Highland Inn

3 stars
3979 lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
249 reviews
wonderful

It was a wonderful the only down part was there was no blow dryer in the room for my wife to use. See full review

  • JustinV
  • Aug 4, 2014
Review of Highland Inn

My husband and my stay at Highland Inn was wonderful. The room was extremely clean and the service... See full review

  • Melissa A.
  • Apr 28, 2014
Colorful boutique hotel in the heart of South Lake Tahoe

The Highland Inn Lake Tahoe is an alternative to the grand casino-hotel experience in South Lake Tahoe. This smoke-free property has 30 guest rooms and a multi-lingual staff. The recently renovated guest rooms are decorated with understated modern touches. The inn is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, casinos, and outdoor activities.

Highlights
  • Close to Heavenly Mountain Resort for skiing, hiking
  • Walking distance to shopping, restaurants and casinos
  • Ski and snowboard rental available on site
  • Outdoor hot tub
Rooms

Contemporary design -- featuring wood, stone and other natural materials -- and spa-inspired bathrooms are the signatures at the 30-guest-room Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. There are two room configurations available  -- two double beds or one king -- and all include complimentary Wi-Fi. There is also one three-bedroom suite available. All rooms feature mini-refrigerators, and 42-inch flat-screen televisions with cable. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and are air conditioned.

Features

Guests for whom location is everything will appreciate the centrally located Highland Inn Lake Tahoe. The budget-, family- and pet-friendly inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, casinos, beaches, fitness facilities, golf, kayaking and, of course, skiing. There is a tennis court on the property. Parking is complimentary, and the Highland Inn offers concierge services.

Transportation
  • Reno-Tahoe International Airport (53 mi/95 km)
Attractions
  • Skiing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowshoeing (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Snowmobiling (0.2mi/0.3 km)
  • Golf (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Boating (0.5 mi/0.8km)
  • Fishing (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

Hotel Map

38.9545 -119.9461
Area served
Tahoe.
Nearby airports
Reno/Tahoe International Airport (RNO).
Area description
Highland is located in the heart of LakeTahoe. Walking distance to the Lake, Edgewood Golf course, The casinos, Heavenly gondola and Shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Highland Inn Rooms

Standard 2 bed
This room offers 2 Double Beds with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.
Standard 1 Bed
This room offers 1 King Size Bed with direct dial phones, air condition, refrigerator, complimentary high-Speed wireless internet access, free local calls and alarm clock.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (249)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
249 out of 249
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flash Bang
Sacramento, Ca.
Jan 5, 2014

Good if single, bad for family

No breakfast , no Internet, and no privacy, too loud at night time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to stores, and entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jay worldwide
new york, new york
Jan 2, 2014

kool place to live.

Amazing great away for all ages.... families love the sites and entertainment of the small town with big fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Distance is great to casinos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa24
Sacramento, California
Nov 25, 2013

could have been a great stay

When we checked in the front office clerk told us he had lit the piolt for the heater and our room would be warm soon. We were in our room for 30-40 min and there was no change in temp we didnt think anything of it and we left. We stoped by our cousins room that was at the same hotel, their room was already warm and they checked in after us. We then went shopping and upon reterning to our room to get ready for the wedding we were attending our room was in the 60s we were freezing my husband got the hotel clerk to come check it out the piolt light had gone out so he relit it we left for the wedding and returned back at 11 to find our room what we considered freezing the attended lit the piolt again we left to go to the casino and upon reterning to our room at 1 tired and ready to go to sleep in the bed we heard was amazing we find our room to be 59 degrees I went to the fron desk and asked to transfered to a diffrwnt room because there must be something wrong with the heater and I couldnt sleep like that the clerk stated the only room he had was a double bed I told him that will not work my husband is 6'2" and we paid for a king. My husband said we would just drive home and the clerk said he would have our mony refunded on Monday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oakley mike
oakley, ca
Oct 7, 2013

nice but not worth price!

Paid $90 here and a comparable hotel down the street was $50. Thought this was supposed to be a nicer hotel. Came to back to room room at 3am and the room was cold. Tried heater but it didnt work. 58 degrees in the room! No frills here just a place to sleep, if you're not cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cockroach VIsitor
San Francisco
Oct 6, 2013

Decent for the price

The room is a bit small, but its sufficient and good for the price offered. Its tile floor, making it a bit awkward for a Hotel, but I guess its much cleaner than a dirty carpet. Location is superb. Really convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kitty Kat 23
El Cerrito
Oct 3, 2013

Good value at a cute boutique hotel

The hotel was great for the price. It is very close to Stateline. It is a small, boutique hotel with limited staff. The front desk person wasn't too happy with our 1:00 AM arrival, but apparently he is the only one working 24/7. They could also use bottom sheets; the bed had a top sheet as a bottom sheet and it didn't stay in place. Otherwise, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mitza
Phoenix, Az
Oct 3, 2013

Two nights in Oct.

Oct. in Tahoe is rather quiet. None of the motels seemed to be crowded. The Highland Inn has one small room with an even smaller bath. However the sights around the lake more than made up for it. As I forgot the camera, it's all just in my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpeedySF
SF, CA
Oct 1, 2013

Two day stay during marathon weekend

The man at the front desk was very nice and helpful. No complaints. The room appeared to be clean. Nothing fancy but it gets the job done. I looked around on other hotel booking sites but this booking site had the best price. I woke up the second morning with bug bites. Not sure if they were from the bed. My girlfriend didn't have this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MVP33
Michigan
Sep 18, 2013

Better than expected!

Older hotel that is updated well. Bed and linens were great. Bath towels were plush. Didn't expect that for the price I paid. Jeff the manager was helpful, even moved rooms around so we could stay another night. I really liked the laminate wood floors over old carpeted rooms that most older hotels have. Yes, you can't run your blow dryer when everything else is plugged in, but a minor inconvenience. Don't hesitate to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Grab lunch at Edgewood Golf Course. Amazing mahi mahi tacos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cockroach VIsitor
San Francisco
Sep 9, 2013

Overall good stay

Place is very convenient, room a bit small but for the price offered, its pretty good. Location very close to restaurants, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search