$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Highland Inn

3 stars
3979 lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
247 reviews
wonderful

It was a wonderful the only down part was there was no blow dryer in the room for my wife to use. See full review

  • JustinV
  • Aug 4, 2014
Review of Highland Inn

My husband and my stay at Highland Inn was wonderful. The room was extremely clean and the service... See full review

  • Melissa A.
  • Apr 28, 2014
Colorful boutique hotel in the heart of South Lake Tahoe

The Highland Inn Lake Tahoe is an alternative to the grand casino-hotel experience in South Lake Tahoe. This smoke-free property has 30 guest rooms and a multi-lingual staff. The recently renovated guest rooms are decorated with understated modern touches. The inn is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, casinos, and outdoor activities.

Highlights
  • Close to Heavenly Mountain Resort for skiing, hiking
  • Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and casinos
  • Ski and snowboard rental available on site
  • Outdoor hot tub
Rooms

Contemporary design -- featuring wood, stone and other natural materials -- and spa-inspired bathrooms are the signatures at the 30-guest-room Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. There are two room configurations available  -- two double beds or one king -- and all include complimentary Wi-Fi. There is also one three-bedroom suite available. All rooms feature mini-refrigerators, and 42-inch flat-screen televisions with cable. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and are air conditioned.

Features

Guests for whom location is everything will appreciate the centrally located Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. The budget-, family- and pet-friendly inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, casinos, beaches, fitness facilities, golf, kayaking and, of course, skiing. There is a tennis court on the property. Parking is complimentary, and the Highland Inn offers concierge services.

Transportation
  • Reno-Tahoe International Airport (53 mi/95 km)
Attractions
  • Skiing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowmobiling (0.2mi/0.3 km)
  • Golf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Boating (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Fishing (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.9545 -119.9461
Area served
Tahoe.
Nearby airports
Reno/Tahoe International Airport (RNO).
Area description
Highland is located in the heart of LakeTahoe. Walking distance to the Lake, Edgewood Golf course, The casinos, Heavenly gondola and Shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Highland Inn Rooms

Standard 2 bed
This room offers 2 Double Beds with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.
Standard 1 Bed
This room offers 1 King Size Bed with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 247
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scottsong
Merced
Aug 15, 2014

good deal stay

This isn't a luxury hotel, but really a good deal, and convenient for travelling Lake Tahoe and Casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, walking to Lake beach.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sami1212
San Francesco
Aug 6, 2014

Don't even think about it

I don't know where to start! WIFI, size of the room, staff NOT going to recommend to my family and friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to everything out there

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CViz
YC
Aug 3, 2014

Quick trip to Tahoe

Room was pretty clean, older motel that has some updated decor, interesting to say the least front desk staff.. didnt sleep well the blinds do not block out enough light, a hair dryer blew a circuit, and at least in a downstairs room when someone is walking upstairs it sounds like an elephant is walking around. Road noise as well. I wouldnt stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bomboy
Bay Area
Aug 3, 2014

Nice value inn

Don't expect a 3-star hotel, but the inn was the most inexpensive option for a decent 2 1/2 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Buguens
Sacramento, CA
Jun 22, 2014

Great Hotel for Dogs

I booked a last minute overnighter to South Lake Tahoe and needed a lodging that could accommodate our dog. Highland Hotel only charges $20 for fido lodging and the rooms have wooden laminate floors in case an accident happens. The Inn itself is fairly standard. It appears that the rooms were renovated recently and the hotel look looks like it was coated with some fresh paint recently. There is some construction going on in the rear parking area but there is also plenty of areas to take your dog to the bathroom back there as well. Highlands in across the street from Heavenly Village so your a hop, skip and a jump from everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stateline brewery is directly across the street.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davey0807
Pittsburg, Ca
Jun 2, 2014

Easy access to and from Hotel parking area

Check-in was great. They were happy to change our room from second floor to first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to Casinos

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa A.
San Joes, California
Apr 28, 2014

Review of Highland Inn

My husband and my stay at Highland Inn was wonderful. The room was extremely clean and the service was great. I'm not sure why this place was only marked as a three star, because we thought it was at least a four star. The location was great. We were able to park our car for free and walk to most of our destinations. The weather happened to be perfect for us while we had our stay. The price was right! We will definitely try to stay here again:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We liked eating at the Driftwood café and Boot Camp Pizza was delicious!

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
supernat
Novato
Jan 5, 2014

Ok for one night stay

For one night it was ok. Rooms have internet, tv, shower only, heater and air conditioner, dresser and fridge. Very very small and simple but clean. There is no lobby, game room or swimming pool, so if you are traveling with kids they will get bored very quickly. Dogs staying for $20 per day (which was not mentioned in the online hotel description). Location is good, close to Heavenly and Raley's and restaurants. We took our dog to play in the snow for 2 days so we stayed in this place one night only. Will I stay here again? Probably not. Not recommending this place to a friend only because all our friends are families with kids. However the place is good for young people who spend all day skiing and evenings out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flash Bang
Sacramento, Ca.
Jan 5, 2014

Good if single, bad for family

No breakfast , no Internet, and no privacy, too loud at night time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to stores, and entertainment

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cockroach VIsitor
San Francisco
Oct 6, 2013

Decent for the price

The room is a bit small, but its sufficient and good for the price offered. Its tile floor, making it a bit awkward for a Hotel, but I guess its much cleaner than a dirty carpet. Location is superb. Really convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search