$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Highland Inn

3 stars
3979 lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
370 reviews
Review of Highland Inn

My husband and my stay at Highland Inn was wonderful. The room was extremely clean and the service... See full review

  • Melissa A.
  • Apr 28, 2014
Great place / Great Staff

Nothing gets better than walking in a finding a Warriors fan to greet you. This is our second visit... See full review

  • Snowboarders2
  • Apr 17, 2014
Colorful boutique hotel in the heart of South Lake Tahoe

The Highland Inn Lake Tahoe is an alternative to the grand casino-hotel experience in South Lake Tahoe. This smoke-free property has 30 guest rooms and a multi-lingual staff. The recently renovated guest rooms are decorated with understated modern touches. The inn is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, casinos, and outdoor activities.

Highlights
  • Close to Heavenly Mountain Resort for skiing, hiking
  • Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and casinos
  • Ski and snowboard rental available on site
  • Outdoor hot tub
Rooms

Contemporary design -- featuring wood, stone and other natural materials -- and spa-inspired bathrooms are the signatures at the 30-guest-room Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. There are two room configurations available  -- two double beds or one king -- and all include complimentary Wi-Fi. There is also one three-bedroom suite available. All rooms feature mini-refrigerators, and 42-inch flat-screen televisions with cable. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and are air conditioned.

Features

Guests for whom location is everything will appreciate the centrally located Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. The budget-, family- and pet-friendly inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, casinos, beaches, fitness facilities, golf, kayaking and, of course, skiing. There is a tennis court on the property. Parking is complimentary, and the Highland Inn offers concierge services.

Transportation
  • Reno-Tahoe International Airport (53 mi/95 km)
Attractions
  • Skiing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowmobiling (0.2mi/0.3 km)
  • Golf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Boating (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Fishing (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.9545 -119.9461
Area served
Tahoe.
Nearby airports
Reno/Tahoe International Airport (RNO).
Area description
Highland is located in the heart of LakeTahoe. Walking distance to the Lake, Edgewood Golf course, The casinos, Heavenly gondola and Shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Highland Inn Rooms

Standard 2 bed
This room offers 2 Double Beds with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.
Standard 1 Bed
This room offers 1 King Size Bed with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (370)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose
Dec 30, 2008

Dripping showers...

For the price I paid, this place was not worth it at all. The room is not well lit. The room was clean but the sheets and blankets were washed with scented soap and not very friendly to people who are sensitive to perfume. Now after a full day of snowboarding I just wanted a warm shower. What did I get instead? A dripping shower head. Water slowly trickled out of the shower head. I was so cold after I had to take my blow dryer and blow dry all my clothes to warm up. It was horrible. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and entertainment is a short walk away.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
bay area
Nov 29, 2009

poor service at the highland inn

i came up with a few of my friends to play in a poker tournament, when we checked in it took someone 15 minutes just to get to the front desk. we then got are room and when we opened the door it wasnt cleaned from the night before.(from the previous client)we then left the room to play are tournament and left the maid please clen the room, the time we left the room was 10am. we then came back to the room at 10pm or so and the room was never cleaned. i then went back to the front desk to ask for a new room the desk guy said no.then i asked for my money back since we weren't gonna stay at this hotel. he told me no again so we took are belongings at left there hotel. i will never stay at this hotel again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the_traveler
San Ramon, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Need to stay away

The photos looked nice for the price. The hotel was newly remodeled to look modern. Superficially, everything looked OK but if you look at the details twice, everything is just terrible. Its almost like they took a very old dirty hotel and slap a new layer of paint on top. The heater would not turn on. The wifi service dropped every few minutes. Basically, nothing works. The staffs looks like gangster from the casino. Staffs do not look at you when they talk. They only give short answers, mostly "yes" and "no".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go else where.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord, CA
Mar 8, 2010

Nice people, but would not go back.

The manager was nice, rooms were clean and the decor was nice, there is no carpet,beds are like cardboard. t The bedding kept you warm, thankfully since the doors were so drafty so I put a towel in front of the door. The walls are so thin and people walk around in ski boots which makes it worse. If your young and in Tahoe for skiing this is a good place to stay, walk across the street for Starbucks and the gondola for skiing. You can also walk to the casinos and ice skating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

casino, cabo wabo, ice skating, coffee, Chocolate Mountain Factory, also, Carrows and Applebee's are next door. This place is good for young people who don't need much sleep or quiet.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redwood City, Ca.
Apr 11, 2010

Not Worth It

The pictures look good on the web site, but looks can be deceiving. The floor was hardwood with no rugs. Only heather was an old wall heater. The bed seemed to be new, but was very low to the ground. No hair dryer. The shower head was so high that I had to stand on the shower ledge to move it. There was dirt behind the doors and under the tables. Not someplace I'll go again or recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the casinos and skiing.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Carlos, CA
Feb 27, 2011

Expectations too high

We came for just the weekend and wanted something budget since the most important piece for us was the proximity to the gondola (great!). But, we also needed internet and I don't like to feel dirty in my own hotel. So, the reviews were promising for both. The internet seemed like it'd be a risk, but other reviews said the internet had been fixed. However, when we got there, the manager said it has been out for 5 days. So, it seems to be really spotty (meaning don't trust the reviews if they say it was fixed, sigh). The room looks cute at first glance, too, but the furniture is all pretty cheap, the mattress old, but the sheets felt newer (still of the ikea price range). The heater was older and it made a horrible tapping sound every time it went on and woke me up each time. Also, when we tried to call to see about the internet, the phone didn't work. So we won't be back...but would recommend it to people that are just looking for just a clean, decent place to sleep. The floors are hardwood, so watch out if you're coming back from a snowy mountain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stephfol
Campbell, CA
Jul 24, 2013

Constant power outages!

Stayed for 3 nights with constant power outages! We had to keep calling the front desk to restart our power in the breaker box that they have conveniently located behind a curtain at the front desk. Each time I would call, the manager would ask if I was using a blow dryer. I wasn't but I SHOULD BE ABLE TO! We were so tired of it, we had to unplug the fridge, turn off all the lights and air conditioning just to have the TV on. Also, free wireless? The wireless router was not powerful enough. Again, I could hardly browse because of constant disconnections. Horrible experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cameron Park, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Find someplace else

Desk clerk a little odd. Needed to ask for another towel and he questioned why there were not two in the room? How the heck would we know. Bed very bad. AC inop/loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alaska Raspberry
Anchorage AK
Jun 30, 2012

Poor experience

Not worth one star. No coffee maker. internet available in office only during 7 to 7. housekeeper not available, so received replacement towels and made our own bed. Manager used a lot of foul language in a verbal dispute with his friend-just ouside the office door. So disappointed that someone gave it 3 stars. Would not give this 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the_traveler
San Ramon, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Need to stay away

The photos looked nice for the price. The hotel was newly remodeled to look modern. Superficially, everything looked OK but if you look at the details twice, everything is just terrible. Its almost like they took a very old dirty hotel and slap a new layer of paint on top. The heater would not turn on. The wifi service dropped every few minutes. Basically, nothing works. The staffs looks like gangster from the casino. Staffs do not look at you when they talk. They only give short answers, mostly "yes" and "no".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go else where.

Back to menu Return to top