$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Highland Inn

3 stars
3979 lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
373 reviews
Review of Highland Inn

My husband and my stay at Highland Inn was wonderful. The room was extremely clean and the service... See full review

  • Melissa A.
  • Apr 28, 2014
Great place / Great Staff

Nothing gets better than walking in a finding a Warriors fan to greet you. This is our second visit... See full review

  • Snowboarders2
  • Apr 17, 2014
Colorful boutique hotel in the heart of South Lake Tahoe

The Highland Inn Lake Tahoe is an alternative to the grand casino-hotel experience in South Lake Tahoe. This smoke-free property has 30 guest rooms and a multi-lingual staff. The recently renovated guest rooms are decorated with understated modern touches. The inn is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, casinos, and outdoor activities.

Highlights
  • Close to Heavenly Mountain Resort for skiing, hiking
  • Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and casinos
  • Ski and snowboard rental available on site
  • Outdoor hot tub
Rooms

Contemporary design -- featuring wood, stone and other natural materials -- and spa-inspired bathrooms are the signatures at the 30-guest-room Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. There are two room configurations available  -- two double beds or one king -- and all include complimentary Wi-Fi. There is also one three-bedroom suite available. All rooms feature mini-refrigerators, and 42-inch flat-screen televisions with cable. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and are air conditioned.

Features

Guests for whom location is everything will appreciate the centrally located Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. The budget-, family- and pet-friendly inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, casinos, beaches, fitness facilities, golf, kayaking and, of course, skiing. There is a tennis court on the property. Parking is complimentary, and the Highland Inn offers concierge services.

Transportation
  • Reno-Tahoe International Airport (53 mi/95 km)
Attractions
  • Skiing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowmobiling (0.2mi/0.3 km)
  • Golf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Boating (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Fishing (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Highland Inn Rooms

Standard 2 bed
This room offers 2 Double Beds with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.
Standard 1 Bed
This room offers 1 King Size Bed with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9545 -119.9461
Area served
Tahoe.
Nearby airports
Reno/Tahoe International Airport (RNO).
Area description
Highland is located in the heart of LakeTahoe. Walking distance to the Lake, Edgewood Golf course, The casinos, Heavenly gondola and Shopping.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (373)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
373 out of 373
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Cantini
San Bruno. CA
Feb 5, 2013

JUST AS I EXPECTED :-)

It was a great experience. Bed was comfty. Room was Clean. Nice heating. Will definately return to this place. Highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

2 minute to the casinos

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
panlilio13
San Francisco, CA
Apr 6, 2013

Winter vacay

Love this place. I've stayed in a King room and stayed in the 3-bedrm suite. Love everything about this place and the lobby person was great! Only 4 stars because I wish the bedrooms had TVs also. Great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Female Snowboarder
San Jose, CA
Mar 26, 2013

Great location but wished things worked

We arrived. Seemed classy. Felt guilt-tripped by the front desk for asking to move rooms but he made it happen! The room we got didn't have a working heater but there was a back-up in the room. No hair dryer(guess I should have looked at the hotel amenities a lil closer) BIG LG TV, not bad. Hardwood and tile floors only, not what I'm used to but okay. Bed felt fine with decent beddings. Only ice machine they had was BROKEN. Front Desk told us to go to Applebee's and ask for ice. Unbelievable. We needed ice though so we went next door to Carrow's instead since they were not as busy. Front Desk Gentleman hates his job; the people at Carrow's who gave us ice were NICER. Wish things worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRide
Carson City Nevada
Mar 20, 2013

Pretty nice stay

Hotel was nice. Room was clean and average. One thing is that they don't have a hot tub even though it is advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larstein97
Half Moon Bay, California
Mar 16, 2013

Nice Hotel

My daughter and I came to Tahoe for a few days for skiing and relaxation. Check in was easy, and Jeff was so nice! He made sure we had the most quiet room, and was always available for any problems. The location is perfect, right in walking distance from the gondola. The bathrooms are freshly renovated, although they are a bit chilly (not if you turn the heat way up or put down a towel or rug!) The bed was comfy, and the fridge ACTUALLY kept things cold, even frozen. There's plenty of room for ski equipment, although the floor can get a bit wet because there is no door mat. Compared to previous stays at Motel 6, this place is a winner! We would definitely stay again, and recommend to friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to Applebee's, so if you need a quick bite to eat it's very convenient! Also, the hotel is in walking distance from the gondola. No driving!

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larstein97
Half Moon Bay, California
Mar 16, 2013

Super Hotel Stay

We came for another weekend stay for skiing. We had stayed at the Highland Inn before, and Jeff was very welcoming. We were in a different room on the bottom floor this time, but it was just as nice. When we discovered we were in need of an extra chair and suitcase rack, he came to the rescue immediately! We had a great weekend and the hotel was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across from the hotel is a movie theatre, if boredom strikes!

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hazel and Billy G
Central Coast California
Mar 10, 2013

Easy walk to Gondola

Certainly NOT a "boutique" hotel, though our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. An older building with rooms that had a mediocre update some years ago. Rooms are small and furnishings are low quality. Small bathroom is OK, but far from upscale. Bring slippers because the "wood" (laminate?) floors were cold. In our room the wall heater worked intermittently. We had to periodically bang on the thermostat to get the heater to fire up, but once up to temp, it might or might not come back on as the room cooled. I guess the good is the great location between a couple of cafes, across the street from a shopping center with a Starbucks, a great ski shop, and a supersize grocery store. That and the easy two block walk to the Heavenly gondola which you can do in ski boots. If you just want a bed and a place to shower with zero frills at a cheap price, this will do if you can get a room with a working heater. At the price we paid I know from hard experience you can do much worse. So, for the price, I guess I shouldn't complain too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything, including Nevada mega casinos is within a short walk.

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maceo Mom
Richmond, ca
Feb 24, 2013

Pretty darn good

This place was just what we needed. It's simple, clean and well located. No bells or whistles but great for me, hubby and baby. For the price you can't beat this place. The staff was a little stoney but nice. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Driftwood cafe across the street was an amazing little breakfast and brunch joint. **highly recommended!

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Cantini
San Bruno. CA
Feb 5, 2013

JUST AS I EXPECTED :-)

It was a great experience. Bed was comfty. Room was Clean. Nice heating. Will definately return to this place. Highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

2 minute to the casinos

Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy Y
San Francisco, CA
Feb 4, 2013

Great ski weekend

Love the decor - very modern look. Great for pets. Good location near the state line and beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ratonk
San Jose, CAlifornia
Jan 28, 2013

Value hotel in a great location

A <10 -minute walk gets you from the Highland Inn to the Heavenly gondola, making it an excellent location for skiing. Parking is free and the room rate was reasonable for the location. The first impression was that the room was very clean, but there looked to be some stains on the sheets once we pulled back the comforter. The bathroom and linens were very clean though. The room has hardwood floors, a large flat screen TV and mini-fridge. Overall, it met my expectations for a hotel in this rating and price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top