$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Highland Inn

3 stars
3979 lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
370 reviews
Review of Highland Inn

My husband and my stay at Highland Inn was wonderful. The room was extremely clean and the service... See full review

  • Melissa A.
  • Apr 28, 2014
Great place / Great Staff

Nothing gets better than walking in a finding a Warriors fan to greet you. This is our second visit... See full review

  • Snowboarders2
  • Apr 17, 2014
Colorful boutique hotel in the heart of South Lake Tahoe

The Highland Inn Lake Tahoe is an alternative to the grand casino-hotel experience in South Lake Tahoe. This smoke-free property has 30 guest rooms and a multi-lingual staff. The recently renovated guest rooms are decorated with understated modern touches. The inn is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, casinos, and outdoor activities.

Highlights
  • Close to Heavenly Mountain Resort for skiing, hiking
  • Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and casinos
  • Ski and snowboard rental available on site
  • Outdoor hot tub
Rooms

Contemporary design -- featuring wood, stone and other natural materials -- and spa-inspired bathrooms are the signatures at the 30-guest-room Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. There are two room configurations available  -- two double beds or one king -- and all include complimentary Wi-Fi. There is also one three-bedroom suite available. All rooms feature mini-refrigerators, and 42-inch flat-screen televisions with cable. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and are air conditioned.

Features

Guests for whom location is everything will appreciate the centrally located Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. The budget-, family- and pet-friendly inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, casinos, beaches, fitness facilities, golf, kayaking and, of course, skiing. There is a tennis court on the property. Parking is complimentary, and the Highland Inn offers concierge services.

Transportation
  • Reno-Tahoe International Airport (53 mi/95 km)
Attractions
  • Skiing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowmobiling (0.2mi/0.3 km)
  • Golf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Boating (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Fishing (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Highland Inn Rooms

Standard 2 bed
This room offers 2 Double Beds with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.
Standard 1 Bed
This room offers 1 King Size Bed with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9545 -119.9461
Area served
Tahoe.
Nearby airports
Reno/Tahoe International Airport (RNO).
Area description
Highland is located in the heart of LakeTahoe. Walking distance to the Lake, Edgewood Golf course, The casinos, Heavenly gondola and Shopping.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (370)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
370 out of 370
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Mar 21, 2010

Updated, clean, and inexpensive.

I love this little hotel. I've stayed in this hotel two times, and will do it again next time I am in Tahoe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 21, 2007

very family freindly

I had been there a few times now. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The location is fabulous. Everything is at a walking distance. The staff was extremely friendly. This was my third visit. The rooms have been remodeled and look great... I will definitely go back again and recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shopping, casinos, beach Souvenir shop on premises (biking, ski rentals also). Close to movie theaters and heavenly.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yegor
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Night for skier: free parking, clean and warm room

Great hotel. I like the price and location. Looks like rooms have been recently remodeled. It's clean, warm and cheap. I was staying in Marriot before for $150-200 now I stay here for $60 and have free parking that cost $50 in Marriot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

20%

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 11, 2008

Great room

The room was updated, fresh, & clean. Nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barons nine
Reno, NV.
Jul 22, 2009

We will be back!!

My husband and I wanted to get away overnight. We LOVED our room!!! Staff was friendly, room was Spotless, and the manager had coffee going in the morning for his guests. My husband and I have found our new little get away!!!! Will recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casino's within walking distance, shopping and dining!!!!!

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 15, 2007

Great Rooms, Great Location, Great People

Highland Inn was very pleasant, the rooms had comfortable furniture, the colours in appealing brown-black, nice ... spacious bathroom, no bathtub but large shower. the location was excellent and the personnel very friendly. Very Clean, the location is outstanding walking distance to starbucks, restaurants, shopping, casino's and the skilift. I will be back and I will recommend this place to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a huge selection of things to do just walking distance from the hotel. Great running trail, ski lifts, and an awesome beach.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bartman79
Reno, NV
Aug 16, 2009

Couldn't have been more for the occasion

The staff was very friendly. The room was more like a NYC studio apt. (no kitchen, but a fridge). Perfect walking distance to the stateline casinos. The neighboor hood felt safe and was very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shops, food, and hotels along the way!

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 16, 2008

Great location, great value for money

Highland Inn is one of the best values for your money in Lake Tahoe. It has motel prices but a boutique hotel feel. The rooms are clean and comfortable - we were very pleased with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Heavenly is a very short drive away, walking distance to Heavenly Village.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barons nine
Reno, NV.
Jul 22, 2009

We will be back!!

My husband and I wanted to get away overnight. We LOVED our room!!! Staff was friendly, room was Spotless, and the manager had coffee going in the morning for his guests. My husband and I have found our new little get away!!!! Will recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casino's within walking distance, shopping and dining!!!!!

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VIQUE
Long Beach, CA
Aug 16, 2007

One of the best decorated/furnished hotels I've ever been to

The manager was super friendly, gave us advice on the local sights and was really helpful. the rooms were LOVELY - hardwood floors with rugs, huge beds, all the furnishings and bedding were from IKEA - all super modern and clean and fresh. a lovely comforter with cover and sheet on the bed. all really clean. great shower with an overhead and regular head - so two shower heads. lovely. would totally recommend this to anyone. really great value for money. and extremely central!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to a beach of lake tahoe [and great jet skis!]. just a mile from freshies the best food in south lake tahoe by far [especially for vegetarians and vegans [like me!]].

Back to menu Return to top