$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Highland Inn

3 stars
3979 lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
373 reviews
Review of Highland Inn

My husband and my stay at Highland Inn was wonderful. The room was extremely clean and the service... See full review

  • Melissa A.
  • Apr 28, 2014
Great place / Great Staff

Nothing gets better than walking in a finding a Warriors fan to greet you. This is our second visit... See full review

  • Snowboarders2
  • Apr 17, 2014
Stylish and always fresh, Highland Lake Tahoe redefines the boutique hotel experience, blending contemporary design with warmth and intuitive service. Located in the heart of the city, Highland is steps from the casino's, outdoor recreation and Lake Tahoe's best restaurants, spas and shops. The bars and nightclubs, Heavenly ski resort, beaches and the trails are only a few minutes away. Highland is a Lake Tahoe Inn with 30 luxury guestrooms featuring vibrant colors, spa bathrooms and five lifestyle-inspired décor schemes. Guestrooms feature five unique décor schemes ranging from modern and minimalist to artful and eclectic, with comfort and style as the unifying elements. Highland, a Lake Tahoe Inn, provides the service and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and intimate environment

Highland Inn Rooms

Standard 2 bed
This room offers 2 Double Beds with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.
Standard 1 Bed
This room offers 1 King Size Bed with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9545 -119.9461
Area served
Tahoe.
Nearby airports
Reno/Tahoe International Airport (RNO).
Area description
Highland is located in the heart of LakeTahoe. Walking distance to the Lake, Edgewood Golf course, The casinos, Heavenly gondola and Shopping.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (373)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 373
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CiCi Trekker
California
Jun 23, 2014

Good location, clean room, horrible service

My friend and I arrived early hoping to check in early, there was no availablity, which was fine. We asked to use a restroom, and he rudely told us to go to Applebee's next door. No restroom for your own patrons?! When we got our room, the dead bolt lock didn't work. Since my friend and I are both girls, we didn't feel safe, when asked to get a room change, he said we are all booked, a part has already ordered, nothing he can do. Well, if you knew something is broken in your rooms, you should not be renting that room out. Otherwise, the room is clean and the inn is close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mitza
Phoenix, Az
Oct 3, 2013

Two nights in Oct.

Oct. in Tahoe is rather quiet. None of the motels seemed to be crowded. The Highland Inn has one small room with an even smaller bath. However the sights around the lake more than made up for it. As I forgot the camera, it's all just in my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Niki J
San Francisco
May 20, 2013

Clean and inexpensive

This is a very clean place for the money. However, I booked a king bed with a fridge. When I got there the guy said he only had a queen and there was no fridge. Also, never stay in Room No. 200. It is really noisy and I could not rig the fan to stay on to defuse the noise from the traffic. Could not sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tuSMARTfrU
Pleasant Hill, Ca
Apr 9, 2013

Walk to casinos, great value for quick trip

Gentleman receptionist very friendly and welcoming. Easy walk to casinos or local restaurants. Very affordable considering I booked last minute during holiday weekend. Outside looks deceiving but the room was updated and modern. Bedding could have been washed better because it had some weird stains?! I will be back again especially since they allow pets. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
panlilio13
San Francisco, CA
Apr 6, 2013

Winter vacay

Love this place. I've stayed in a King room and stayed in the 3-bedrm suite. Love everything about this place and the lobby person was great! Only 4 stars because I wish the bedrooms had TVs also. Great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hazel and Billy G
Central Coast California
Mar 10, 2013

Easy walk to Gondola

Certainly NOT a "boutique" hotel, though our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. An older building with rooms that had a mediocre update some years ago. Rooms are small and furnishings are low quality. Small bathroom is OK, but far from upscale. Bring slippers because the "wood" (laminate?) floors were cold. In our room the wall heater worked intermittently. We had to periodically bang on the thermostat to get the heater to fire up, but once up to temp, it might or might not come back on as the room cooled. I guess the good is the great location between a couple of cafes, across the street from a shopping center with a Starbucks, a great ski shop, and a supersize grocery store. That and the easy two block walk to the Heavenly gondola which you can do in ski boots. If you just want a bed and a place to shower with zero frills at a cheap price, this will do if you can get a room with a working heater. At the price we paid I know from hard experience you can do much worse. So, for the price, I guess I shouldn't complain too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything, including Nevada mega casinos is within a short walk.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy Y
San Francisco, CA
Feb 4, 2013

Great ski weekend

Love the decor - very modern look. Great for pets. Good location near the state line and beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boys boys boys
livermore ca
Jan 21, 2013

kinda kold

the heater didn't work well, and it was cold. electricty went out at times, making it even colder

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SimplyHolland
Sacramento, CA
Dec 18, 2012

Nice for quick trips up the mountain

This is a good choice for a basic place to stay while skiing in Tahoe. Not luxurious in any way. But gets the job done. Bed was comfortable, heater was warm, room was clean... that's all we really need. If you're looking for a place for an extended vacation stay, I'd recommend going else where for more comfort / amenities. But for 1 or 2 night quick stays for skiing or something of the like, this is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Off The Hook Sushi Bar! I drive up here from Sacramento just to have dinner at this place! It's great!

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delta Dave
Sacramento area
Jun 18, 2012

Charming hotel

What a charming little hotel within 5 minutes' walk of the CA/NV stateline - i.e. where all the South Lake Tahoe action is. The room was beautifully updated with hardwood floors, modern decor and huge flatscreen TV. Also comes with a handy refrigerator. Perfect place to stay if you're on a budget and need a weekend getaway in the heart of S. Lake Tahoe. The staff was attentive and welcoming. Wireless internet connection was lightning fast. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CA/NV stateline

Back to menu Return to top