the locals eat.. great breakfast.. awesome bloody marys with jallapeno bacon garnish

Review of Pinewood Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ojisan
Business
Suisun City Ca 94585
Aug 7, 2013

Very Good

I l;iked the room and all the amenities,coffee pot, microwave, refrigator, biot tub/shower. Pardon the spelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top